Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Leamington Retirement Residence

1 Henry Avenue, Leamington, Ontario N8H 5P1

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Grapes to verify you are human. (Required)


DAVID BODI
27/07/2022

After a short respite stay, my mom became a permanent resident in November, 2020...going on 2 years now. She absolutely loves the place, including the staff, the service, her suit, etc. She is completely content, which is very important and comforting to me and my family. She has gone thru some challenging times and each time the staff stepped up and handled things professionally and with great compassion and care while always remaining in contact with me with regular updates. If you or anyone in your family are looking for an outstanding place to go, I would not hesitate to recommend this Chartwell facility.

Judy White
27/07/2022

I have been a resident here for 6 months and have been enjoying it. It is clean, friendly staff and has alot of people I know. There are lot's of activities to keep us busy, I especially enjoy the bingo, horse races and live music. If you ask any of the staff, you will get a good answer. Since I have been here I have also developed a new hobby raising monarch butterflies.

Tony Couto
26/07/2022

My aunt stayed at Chartwell. It is a well kept retirement home with great staff. The home and people are very welcoming.

Tony Couto
26/07/2022

My aunt stayed at Chartwell. It is a well kept retirement home with great staff. The home and people are very welcoming.

Tony Couto
26/07/2022

My aunt stayed at Chartwell. It is a well kept retirement home with great staff. The home and people are very welcoming.

Tony Couto
26/07/2022

My aunt stayed at Chartwell. It is a well kept retirement home with great staff. The home and people are very welcoming.

Tony Couto
26/07/2022

My aunt stayed at Chartwell. It is a well kept retirement home with great staff. The home and people are very welcoming.

Anne Evers
22/07/2022

Thank you so much to Chartwell Leamington for their generous donation to the breaking bread event to support Ukrainians arriving to the local area. I always enjoy visiting my friend Judy who is a resident here and socializing with her in the common areas. I enjoy the live music and playing sequence. Thank you for creating such a welcoming, friendly environment.

Julie Reid
21/07/2022

My dad has stayed here before in short stay and he really enjoyed his stay. We returned for a second short stay and have enjoyed it. The staff remembered me from last time and made me feel welcome. We toured other homes and did not feel welcome. At chartwell the staff welcomed me from the beginning and the Nadia made sure there were accommodations for us. We are looking to extend our stay.

Julie Reid
21/07/2022

My dad has stayed here before in short stay and he really enjoyed his stay. We returned for a second short stay and have enjoyed it. The staff remembered me from last time and made me feel welcome. We toured other homes and did not feel welcome. At chartwell the staff welcomed me from the beginning and the Nadia made sure there were accommodations for us. We are looking to extend our stay.

Cathy Sonoski
21/07/2022

I love the staff that is here! They are really nice and friendly. I always enjoy joking around and enjoy telling jokes with my fellow residents. I have been here for 2 years and moved from Toronto to Chartwell Leamington to be closer to my 2 nephews that live in this area. My room is very spacious and I love the private patio. I love all the activities that are offered including bingo and horse races.

Wendy Parsons
19/07/2022

Chartwell Leamington is a strong supporter of the Leamington District Chamber of Commerce. I have had the opportunity to work with staff and what a wonderful group of individuals. They volunteer in our community projects and it is nice to see the participation in our events. Chartwell's rooms and open space are immaculate and the residences seem to really enjoy themselves. The location of Chartwell is close to many amenities making it easy for a stroll outside the premises.

Frank Ricci
16/07/2022

I visited my dad yesterday, he was very happy with the lunch meal, even though he has a hard time eating, he said that the staff treat him like family, and Gino has been giving him great cherries which he loves. Thanks so much to everyone at the Chartwell Leamington for helping my dad and mom through this very difficult time, you have been awesome.

Judy Simms
14/07/2022

When my aunt moved into Chartwell, the staff were very welcoming to us. It felt like they were family and my aunt was coming home. As we have had questions about various situations Chartwell staff have been quick to respond and support our family in the care of our aunt. Great job Chartwell! Thank you!

Frank Ricci
13/07/2022

Just wanted to thank the Chartwell Leamington staff the awesome job they are doing and looking after my parents and my mother-in-law. It's not an easy job, the staff have all been great to visitors, and to my parents. They are quick to respond to any issues. Despite the challenges during Covid, they have accommodated us the best they can and managed to prevent any serious outbreaks. My thanks to all the staff.

Carla Truman
12/07/2022

There is no harder task than finding the right place for your loved one. Fortunately, we found Chartwell Leamington for mom. It's as close to independent living as possible. Suites are a nice size. Overall building is clean, spacious, and inviting. The staff is loving and kind and take remarkable care of mom. They answer all my questions and never act like they are too busy to talk to me. They are attentive to mom's needs. We are so lucky that mom can live here and be cared for and doted on by this remarkable staff. During COVID-19 there kindness, compassion, care and patience never dwindled. Our thanks to each person working at Chartwell- Kudos for the loving atmosphere that prevails. We can not thank you enough.

Linda Gabriele
21/06/2022

Chartwell Leamington staff is compassionate. They go the extra mile to provide quality service. The residents also helped tremendously in the transition for my mom. In an environment that is beautiful; spacious and well maintained. I would highly recommend, for families looking for only the best for their loved ones.

Alexia Fast
16/06/2022

i am a co-op student at chartwell leamington, every employee is kind and treats everyone with respect and all the residents are very nice, i have really enjoyed my time at chartwell

Amber Lindsay
16/06/2022

I have been a co-op student at chartwell for the past two years and have had a great experience. everyone is so kind and always willing to help. they treat the residents with so much respect and kindness and overall is a great place to be.

Anne Lenoir
13/06/2022

My friend lost her husband in September 2021 and because of some disabilities was unable to remain in her home. We moved her into a lovely self-contained room at Chartwell, Leamington just before Christmas 2021. It is a delightful place with friendly and helpful staff. As a visitor and carer, I feel welcomed by staff and management when I visit and I have watched my friend settle in and make friends. She chooses whether to spend private time in her room and eat alone, or to join friends in the dining room for a well prepared meal (with menu options) and some social time. The decor is beautiful and there are fun planned activities scheduled regularly. I could happily join my friend and retirement to Chartwell!

Jodie Scherer
10/06/2022

Chartwell Leamington has met and gone beyond our expectations with helping me and my family adjust to the transition of my mom into the retirement home. My mother spent her 70th birthday in rehabilitation after suffering a debilitating stroke. Her first was more than 20 years ago but recovered enough to carry on living an active life. After my first conversation with Nadia she was compassionate and helpful with all of my questions and concerns. She and her team have all been patient and accommodating with helping my mom feel at home there. Mom enjoys the food, entertainment and the social activities she’s offered regularly. Chartwell is a beautiful home, my teenage daughter have often said it feels like that resort in Mexico we went to! Big open well lit with greenery and skylights! I would highly recommend Chartwell Leamington.

Anthony Brown
28/04/2022

I have a friend of mine who was not doing so well living a lone and so we thought it best that it was time for my friend to find a retirement home. the decision to move was a hard one to make as it was something new and unknow. we looked at a number of homes and we settled on Chartwell in Leamington and I must say it was without question the best decision we made with respect to where my friend would live. The welcome that we received from management in particular MS. Nadia DiDomenico was very impressive she along we her staff was very informative very friendly and was open to any questions that we had. The place was and is immaculate and spacious and the natural lighting coming from every where was so peace full .I could go on and on about the staff, room size, food, activities for the residences' and so much more, but I will say this, if you are looking for a retirement home for your self or a family member or like me a friend then you must visit Chartwell Leamington I highly recommend the home. Thank you so much Chartwell Leamington for putting our fears completely away.

Sieglinde Omstead
02/03/2021

In the fall of 2019 it became apparent that my dad could no longer live by himself in his own home. So off we went to find a place for him to live. Our first stop was Chartwell Leamington and that was it, no more looking for my dad. He was impressed with the friendliness of staff, the spaciousness of the building and the choice he had to pick an apartment. He enjoyed the free lunch to try out the food. Once his decision was made he moved in and settled. It didn’t take long for him to meet new people. He enjoyed riding his scooter through the halls and saying hello or just waving at others. We have a large family and my dad so enjoys seeing all his grandchildren and great grandchildren. At Christmas we were able to all get together in the basement meeting rooms. The staff was so helpful and we had a wonderful Christmas celebration. We even sat outside his apartment and sang carols together. This is so special to us as this was his last Christmas with family. He passed away November 2020. As family we are so thankful for the wonderful care, love and concern that was shown to my dad. He thoroughly enjoyed his “new home.” I would highly recommend Chartwell Leamington.

Dawn Pinto
05/02/2021

My Father moved into residence November, right away he liked his room and he raved about the meals. He was settling in quite comfortably when again he was sequestered to his room but the meals weren't the same as going to the dining room. Life is about adjusting to the situation that is given to you but at 89 years old he has no patience. I commend the staff at Leamington Chartwell for their care and patience and the respect my Father is getting despite his grumpy mood, it's understandable. I too would like to thank Melissa for the easy transition she made happen from one place to another for my Dad. I love visiting my Dad but I think I like going too to see the happy faces at Chartwell that welcome me into the home at this time of chaos in our lives. The pandemic has impacted so many of us and it's nice to see the professionalism that is going on at their place of work. I thank Gino for keeping me informed through emails. I pray we can all get back to visiting without masks gowns, gloves and be able to give hugs like we used to.

Mary Collins
04/02/2021

Mom went into Chartwell on a trial basis. It worked out and she settled in. It was difficult for her as she had to be quarantined for two weeks at the beginning due to the pandemic. She was lonely at times - even with a designated visitor most days. The residence itself is lovely. Mom's suite was spacious and well appointed. Meals were ok - Mom found at times there was a mishmash of stuff on her plate - kind of like they were using up leftovers. There is an a la carte menu - but she did not use it - didn't want to trouble anyone. Staff are fantastic - they know the residents and their needs well. The assessment and admission process was seamless. Everything went smoothly. Mom felt very safe there - with frequent testing of residents temperatures and visitor restrictions and staff wearing masks. I will point out that Mom could not tell a nurse from a member of the management team from a housekeeping team member. I think large easy to read nametags should be compulsory for all staff. Overall - mom was very happy there - we were happy as well and felt mom was very safe there and well looked after.

David Bodi
01/02/2021

Last August Mom fell and broke her hip. After surgery and a period of recovery/rehab it became apparent that she would not be able to return to her own home so we sent her to Chartwell Leamington for respite care. Mom is now a permanent resident for several months and has not only settled in very nicely but she is also more than pleased with her beautiful and comfortable suit. She boasts daily about the staff, services, food, etc. that she receives and is very thankful. The entire staff and management are very caring, companionate and thoughtful and treat all residents like family. I would not hesitate recommending Chartwell Leamington and in fact would encourage anyone who is looking for themselves or a family member to contact them and check out what they have to offer. The peace of mind for me and my brother is priceless, knowing our Mom is safe, comfortable, content and well cared for by the entire staff.

Joan Brentnall
06/10/2020

Being a full time care person had taken its toll on me by the time my husband died six months ago. My own health wasn't that great and I was slated for hip surgery, which had been put on hold due to COVID 19. I was alone with a big house and no family to lend a hand, so it was at that point that I called Chartwell Leamington. It was the smartest move I had ever made. The following day Melissa Bloomfield came to my house, flowers in hand, assuring me that Chartwell was there for me. She outlined the various provisions available to me, from nursing and personal care if necessary, room sizes, rates, as well as many other things that would make life easier for me during my transition. As Chartwell Leamington's Retirement Living Consultant, Melissa did a beautiful job. Without pressure she answered all of my questions and/or concerns. I liked what I heard, and felt comfortable knowing that I would also be looked after following the hip surgery that I needed. My move to Chartwell Leamington went smoothly. Everything around the residence is bright and cheery with wide, brightly lit hallways (no skimpy corridors). Each suite has its own patio door to the outside fenced tree-lined walkway that goes all around the building, where many residents display their lovingly cared-for flowers. There are activities in abundance and it doesn't take long to conclude that residents are happy with their life at Chartwell. Throughout the day various staff members, from administration, housekeeping, maintenance, food services and health care, extend continued greetings and are within the sound of your voice to willingly, and happily, give you a hand. Best of all it's with a smile. Kudos to Melissa, Gino, Anne and all the staff at Chartwell Leamington for being there when I made that important call and reached out to them. IN MY BOOK CHARTWELL LEAMINGTON GETS TOP RATING.

Kerri Bernardes
04/06/2020

In the month of April, my mother had fallen and broke her hip. Even after her stay at HDGH Wellness and Rehabilitation, our family knew that it was not safe for her to be at home alone. We decided that it would be best for her to stay at the Leamington Chartwell's Respite Care until she fully recovered. It was definitely been the best decision that we could have made for her. It has been a difficult time for my mom and our family, especially since all of this is happening during COVID. However, I can say Melissa Bloomfield, the Retirement Living Consultant has made this whole process much easier. Melissa has made sure to keep in touch with us and even sent our family multiple pictures of my mother throughout the days. It was comforting to receive those visuals, since we cannot visit her during COVID. Melissa made sure to go above and beyond her job to keep us informed and made my mother feel extremely welcomed upon her arrival. When my mom arrived at her room there was a note alongside beautiful flowers that welcomed her. My mother always mentions how nice each staff member is, her beautiful room, and the amazing food. The whole staff has been amazing and has made these tough times easier than I could have ever imagined! I am so happy that we chose Leamington Chartwell! Thank you for all that you do, it is very appreciated!

Joanne P-M
25/02/2020

Heartfelt thanks and appreciation are extended to the entire Chartwell Leamington Retirement Residence Staff and Management Team for the post-op respite care provided throughout my stay as I recovered from major foot surgery. Your kindness, compassionate care and support will always be remembered with more gratitude than you will ever know. You are the best!

Joanne P-M
25/02/2020

Heartfelt thanks and appreciation are extended to the entire Chartwell Leamington Retirement Residence Staff and Management Team for the post-op respite care provided throughout my stay as I recovered from major foot surgery. Your kindness, compassionate care and support will always be remembered with more gratitude than you will ever know. You are the best!

Joanne P-M
25/02/2020

Heartfelt thanks and appreciation are extended to the entire Chartwell Leamington Retirement Residence Staff and Management Team for the post-op respite care provided throughout my stay as I recovered from major foot surgery. Your kindness, compassionate care and support will always be remembered with more gratitude than you will ever know. You are the best!

Heidi Schell
07/11/2019

Following major surgery I stayed at Chartwell Retirement Residences for 1week respite care. I was very pleased and impressed with the care and attention that I received during this time. The staff was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. A very beautiful, spacious and welcoming place to recover.

Shari Fazekas
20/10/2019

Following hip replacement surgery on June 6, 2019 I arranged for a respite stay at Chartwell, Leamington and had an excellent experience for the month following my surgery. Melissa Bloomfield was most helpful in providing me with a comprehensive tour of the residence and she answered all of my questions. Along with the nurse, she visited me in the Chatham Hospital before I was released to make sure that I was mobile and well enough to begin my respite stay. The building itself and the layout is beautiful, very spacious hallways and filled with light. Meals were wonderful and tasty and there was always a variety of choices. Dining room staff and other staff on the premises were very friendly and efficient. It was my first time doing a respite stay and I can’t say enough about my positive experience. It gave me a chance to get a head start on recovery from my hip surgery without worrying about preparing meals and how I would ever be able to manage in the first month following surgery. It was like staying in a 5-star hotel and would certainly arrange for a stay here if I were to need another respite stay in the future. Thank you Melissa Bloomfield for all of your help.

Diane Couvillon
28/06/2019

Diane Couvillon 1 review a day ago-Edit My mother lived at Chartwell Leamington for one year and she was very happy there. She loved her studio apartment, the food, and especially the wonderful staff. She constantly told us how happy she was to be living there, where she was able to maintain her independence, but knew help was very close if she ever needed it. The staff? Well, there couldn't be a better group of people to entrust a loved one to. They were simply the best. They treated my mother, as well as her family, with such kindness and respect, and they made every effort to give her the privacy she needed. She was able to live the way she wanted to live while she was there. We got to know the staff, as well, and we are very thankful for the great care and concern they always had. They knew my mother well, her likes and dislikes, and they always made sure that her needs were met. The day our mother moved into Chartwell Leamington is the day we knew she was in a safe place. Thank you to all the staff. We'll miss you.

Kathy Seguin
28/06/2019

Chartwell Leamington became Home for my mother at the age of 90. As expected by an independent person to leave her own home for a new place was a bit scary for her. With all of her own furniture and decor in place she quickly realized that she loved her surroundings and felt completely relaxed and welcomed by the wonderful staff. Her request for privacy, was met by the staff from day 1. The staff is without a doubt the nicest, most caring people we could have asked for. My mother made daily comments about the wonderful meals which we occasionally enjoyed with her. Since we visited her daily, we got to know many of the residents and could see that they were just as happy as our mother. Living in Chartwell Leamington was a very pleasant experience for her and the bright sun-lit residence is beautiful. Thank you so much to the fabulous staff, who were there for my mothers needs and wishes, and especially thank you to Gino.

Kathy Dawson
21/11/2017

My inlaws have lived there for a couple of years now. They are treated like family by all the staff. It takes a lot of pressure off knowing they are safe and comfortable there. Especially nice that they are able to have their pet with them. They call it home.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Kingsville Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Kingsville Retirement Residence

240 Main Street East, Kingsville, Ontario N9Y 1A6

Distance: 10.3 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
519-973-6314 View Residence
Chartwell St. Clair Beach Retirement Residence

13500 Riverside Drive East, Tecumseh, Ontario N8N 0C3

Distance: 38.5 km

Chartwell Oak Park Terrace Retirement Residence

1750 E.C. Row, North Service Road, Windsor, Ontario N8W 1Y3

Distance: 41.7 km

Chartwell Oak Park LaSalle Retirement Residence

3955 Thirteenth Street, La Salle (Ontario), Ontario N9H 2S7

Distance: 42.3 km