Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Royal on Gordon Retirement Residence

1691 Gordon Street, Guelph, Ontario N1L 1E1

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Grapes to verify you are human. (Required)


Mark W.
13/11/2021

The staff at Chartwell Royal on Gordon have been nothing short of amazing in the genuine care, treatment and friendship provided to both my mother & father. Recently, after being assisted after an accidental fall, my mother commented that "she feels like she is living in her own heaven" because of all the loving care she receives. Our family is very grateful to Chartwell, and even more so after the protective environment they have provided during the pandemic. Thank you Royal on Gordon. Mark

Joan Weston
07/03/2021

My mother has lived at Royal on Gordon since December 2016, and now in March 2021 I have to say that she and I have no regrets whatsoever about her choice to become part of this caring and safe community. Throughout the pandemic, she has been kept secure and busy, with visits to the bistro and activities that help stimulate her. She trusts the staff and they treat her with respect and patience. She often comments that at age 99!!!, Royal on Gordon is the absolute best living arrangement she could hope for. My sincere thanks to the staff who treat her like family, have helped her maintain her health, and meet her personal needs with grace each day. She's looking forward to the possibility of a little golf this summer!

N & S Green
24/11/2020

When we approached Chartwell Royal on Gordon Retirement Residence we we were in need of finding our family member a new home as soon as possible. Brian Dugas, the Retirement Living Consultant at Chartwell, was both professional and compassionate and worked with us over a number of months to secure a room, plan the transition and ensure a smooth move-in. The team regularly communicated with us, even into the evening, to ensure we were aware of changes and to help facilitate the transition of care between cities and providers - including administrative, medical, and physical resources staff. All of this was made more challenging due to the pandemic; however, the Chartwell team worked closely with us to keep everyone safe but also keep things moving forward. We were impressed by the team's attention to detail to the welcome process, such as planning a favourite meal and staggering visits from key staff members, to help my family member feel comfortable and get settled in. It really was amazing how quickly we were able to get a plan in place and execute it. Our family member has now settled in and enjoys being part of the community created by both residents and staff. Planned events and meals have helped with the integration into the community, even during these challenging times. We are very thankful for the support provided by the Chartwell team and highly recommend Chartwell Royal on Gordon Retirement Residence. N & S Green

Peter Komarnitsky
15/01/2020

I spent approximately three years at the Royal on Gordon in a one bedroom apartment when I sold my family home as a widower. From the day I moved in to the residence until the day I relocated back to Quebec to be with my son, I called the Royal home. The staff were supportive, helpful, respectful and caring. The food at the Royal was excellent and I really appreciated the fact that on the odd occasion the chef would even warm up my sister's home made cabbage rolls for me!! The perpetual pot of coffee and treats were always appreciated. The residents at the Royal are given their privacy and independence while still being part of a community. I would highly recommend the Royal on Gordon to anyone who is transitioning to retirement living. You will be treated the way you would expect to be treated in your own home - with dignity and respect.

Catherine Hale
28/06/2018

My mum has been a resident for several months now and her accommodations are very nice and we always enjoy a trip to the lovely garden. The staff are very kind and considerate and there always seems to be someone available with a smile and a helping hand!

Cherylee F
19/06/2018

My Aunt Moved in a year ago! She has been treated with respect and dignity. She enjoys the outings and the programs. The staff have been nothing but kind and compassionate!

Tim O'Brien
07/08/2017

My mother stayed for 5 nights at the Chartwell ROG while visiting in Guelph. I was so impressed by the cheerful, sincere welcome both I and my mother received from the people who arranged our stay, as well as the desk staff and housekeeping - my mom and I immediately felt like part of a family even though we were clearly there for a short stay only. I mentioned that my mom enjoyed tea, and a kettle and tea pot were there waiting for her at move-in. My mother lives in a different city and visits me in Guelph; not only will we stay at the Chartwell ROG every time she visits, but I wouldn't hesitate a moment if we were ever to consider ROG a permanent living arrangement. Thank you to all the staff we met who clearly enjoy their work and who were for my mother and myself, the best aspect of a very comfortable, attractive and happy living environment.

Dorima Lachapelle
04/08/2017

Royal on Gordon is a great place with extremely friendly staff!!

Frances Pierce
03/08/2017

I am very pleased with the service here at Chartwell. I am treated well and they are available when I need something.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Royal on Gordon Senior Townhomes

1691 Gordon Street, Guelph, Ontario N1L 1E1

Distance: 0.1 km

Chartwell Wellington Park Retirement Residence

181 Janefield Avenue, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1V2

Distance: 4.4 km

Chartwell Queen's Square Retirement Residence

10 Melville Street North, Cambridge, Ontario N1S 1H5

Distance: 18.8 km

Chartwell Terrace on the Square Retirement Residence

100 Caroline Street South, Waterloo, Ontario N2L 1X5

Distance: 26.9 km