We're Hiring! Click Here.

At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre nouveau programme « Vivre la transition ensemble » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

Chartwell Oxford Gardens Retirement Residence

423 Devonshire Avenue, Woodstock, Ontario N4S 0B2

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Pineapple to verify you are human. (Required)


The Redigonda Family
12/11/2021

Our Family would like to acknowledge the dedicated caregivers at Oxford Gardens. Jeff was instrumental in helping us to successfully transition Mom from her home of sixty years to her new homey apartment a couple of years ago. We have found all of the indoor spaces to be comfortable, the gardens lovely and the food delicious. No matter which staff member, who has contact with us or with Mom, we find them caring, professional and friendly. They keep an eye out for Mom and are very helpful to us when we have a need. Shirley and Chantelle have been especially so. When there has been a medical need the PSWs and nurses have caught it and addressed it or helped us to address the issue. When the pandemic hit, the staff went above and beyond to help keep us informed and to meet Mom's extra needs. We thank you all for your work, care and kindness.

Ron Kuiper
01/11/2021

We have just moved my father in to his wonderful spacious new pad. I cannot say enough about the friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Having this option as the next step in his journey of life is fabulous.

John and Agnes King
03/09/2021

About four years ago, John’s brother in Toronto, who had no children, became very ill and as a result had to give up his home. It was too far away for our daughters who were caring for him so he moved to Oxford Gardens and was given exceptional care by the staff. In March of this year, my husband, John, became ill. After a time in hospital and respite care, the home care which he had been receiving in our Hickson area, could not be continued because of lack of staff. Thus, we moved rather quickly to Oxford Gardens in May. And it has been the best move we could have made. We are enjoying it very much. We have a lovely suite on the main floor, room enough for so much of our furniture to make us feel comfortable, including our piano so that I can continue playing. We would also like to tell you how much we are enjoying the meals. There is such a good variety of nutritious food, well cooked, attractively served and very tasty. They are so good that I’m afraid we are both putting on weight! It is a good thing we have a little walk to the dining room to give us some exercise! During these three months we have come to know how much the staff and all the workers care about the residents here. John is able to get the extra medical care he needs. For example, just last week one morning at 4 a.m. his legs gave out and he was feeling different. The nurse and her assistant came immediately, did his vitals, then called the ambulance. The assistant stayed with us until the paramedics came, which we appreciated. At the hospital he was treated and returned to us at Oxford Gardens at noon, and has been fine since. They are still taking his blood pressure each day just as a precaution. He returned from hospital in the shuttle car which is provided by Oxford Gardens for residents needing medical, hair, and other appointments – a wonderful service when one’s family is not available. As Covid rules are being relaxed we are able to take part in activities starting up – like bingo, exercises, golf, choir, and church services, as well as bus outings into Woodstock and surrounding area. Agnes has been encouraged to entertain through the dinner hour playing familiar pieces on the piano, and now outside entertainers are being able to bring enjoyment to the residents again. I might add that we are looking forward to the return of the Ingersoll Pipe and Drum Band! We have been impressed here by the friendliness of our fellow residents. Many of them have been quick to wave and smile at us. If anyone of them needs help sitting down at the dinner table, there is often some resident ready to give that help. Staff members too are also quick to give extra help when needed. And when a resident has to be taken to hospital (as in John’s case), and when his brother died here about a month ago, we were so impressed with the concern and sympathy shown by our fellow residents and the staff. Our lives have been deeply enriched by this outgoing friendship to us, the new “kids on the block”. We feel very fortunate and blessed that we are able to be at Oxford Gardens and sincerely appreciate the many kindnesses extended to us.

Amanda Zylstra
02/09/2021

I have built quite the partnership with the staff and residents of Chartwell Oxford Gardens over the years, being the owner of Gardenia Salon and Spa (located on side of Chartwell ). The front desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly in assisting us (and residents) with their appointments. Kathy Deweerd is always popping in to keep us informed and included in upcoming events at Chartwell.

Rose Nesbitt
17/08/2021

We have been doing program with Kathy Deweerd entitled Fit Minds . There are seven in the group . It is a fantastic program and we have become friends over the telephone . Doing trivia exercise and story telling and talking about our life experience and views . Kathy has done a fantastic job and can hardly wait for next session to start . Sure Has helped in time of shut downs this last year . Thank you Chartwell gardens and Southgate centre . Thank you Kathy .

Wendy McCoy
16/07/2021

My parents moved into Oxford Gardens early in 2016 and mom passed away later that year but dad continued to live at Oxford Gardens for five years. The suite was lovely and they were able to make it home. As family I appreciated knowing that my parents were able to have everything they needed and that there were staff available when things didn't go well. I can't stress enough the reduction in my anxiety knowing that my parents were able to access help 24/7 and that I would be immediately informed should anything go awry. The staff were amazing! They should be commended for their friendly and helpful attitudes as well as the amount of care and vigilance they showed during the past two years of Covid. I knew that dad was as safe as he could be. Specific staff played an important role in dad's life. Bonnie was able to ensure that in the most stringent of lockdowns that he was able to get his chocolate bar fix. The front desk staff ensured any packages that were left for him were quickly delivered to his room. A particular thank you to Grace for her help in getting his birthday meal to him so quickly. Naming individual staff who made a difference is difficult as so many people worked diligently to ensure that dad's and all the other residents' needs were met. They had wine carts and other specialty times to help relieve the stress and boredom of lockdown and made sure that the residents were able to participate as much or as little as they pleased in a myriad of activities. I really think that the staff make all the difference and it was their caring that made life better for my parents and our family.

Elizabeth Lemon
20/04/2021

it has been over a year since I moved into Chartwell Oxford Gardens and it has become home to me. After my stroke it was obvious that I could no longer lived alone so my family checked out the various residences available in Woodstock and agreed with me that this was The Place to live. I have gained, not only a anew home, but a new family as well. The wonderful caring staff take a deep interest in all the residents and provide the best service possible. Throughout this trying COVID time they have kept everyone safe and happy as they rise to each new challenge as it comes and deal them in creative ways. Many thanks to everyone , staff and residents, for the care and concern shown and to my many new friends for their support and laughter. Together we are all part of the Chartwell Oxford Gardens Team.

Bonnie Cohoe
19/04/2021

Since the fall of 2020, South Gate Centre and Chartwell Oxford Gardens, have offered a phone in program, called Fit Minds. Kathy DeWeerd is the masterful organizer and host of the hour long chat time. For many of us, it was a highlight of the day as we connected with others on the party-line phone service. We started with a few riddles to warm up our brains, then good breathing and stretches. Then we tackled different quizzes, puzzles, math word problems, and map skills. Kathy would guide the discussion topics so that each person could share their perspective. It's a great program and helps seniors stay connected when apart...new friends are now familiar voices! Fit Minds is good for anyone aging!!! Thanks for all your efforts, Kathy! Bonnie Cohoe

Jane Blonde
22/02/2021

I am still living in my own home but have visited Oxford Gardens several times and participated in some activities. I have always been greeted with a warm smile and a very pleasant greeting. I would recommend Oxford Gardens very highly.

Tricia Wilkins
19/02/2021

Our family would like to commend the dedication to COVID pandemic restrictions that the staff have been diligent in adhering to. They have been so good to all the residents with the social isolation that is happening with this pandemic. The new manager, Brenda Smith, has been awesome at keeping the families of residents very well informed on a very regular basis. Greatly appreciated. Just an awesome retirement home.

Tricia Wilkins
19/02/2021

Our family would like to commend the dedication to COVID pandemic restrictions that the staff have been diligent in adhering to. They have been so good to all the residents with the social isolation that is happening with this pandemic. The new manager, Brenda Smith, has been awesome at keeping the families of residents very well informed on a very regular basis. Greatly appreciated. Just an awesome retirement home.

Richard Bird
18/12/2020

From the first call to Jeff Rikley the decision to move Lu into Oxford Gardens has been exceptional. So many questions were handled with compassion and empathy. We were also given a virtual tour of the Residence which really helped. Thanks Jeff, it was appreciated. As we walked into the Lobby with Lu some of the residents greeted us, making Lu feel part of the family as well. Such a pleasant environment and atmosphere to be a part of feels great. We feel very confident that Lu will be very well looked after and will become part of the family as well. Thanks everyone. Linda (daughter) and Mary & Richard Bird

Kelly Bullen
08/09/2020

Jeff and his team made it possible for us to move my mother in within 3 days of deciding this was the right place for her. He made all the necessary phone calls to get the ball rolling and although packing her up in a couple of days was tough, the actual moving day was seamless. She is settling in and I can rest easy knowing she is getting the care she needs. I can't say enough about how easy Jeff made this transition for all of us and would recommend Oxford Gardens for anyone ready to take that next step.

Lee Anne Abbott
24/07/2020

Jeff and his team at Oxford Garden could not have done more for me and my mother in law. They moved heaven and earth to make the move as seamless as possible. They thought of all the things I did not. Everyone there was top of their game. I felt great leaving her there. Thank you to everyone who helped out today.

Julie Rutherford
04/06/2020

I just wanted to give a much deserved shout out to Woodstock’s Oxford Gardens. My mom and dad are both residents at this location.We were provided excellent pre move in assistance getting all our questions answered to ensure mom and dad were confident and comfortable with this life change- even provided us with referrals for moving and downsizing assistance of their home of almost 60 years. This was no small task but all was handled amazing! Upon them moving into their suite in 2018 the staff continued to go above and beyond to ensure my parents safety and happiness making sure they were included in socials and special events to get them settled into their new home! Fast forward to 2020 .... words alone can’t properly express my gratitude to the staff of Oxford Gardens and the lengths they have gone to to keep all residents and staff safe during this Global Covid 19 Pandemic. The staff are dedicated to ensuring all residents are safe and engaged and properly socially distanced with in the location during these difficult times. Safety protocols were in place very early to ensure the health of both employees and residents. Bravo to the Chartwell Team!!! Thank you to each and every department from reception personnel , maintenance department, dietary staff, housekeeping staff, programming and activity co-ordinators , administration and health care professionals ..( I hope I got everyone) your care And dedication does not go un noticed and is much appreciated . Julie Rutherford - Grateful Daughter of Ralph and Aileen Cowell

Teresa Moulton
03/06/2020

Just had to give a positive review and shout-out on the great job Jeff Rikley and the team are doing at Oxford Gardens during this CoVid Pandemic!! We appreciate the excellent communication from management: updates/newsletters etc and forward them on to the rest of our family members. This definitely was not the transition we had anticipated when making the big move off the family farm for our 90 yr old father and his 95 yr old wife. As hard as this lockdown has been, as we see what has taken place in other senior residential facilities in our province, we are so very thankful of the protocol and high standards at the Gardens. We are also relieved that they are receiving excellent care and the morale seems very positive and encouraging to them there with so many creative and fun activities/themes to pass the time. We know they are in a safe and very friendly place. When we talk on the phone we hear of the kind, hospitable and caring staff. We also have a sense of what courage and compassion it must take from each of the team members to come to work and “do their job”.....though they do far more than that right now! They are our ambassadors when we can’t be there with our loved family members. From the clean, safe and bright environment, to the caring, creative team including management we have peace that this is where our parents are now residing. They have made new friendships and have daily motivation to keep them active, healthy and encouraged especially in these very challenging times. Thanks Oxford Gardens for your high standards and care of our folks. I can’t wait till we actually get to enjoy your facilities again when it opens to family and friends once again.

Susan Harrison
26/02/2020

When my mother moved into Oxford Gardens many years ago she was an extremely active senior. Several years ago her health & mobility declined drastically. Since then we have been very impressed with the Oxford Gardens staff and in particular the Wellness group that has provided services enabling our mother to live well and still enjoy this wonderful residence. Many, many thanks to Ann King and her team.

Peg Lowndes
07/02/2020

With a welcoming atmosphere, good food, and a variety of activities in which to participate, the transition to retirement living is being made so much easier through the kindly helpfulness of Jeff and the compassionate and happy staff team at Oxford Gardens. Many thanks.

Barbara Owen
07/02/2020

Sincere thanks to Jeff Rikley for his kind assistance in making the change from home life to retirement living a comfortable transition. Comfortable suites with caring, friendly and compassionate staff to look after residents. A monthly calendar offers many activities and entertainment choices. And excellent meals in the dining room. Merci!

Dennis Pritchard
22/11/2019

Staff are great,facilities excellent,food couldn't be better. Managers have cooperated totally with any financial issues. They have a on going list of entertainment/activities for residents.

Janice Kirwin
20/11/2019

As a Senior Move Manager I have had the pleasure of assisting new residents with the transition of moving from their homes of many years into a beautiful new suite. The retirement residence really feels like a warm community from the time you meet with Jeff Rikley their Sales Consultant who makes everyone feel so welcome. The building is kept immaculate and the suites are large and bright. When you walk by the dining room at meal times you hear lots of lively conversations and happy faces. I would highly recommend Chartwell Oxford Gardens to anyone who is looking for a retirement home for themselves or one of their loved ones.

Sally Bradley
25/09/2019

My Mom started residing in Oxford Gardens almost 3 years ago. She did this move under protest but her health was failing and she had mid-moderate dementia and was always forgetting lots of important things like when to take her medications. Right away I had the confidence in the Oxford Gardens staff. They always encouraged her and spoke to her when passing in the hallway. My Mom has now recently moved to a nursing home and even though she did not want to move from her home to Oxford Gardens in the first place, now she is sad she is leaving. She said it felt like home and she really liked it. I want to thank and congratulate the staff at Oxford Gardens for the detailed attention they gave to my Mom. They always took the time to give attention to detail and when we had concerns they would always take the time to explain the issue. I want to thank them for supporting me with the challenges I had with my Mom and her health. They were always there to ask how things were and always lend a helping hand or a ear to listen and offer support. For that I will always be grateful! Thank you to Chantel and her nursing/psw staff in the West wing... you guys are amazing and I will miss our talks and the laughs that we sometimes had. The care that you provide to the residents of Oxford Gardens is second to no one. Be very proud of the job you are doing. Thank you again from my Mom and myself.... you will never know how special your care was at this time in our lives. xo

Neil Ross
05/09/2019

Picture this. My mother lived in Ontario for 86 years when my step-father passed away. Mom decided to move from Ontario to be closer to me in Calgary. For 3 years, Calgary was her home. Then my circumstances changed and Mom had to decide to stay in Calgary or move to Woodstock to be closer to my sister. After making a tough decision to move back to Ontario at age 89, we now needed to find the right place for Mom to live. My sister recommended Oxford Gardens because of its many ameneties and because its beautiful gardens. I made several inquires. Jeff from Oxford Gardens provided all of the information we needed to confirm Oxford Gardens was the right place for Mom to make her new home. Jeff is incredible. Every issue or challenge we faced, Jeff showed a can do attitude to keep us moving forward so that we could make the transition from Calgary to Woodstock as smooth as possible. I cannot say enough positives about Jeff and the Oxford Garden staff. They are all professional and a pleasure to work with. Mom truly is in good hands which is a huge relief to me back in Calgary.

Scott Gould
04/07/2019

Oxford Gardens is home to many people I know and care for. They all report that their experience at Oxford Gardens has been very positive and they would not want to be anywhere else at this time of their lives. Staff are kind and courteous. Community involvement has been appreciated and the partners Oxford Gardens has established puts them above the others. Thanks to all you do for all the residents I care for they all feel at home with the help you provide.

Sharon Horton
30/01/2019

In November of 2018, I became concerned for my Family member's welling being because he had lost a substantial amount of weight over a very short period of time. Everyday activities began to become a bit of a challenge. I began to worry about things like him managing steps in his old unit and that he might fall with no one being there, Simple things like using the oven, getting out to buy groceries and getting the mail seemed more of a challenge than they used to be. Staff at Oxford Gardens made the transition to his new way of independence very easy. As a Family member, I am no longer worrying. Staff encourages everyone to get up, get dressed and have three healthy meals a day. I see a much healthier man (who was once a bit of a loaner) now sitting at a table and eating his meals with newfound friends. He once walked the trails outdoors but now he walks through the hallways. I don't have to worry about him getting lost in the woods somewhere. Staff address him by name. I just can't believe the difference in such a short time. Kudos to all of the staff at Chartwell Oxford Gardens. Seems like one big happy Family who genuinely care about everyone's well being. I would highly recommend Oxford Gardens.

Corine Ouellette
19/12/2017

I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I enjoy choosing my activities every day from the monthly calendar.If you are sick, staff are regularly checking on you and care for all your needs. Being here has helped me stay healthy and active while recognizing my health care concerns. This also helps my family not worry about me. I really enjoy our H.O.P.E program assisting others in the community through fundraising and helpful events. I love Oxford Gardens because I feel at home!! I love the craft programs, outings, shopping in and out of town and lunch outings!! I would highly recommend anyone to give it a try!! I did , and I love it!!

Gerd Emmerich
19/12/2017

After my wife's passing my son and daughter in law arranged my moving in to Oxford Gardens. Being married for almost 68 years I found it very difficult to function. In fact I don't know how I managed to go through the first few month. With the caring and so very helpful staff as well pleasant surroundings I could not have found a better place myself. The food is excellent and so are their people here So thank you Oxford Gardens and my son for finding this place, I could not have done better myself.

Joan & Joe Dufton
19/12/2017

We are 87 & 85 years old and have chosen Oxford Gardens because living at home in Bracebridge was a concern for our family. For them it was a great distance for family to visit and be available for emergencies. They were concerned about the maintenance of our home ,stairs, and isolation during the winter months. Driving in bad weather,meal preparation and getting to appointments were also a concern. Family currently nearby and found Oxford Gardens to be their choice. For us we have found our home to be the right choice and feel settled here. We enjoy the people, staff are pleasant, caring and very helpful. We enjoy the recreation opportunities, entertainment, and dinner outings!! This is our home and we feel safe!! We would highly recommend Oxford Gardens to family and friends! When comparing with our home finances in maintaining a home and staying here, we found Oxford Gardens to be financially viable and cost effective.

Colin and Barbara Cope
04/12/2017

We chose Oxford Gardens as our preferred retirement residence several years ago when we were on our township's Health and Wellness Committee. We just did not know how soon we would need it. Our sons were delighted with our choice and thanks to Jeff, we were able to move in when we needed to. He also provided us with helpful information for our transitional consultant who made our move very smooth. Chantal and Sara provide many activities to stimulate brain and body. The whole facility has great staff and we are so pleased to be here.

Joan Steinback
04/12/2017

The family festive luncheon meal was hot and tasty. The staff were very efficient and kind. The visit from Santa and the entertainment was lovely. The decorations were beautiful. Thanks for spoiling us!

sybil chandler
04/12/2017

I have a very comfortable life here and feel secure and safe - I am very happy that the staff are friendly , helpful and always ready to listen to our concerns.

Judith Chandler
17/05/2017

My mother, Sybil Chandler, has been living at your attractive, wellmaintained residence for several years now and she is very pleased with the services that you provide. However, there is presently one thing lacking. Mom would very much like to be able to contact her family members and friends by email but your computer has been out of order for several months. She has mentioned it to the people there but nothing has been done, so I told her I would contact you. Please let me know when it is back in working order. Thank you. Judith Chandler

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Anne Hathaway Retirement Residence

480 Downie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 7Y5

Distance: 30.0 km

Chartwell Westmount Retirement Residence

190 David Bergey Drive, Kitchener, Ontario N2E 0E7

Distance: 35.4 km

Chartwell Westmount Assisted Living

190 David Bergey Drive, Kitchener, Ontario N2E 0E7

Distance: 35.4 km

Chartwell Bankside Retirement Residence

71 Bankside Drive, Kitchener, Ontario N2N 3L1

Distance: 37.4 km