Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Colonial Retirement Residence

101 Manning Road, Whitby, Ontario L1N 9M2

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Grapes to verify you are human. (Required)


Laurie Hardy
09/08/2022

Our Mom has been a resident for approximately one month. Every staff member we have encountered has been helpful and compassionate. This has been a difficult time for my Mom and our family and everyone at Chartwell Colonial has been wonderful We are looking forward to a long and happy experience for Mom and peace of mind for our family. Thank you so much.

Laurie Hardy
09/08/2022

Catherine Pike
28/04/2022

It is comforting to know that Dad is well looked after in a safe environment by caring and considerate staff, especially with the ongoing challenges with Covid.

Laurie Sharrard
27/04/2022

Our Mother could no longer live safely on her own, we needed to find a retirement home where she could still have her independence but also be safe, cared for and comfortable. Chartwell Colonial provided just that. The Leadership team and staff made Mom's transition to a retirement home a very pleasant seamless occasion. Everything was so well organized for her arrival, Mom got to meet all members of the Team and felt so special that she was receiving so much attention. The staff and Leadership Team continue to make Mom feel at home, safe and part of the Colonial family.

Lynda Marchione
22/10/2021

Our family member has just arrived at Chartwell Colonial.The whole process leading up to her arrival was well organized,including the day of her move.So many staff members came to welcome her to her suite and introduce themselves. The flowers left for her on her first day were lovely!The atmosphere seems very warm and welcoming.We are hopeful she will love her new home.

Pam Gallagher
19/09/2020

The staff at the Colonial are wonderful, caring and kind. My grandparents had the pleasure of living at the residence for over 3 years and very much enjoyed their time here. Sara is an excellent activity director and made a large variety of activities available to them. There are so many excellent PSW’s that work here & provided great care to both of them. Dana was friendly and always willing to lend a hand. Karen was so kind and caring. Daytime Tracey was always looking out for them in a warm hearted way. Lesa the office manager is new to the position but has been helpful and responsive to any questions we have. Sam at the front works tirelessly to help with all the visits always with a friendly smile. Kathy the general manager has been of great assistance during difficult times. There are so many others that also contribute to this great living environment we couldn’t have asked for anything more.

Jack Bedi
24/06/2020

My mother moved into Chartwell Colonial just over 2 years ago. She is 90 and has a variety of challenges. First and foremost, I want to recognize the leadership and staff at this facility as absolutely exemplary. They have done an amazing job of looking after my mom. Furthermore, during this Covid-19 era, they have surpassed my expectations around how well they’ve managed to keep the residence safe and virus-free (keep our fingers crossed and maintain that focus as we can’t let our guard down). A most sincere thanks to Chartwell Colonial for job well done!

Debrincat Doris
07/03/2020

Our father has been living here for almost 3 years, he has loved his time spent here, the care that this facility offers is outstanding, they have made our father and all of us like family, starting from their nursing staff that are a wonderful and truly caring, responsible and very approachable, we can’t thank the whole staff including Shannon, Sera, the housekeeping and kitchen staff were really happy with all at Colonial, we thank you all for all your care. Doris Debrincat and Family

Doris Debrincat
28/06/2019

Our father has been living here for the last 21/2 years, the care that this community give is phenomenal, the head nurse Vicki and her wonderful staff are extremely caring, responsible and very approachable, we can’t thank the whole staff including the housekeeping and kitchen staff were really happy with all at Colonial, we thank you all for all your care. Doris Debrincat

Jim Stewart
17/02/2019

Mom and Dad spent close to a year at your Residence and we have nothing but praise for the professional and sensitive care that they received from the staff. it is very reassuring to know that your loved ones are getting the care 'that they' need. I gladly recommend your Residence to all that know us. Most Sincerely, Jim and Peggy Stewart, Whitby

Carla Daniell
13/01/2019

My mother spent a month at colonial in Whitby. The staff were very kind to her doing their best to deal with her Dementia. She always commented on how kind everyone was to her especially the serving ladies in the dining room. She also enjoyed the food. Thank you Colonial staff

shirley cook
08/05/2018

What a terrific time on Saturday as we spent the afternoon at a casino within our home and then a visit from Elvis at night. We just danced the night away.

Karen Burgess
26/04/2018

My Grandmother loved living at The Colonial. She said it felt just like home. Every time we visited, everyone was so nice, and there were so many activities going on all the time. The holiday meals were fantastic. Thank you Colonial!

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Harwood Retirement Residence

240 Old Harwood Avenue, Ajax, Ontario L1T 0N2

Distance: 7.2 km

Chartwell Wynfield Assisted Living

431 Woodmount Drive, Oshawa, Ontario L1K 0P7

Distance: 8.4 km

Chartwell Wynfield Retirement Residence

431 Woodmount Drive, Oshawa, Ontario L1K 0P7

Distance: 8.4 km

Chartwell Pickering City Centre Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Pickering City Centre Retirement Residence

1801 Valley Farm Road, Pickering, Ontario L1V 0A5

Distance: 12.3 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
289-631-1943 View Residence