At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre nouveau programme « Vivre la transition ensemble » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

Chartwell Riverside Retirement Residence

201 Riverside Drive, London, Ontario N6H 1E5

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Grapes to verify you are human. (Required)


Mike Crosby
28/02/2021

I had previously left a review in May of 2020 but really felt compelled to leave another one. As we all know, dealing with Covid has been incredibly difficult made even more so having elderly loved ones to worry about! I haven't been able to spend as much time with my mom due to restrictions (which is great to protect everyone) but this meant I haven't been able to keep as close an eye on her health. Without getting into personal details, Maggie from the Wellness Department at Chartwell contacted me about an urgent health issue that resulted in hospitalization of my mom. Well... try dealing with hospital staff when you're not allowed to be there with your loved one. It's extremely frustrating and left me feeling helpless. Like an angel, in stepped Samantha from Wellness at Chartwell! She immediately took charge, contacted the right people at hospital and arranged the transition from hospital back to Chartwell seamlessly. Samantha came in on her day off to be there when my mom returned and arranged for the extra help she needed. The extra help Chartwell provides is extensive (food delivery to the rooms, medication dispensing, laundry and bathing/dressing assistance) and will definitely keep my mom living independently as long as possible. I can't thank everyone at Chartwell enough because I know my mom is in good hands. They've done an outstanding job during the Covid pandemic!

Lauren Poole
18/02/2021

I visit oxygen clients that live at Riverside I always enjoy going there as the staff are always helpful and friendly.

Martin Troughton
16/02/2021

This is the easiest 5 stars to give. The incredible staff at Chartwell Riverside in London has provided by aunt, who is a newer resident, the support she needs throughout this whole COVID-19 pandemic with ever-changing circumstances and have responded brilliantly ensuring a healthy and safe environment. They have given our family the means to navigate this life altering transition smoothly and effortlessly. They are always there to help, explain and provide direction ensuring that we are supporting the best lifestyle for our aunt. Hats off to an incredible team!

Ruth Stewart
03/02/2021

I have great admiration for the front-line workers of Chartwell Riverside during this turbulent time of Covid-19. Seeing the care and compassion that nurses such as Samantha Divnich show towards the residents, reassures me that residents are in a safe and heathy home.

Bill Thomas
02/02/2021

This home has a reputation of being ,hands down , during Covid an exceptional home to my loved one . Chartwell strong and good job staff

Lise Jensen
24/06/2020

As soon as I stepped into Chartwell Riverside, I knew this would be our choice for mum. The decor is lovely, cozy and welcoming. The staff and care exceeds our expectations. They go over and above to ensure everyone is well looked after. They know all the resident's name as well as family member names. The wellness centre provides great medical service so we don't need to worry about mum. The kitchen and dining room staff are tops. Food is outstanding and you could not ask for better servers and Alicia, well, she makes meal time the happiest place to be. They all have a great sense of humour. Alla, Elaine and all the other staff from housekeeping to management- thank you for all you do to keep the home a home and running smoothly. Thank you for taking such good care of all our loved ones and in always welcoming family members with open arms. I also want to add that the quickness you took at the start of the pandemic to ensure the health and safety of those in your care - wow. Awesome job. Thank you.

Judy McFarlen
01/06/2020

My brother John moved into Chartwell Riverside in January 2020. From the moment John and I walked into the residence to check things out I knew this would be his new home. We were treated special and Stacey was very accommodating and open with her answers. John's transition to retirement living was seamless. He settled in very quickly thanks to all the staff and especially Elaine, who made him feel at home. Through the pandemic we miss seeing John but take much joy in the fact he is always happy when we call him or drop by. Knowing he is safe, having fun and well cared for makes it easier for his family. Thank you Chartwell Riverside for ALL that you do for John and our family.

Mike Crosby
26/05/2020

My mom has been at Chartwell Riverside now for almost 3 years and since the first meeting with Stacey, she has been over the top accommodating every request and is very kind with all the seniors we see her interact with. Chartwell Riverside has done an incredible job during this recent Covid 19 pandemic. Elaine and the rest of the team control access to the building - the other day I accidentally opened the door to drop off my mom's care package - and I was immediately stopped and properly educated by Elaine. I can't tell you how happy this made me to realize they take everyone's health seriously and I know my mom is in very good hands. We had checked out several seniors' residences when my mom initially decided to sell her house and transition to retirement living. As soon as we walked into Chartwell Riverside, my mom loved the decor and immediately felt at home. She prefers to make her own breakfast, so she is able to do this in her apartment which has it's own kitchenette. My mom enjoys the light housekeeping, laundry service and has had a couple of occasions to have to call for a nurse to have minor things checked out. It's peace of mind to know that help is literally a call or push of a button away. Our various family members have had meals at Chartwell Riverside and think they're great! There is always a selection of healthy options and they are super accommodating.... like if mom feels like an egg salad sandwich she's able to get it. Let's face it, it's not easy for our elderly family members to make the decision to sell their houses and move but I can assure you that every single team member at Riverside Chartwell will make this transition easy. I've seen an improvement in my mom's health and mental well being since moving to Chartwell. The social activities are really well planned and happen daily courtesy of Alla. We all know that being social is so much better for our elderly loved ones! The only thing we wish we did different - we wish we encouraged my mom to move to Chartwell Riverside when my dad was still alive. They would have been happier, healthier and maybe my dad would still be around today. As you can tell, we can't say enough good things about Chartwell Riverside and highly recommend you consider looking into it for your loved one when the time comes!

Susan Macejko
10/03/2020

Our Mother arrived at Chartwell Riverside in September, 2016. We immediately noticed the residence had a cozy, and welcoming atmosphere as well as being a pleasantly decorated, well designed building. We found the staff to be caring individuals with unlimited patience and understanding towards the residents and their families. We noticed staff members go out of their way to greet the residents and visitors alike with a smile and a kind word. They make everyone feel at home and that any concerns or questions the residents or their families may have are important and will be addressed immediately. Staff members at Riverside always seem to have a genuine outlook for the happiness and well being of their residents. The Wellness Center is a vital, and important factor for our Mother because of her special medical needs and the staff always try to make her feel as comfortable as possible. Our Mother has dietary restrictions and the food service staff go out of their way to ensure that she has a well balanced menu plan every month and they also welcome suggestions from her family. Whenever there may be a small maintenance issue, you simply report it to the reception area who then contact the maintenance department and the issue is resolved promptly. We can't say enough about the numerous social activities and outings the staff at Chartwell Riverside provide; there is definitely something for everyone. Our Mother enjoys playing "Bingo" and looks forward to Mondays, and possibly " winning" of course. We as a family would like to extend our "Thanks and Appreciation" to all Staff Members at Chartwell Riverside for taking good care of our Mother.

Mogen Pedersen
06/03/2020

My sister moved into Chartwell Riverside in the middle of November 2019. It is a beautiful, friendly residence, that works hard to create a family like atmosphere. The Wellness department, has been attentive to Inger's needs, as she is developmently delayed, and diabetic. When she had a medical emergency, they got her to the hospital quickly, when they noticed she had come downstairs for breakfast and her meds. Elaine Kelly, the business manager, is very professional, promptly addressing any concerns, but also empathetic towards, and kind to Inger.

Angelique Ellerton
22/01/2020

I would highly recommend this short stay program for post operation recovery. This residence is open, friendly and very pleasant to navigate. The staff I met were kind, courteous and in good humour. My thanks to Stacey Yeadon-Porter, for a very positive tour.

Gord Miller
27/11/2019

Enjoy visiting Chartwell Riverside and attending various events there. Stacey especially always gives you a warm greeting on arrival and is a pleasure to meet with to discuss different programs. The residents appear to really like the activities that are planned for them each day and keep active.Overall one gets a sense of a very happy and comfortable environment in which to live.

Janice Kirwin
20/11/2019

As a Senior Move Manager I have had the pleasure of moving many residents into Chartwell Riverside. When you enter the building their is a real feeling of community and warmth. All of the staff are professional, friendly and go out of their way to help their residents feel at home. I would highly recommend if you are looking for a retirement home for yourself or a loved one.

Scott Switzer
13/11/2019

A family member has recently joined the residents at Chartwell Riverside and I just wanted to say a very big thank you to the team that worked on that transition. A story was shared with the General Manager when she went to the house prior to moving in about a daily routine my grandparents share. The story was shared upon her return to Chartwell and Stacey, a member of the sales team took it upon herself to go and get a few items so that on the day of move in, the items arrived in the room so the daily tradition could continue. A heartwarming gesture in a very turbulent time. It speaks volumes to the service Riverside provides its residents and their willingness to go that extra mile. Off to a great start, with many thanks.

Rosemary Nyhoff
25/08/2018

When I first came to Chartwell, I came in as an organization called Smiles 4 Seniors. We hand out flowers and (homemade) cards to our local seniors and we were welcomed by Chartwell to do just that. The staff at Chartwell is amazing. So friendly, welcoming, knowing their residents by their name, taking time for them and doing whatever they can do to make their residents happy. Since then, I have been back as I made friends in the home and whenever I visit them I feel the same way. A warm, welcoming environment, which is always confirmed to me by their residents. They love being there, they love all the activities they have for them and the personal contact. I would recommend this residence to any senior!

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a virtual or on-site tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Riverside Senior Townhomes
Chartwell Riverside Senior Townhomes

201 Riverside Drive, London, Ontario N6H 1E5

Distance: 0.2 km

Chartwell Royalcliffe Retirement Residence
Chartwell Royalcliffe Retirement Residence

609 Wharncliffe Road South, London, Ontario N6J 0A4

Distance: 3.5 km

Chartwell Oxford Gardens Retirement Residence
Chartwell Oxford Gardens Retirement Residence

423 Devonshire Avenue, Woodstock, Ontario N4S 0B2

Distance: 44.7 km

Chartwell Anne Hathaway Retirement Residence
Chartwell Anne Hathaway Retirement Residence

480 Downie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 7Y5

Distance: 48.2 km