Book a virtual or on-site tour. Move-Ins Now Accepted. New Infection Prevention Measures In Place for Enhanced Safety.
96% of residents felt their Chartwell Residence took important measures to keep them safe during COVID-19. "Listening to Serve You Better" 2020 survey results.

Find a residence

At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre programme « Bienvenue chez Chartwell » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

Chartwell Southwind Retirement Residence

1645 Paris Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 6L5

    Reviews for this Residence - Overall Ratings - 5.0   (5.0)




Please select the Kiwi to verify you are human. (Required)


Rosanne Portelance
5
21/04/2020

My mom Nada has been a resident at Southwind for many years and i must say I am pretty happy and proud that she is living there especially during this COVID19 outbreak. The staff have taken all the right precautions and have put the residents as there #1 priority. They put many good things in place such as two shifts for meals, a red heart in there window to say they are okay, video calls with family members so they can stay in touch with their loved ones, weekly updates they to family members in what has been happening or new measures taken to prevent COVID19 in the residence, special treats on special occasions such as Easter. Staff should be really proud of themselves and they deserve to be applauded as they are putting their life at risk everyday to keep our loved ones safe.

Thomas Byers
5
15/04/2020

My mother-in-law stayed here. She would tell me all the staff were very nice to her. She also said the food was better that what she cooked. Mother said she had lots of friends. And she loved her room.

MICHEL MARLEAU
5
06/02/2020

I am Eldest Son, living in GSA, POA for now 95yr young Dad & 87yr young Mom, along with other family members genuinely sought to provide the best "Quality of Life" environment for them. Being a perfectionist and Immensely loving them, more than 2 years of thorough research was done. SOUTHWIND; Selected for top record in #1: GENUINE LOVING AND CARING STAFF: In last 2 yrs I have witnessed Managements success in staffing Southwind with " We Are All a FAMILY TEAM of like-minded Service to others vs Service to self Souls here " So many have behaved like Angels of kindness . #2: SAFETY: ( elevator, handrails, wide areas, no trip hazards, engineered ext walkways, 24/7 monitoring, skilled maintenance with am adequate operational and maintenance budget. (No Bandaid fixes ). #3: Hospital Grade Cleanliness and management thereof facility as well as for Tenants benefits. ( i.e. on day 2, I witnessed Marketing Manager spot caregiver staff with a mask and upon learning she had a cold, she was sent home asap ( as threat to residents is a priority concern. ). #4 Environment: The entire facility is designed to facilitate Golden Years Seniors interaction via activities and visuals from the Era where Tenants were happiest. #5 Nutrition / Options / Quality of foods / skilled and caring services provided at meal times. #6 Open Door policy and true goals to work with the Residents and their Primary Caregivers in resolving the many challenges each tenant may have. They achieve this also by the direct links they have with HSN / Physicians / Pharmacy's / Transportation etc. In Closing: You must truly walk the walk to impress me. They have. I relay this for those of you out there with a challenge I do not have. I am luckily close and verify all the above. Rest assured that if you are too far away for frequent interaction ( i.e. my Brother 3hrs away), I attest that you may sleep soundly with the comfort of knowing CHARTWELL SOUTHWIND has there back. I took the time to write this for you out there and to properly thank all of you for achieving all I mentioned. May Divine Creator bless you all. Michel Marleau

Eric Bernier
5
13/11/2019

The entire staff is friendly and welcoming when you walk in they're always happy to help you

Nicki Perpick
5
08/08/2019

Southwind Retirement Residence is Sudbury's most sought after residence and we are fortunate that our mother calls it "home" when she moved in five years ago. Transitions are difficult yet with its warm and comfortable surrounding great amenities, activities and thoughtful care, Southwind soon became our mom's place. Mom has enjoyed the events, the games, concerts, music, celebrations and the inclusive spirit which is provided to help residents become a "family of friends". Travelling from out of town to see her regularly we have also been included and respected and informed, and enjoy being at Southwind too. We have relied on Jennifer Butler and her Administrative team as well as her Care worker team to provide guidance in mom's care plan and the communication is always available . Our mom's health has changed and her limitations more apparent , but the care team of exceptional women has accommodated her needs with empathy and diligence in the delivery of medications and services. What sets Southwind apart are the amazing people who work there every day.These women and men provide care and comfort and aid in daily life and they do do with kindness, sensitivity, knowledge, humour and love. Their primary focus is on the resident. At Southwind the PEOPLE make this place a HOME.

Dorothy Recoskie
5
24/06/2019

From my first visit I knew this was the place I wanted to call home and they even welcomed Trixie my cat. I walked in to a bright and cheery environment. Everyone I saw was so friendly, it made me feel very welcome. So did the welcome sign with my name on it. There were no units available, but they still stayed in touch with me and we decided to make the move! I have to say when I moved in I was nervous, it was a big change, I must have asked the same questions numerous times but I was never made to feel stupid. Everyone smiled and answered. I love the fact that I can control my own heat and air conditioning in my unit. I love all the activities, they are so suitable, great exercise classes too. The crafts and baking brought back memories, really fun. The mind games keep me on my toes. Physio has really helped. I feel I have control of my life. If you want to get out for a bit, it is so handy to have the bus and there are lots of outings available. Families are made to feel welcome with all the lovely occasional dinners put on. The kitchen staff are wonderful and my dietary needs are always accommodated. I am happy I have met some new friends and it is nice to see everyone does. Residents are quick to make new residents feel comfortable.

Dawn Spires
5
15/05/2019

Southwinds staff have been very kind and helpful with my husband's care. He has special dietary needs which the staff have paid attention to from day one; they follow up with me for all incidents promptly, even if someone takes a tumble and, after being checked over, doesn't require medical attention; and, he enjoys the meals here very much. I've eaten here on occasion also, and have no complaints about the food. With the shift in an aging population, and the range of health issues that can result in assisted living arrangements at any age, the Southwinds staff do an amazing job and I would rate them 5 stars out of 5! My only complaint would be the washing machines are not repaired in a timely fashion, sometimes not for months, which impacts the staff as well as the residents!

Denise Courchesne
5
15/05/2019

It's unbelievable, I am so happy. It feels like home here. My room is beautiful and bright. They have great activities and meals. I love the music every Friday it makes my day.

Denise Courchesne
5
15/05/2019

Giovanina Marcantognini
5
21/06/2017

The Southwind is the best. The people are nice.I have referred my friend here because I like it here so much. The people are nice, the food is good, it's clean and there is a lot of activities.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living at this residence?

705-885-9643

Not a valid phone number

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Westmount on William Retirement Residence
Chartwell Westmount on William Retirement Residence

599 William Avenue, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 5W3

Distance: 7.06 km

Chartwell Meadowbrook Senior Townhomes
Chartwell Meadowbrook Senior Townhomes

18 Jacobson Drive, Lively, Ontario P3Y 1P7

Distance: 11.25 km

Chartwell Meadowbrook Retirement Residence
Chartwell Meadowbrook Retirement Residence

18 Jacobson Drive, Lively, Ontario P3Y 1P7

Distance: 11.34 km

Chartwell Barclay House Retirement Residence
Chartwell Barclay House Retirement Residence

600 Chippewa Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9E7

Distance: 119.94 km