Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Harwood Retirement Residence

240 Old Harwood Avenue, Ajax, Ontario L1T 0N2

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Banana to verify you are human. (Required)


Rosalie Scarsella
15/07/2022

My parents entered Chartwell Harwood Retirement Home at the height of COVID in 2020 and have been residents there ever since. During the past 2 years of their residency, we have formed wonderful relationships with the home; management & their teams that work there. My father is the primary caregiver & takes great care of my mother who suffers from severe hearing loss, etc., so it takes special people to understand, show & have empathy when interacting with her & we have not been disappointed. My parents have been treated with the utmost respect & care, the team who works at this location are friendly, courteous, kind & caring...this is extremely important to our family. Over the past years of COVID, I have called many times to ask questions or make inquiries & the team has made me feel like I am the only person they are attending to in that moment when I know that they have multiple tasks they're attending with people standing in-front of them at the front desk, in the wellness center or at their office door. Management & their team members have always had an open door (phone) policy. I am personally very pleased with how Chartwell Harwood has dealt with, worked through & so far survived the pandemic. I am very happy with the team that we've had the pleasure of getting to know since my parents entered your facility & I'm also excited to welcome & continue building a relationship with the new management team & employees who have joined the Harwood location. It's very comforting when you know your family member(s) are in capable hands when you cannot be there all the time to care for them yourself. I live by the motto of...."You get what you give" and I do believe that as family members, we have a partnership with any home/facility our loved one's are residing in & I am happy with the way things are going at Chartwell Harwood Retirement Home. Kuddo's to every member of the Team!!

Cathy Nunno
15/07/2022

Ann Marie McCabe is an amazing Ambassador for Harwood place Senior Residence. She is so welcoming accommodating knowledgeable respectful and cheerful. She makes a potential resident feel at home from the moment that resident walks through the door and afterwards. She goes over and above to fit each residents' comfort level. Her cheerful personality contributes a happy mood to each day. We are so fortunate to have met her when my Mother In Law needed a suitable home as she no longer could manage her large home...Thank you Ann Marie...You are the best suited person to make the transition as easy as possible.

Cathy Nunno
15/07/2022

Ann Marie McCabe is an amazing Ambassador for Harwood place Senior Residence. She is so welcoming accommodating knowledgeable respectful and cheerful. She makes a potential resident feel at home from the moment that resident walks through the door and afterwards. She goes over and above to fit each residents' comfort level. Her cheerful personality contributes a happy mood to each day. We are so fortunate to have met her when my Mother In Law needed a suitable home as she no longer could manage her large home...Thank you Ann Marie...You are the best suited person to make the transition as easy as possible.

Cathy Watson
16/06/2022

Harwood Place is a delightful residence with kind & caring staff, it is extremely clean & bright, the apartments are a great design. The footprint is ideal everything is close at hand. There are lots of activities to enjoy as well as outing by bus.

Paula Sidon
16/06/2022

This was a very difficult transition for my parents, Ann Maria made the initial process very easy for them with her kind nature & her sense of humour. My parents became residences last November 2021. The entire staff at Harwood Place are very kind & caring & have made this experience more comfortable for my parents. They know everyone by name & make a fuss over ever resident.

Janina Staniszewski
12/11/2021

I remember mum and I being taken on a tour with Ann Marie who sat with us for a great length of time answering all of mum's questions as well as my own. We had a wonderful visit and a good laugh, so much so, mum chose her new home which was over 5 years ago when the building opened not long before. It was and continues to be a bright, cheery, well maintained residence and one of the more beautiful retirement homes that we had visited. Mum and I thank all of you at Chartwell Old Harwood for your dedication, concern, long days and nights keeping our loved ones safe, especially during this pandemic, you are all doing a bang up job. I am sure it has been a gruelling time for all but with hearts open and optimism at the forefront. Special thanks to Ann Marie, Linda, Malachy, Ava, Adrianna, Melanie, Kerry-Ann, Mary, Anya, Olivia, Health and Wellness Team and all others, such as cooks, servers, cleaners, maintenance crew, I hope we haven't missed anyone. WE THANK EACH AND EVERYONE OF YOU!!! Be healthy and safe, Janina and Christina.

Kristina Kovarik
05/11/2021

I am surprised to read one of the reviews below that states "Ann Marie was so patient with me and gave me 100%+ of her time and always answered my questions fully." I went on a tour of this residence for my mother for a possible respite/trial stay and all started out fine. Ann Marie was very friendly at first and very social and chatty with all the residents we passed during the tour. However, at the end we sat down and she asked me what more I needed. She had no printed materials or package for me as I'd received at all other retirement homes I've toured. When I pulled out my list of questions, she became visibly agitated, looking at her watch, out the window, and her responses became short and curt. Then she actually asked me WHY I'm asking all these questions!! She said she's never encountered anyone with so many questions! My response was that if I am paying over $4000/month, I would like to ensure that I know exactly what level of care my mother is getting. Never in all the 12 retirement homes that I've toured have I been told I'm asking too many questions. This was absolutely shocking to me! Ann Marie took my name and email and said she would send me a sample activities calendar and menu, and would get back to me on availability of respite suites. I guess she decided I'm not worth following up with because it's been a week and I haven't received any email from her. As far as the residence goes, it was built in 2016 but has quite a dated decor and dark feel, not bright and airy. The swimming pool was a big draw for my mom, but it is the size of an oversized bathtub and you might get in 3 strokes before having to turn around like a hamster in a wheel. The residents did all seem happy and were preparing for some fun Halloween festivities, so I'm sure those who live there like it. However, the way I was treated was very off-putting. I will definitely choose a different Chartwell property, where I have been treated with warmth and excellent customer service.

Gary Wells
25/07/2021

My father has been in Chartwell for just over 3 years now. The staff here are always friendly, helpful, and very obviously concerned for the welfare of the residents. Any request or questions that I have had are answered promptly and with swift results. As my father had been living on his own for a great number of years prior to this move, I was a little worried how he would adapt. No problem, it was most certainly the right move at the right time. Thank you Chartwell Harwood staff!

Joanne Pavlidis
24/02/2021

My parents moved into Chartwell Harwood in September of 2019. The transition of leaving their home, of 57 years, into retirement living was made easier by being welcomed by such a caring and thoughtful staff. The facility itself is wonderful with its lovely bistro, games room, outside gardens, exercise room, a wellness center (who assist with any medical concerns) and so much more. My dad loves his daily swim in the heated salt water pool. The staff have been extremely careful during the Covid19 Pandemic, they have done a remarkable job keeping all the residents safe during this challenging time. The best part is I know my parents are safe and they have a community around them that truly cares about their well-being . Lisa and the entire staff are wonderful, our family is grateful for their passion and dedication to the community of Chartwell Harwood.

Barb Foston
04/04/2019

I moved my Dad into this residence in November 2018 and I couldn't be happier with what has happened since. Dad has blossomed and fit in so well, I can't believe it. Before he moved in, he was staying in his condo not wanting to go anywhere or be around people. I was getting quite concerned about his eating habits and lack of interest in most things. Now he enjoys two full meals a day, plays euchre a few times a week and plays pool several times a week. He has enjoyed the benefit of visits from the Ajax library, shoe salesman, seamstress and hearing specialist. I have seen his anxiety go from very high to quite low. I am so grateful for the friendly and helpful staff and especially to the retirement consultant, Ann Marie. Ann Marie was so patient with me and gave me 100%+ of her time and always answered my questions fully. My Dad is in a 'place' I didn't think I'd ever see. He is doing so well, both physically and emotionally. We are very grateful to Chartwell and it's staff for making this a reality. With sincerest thanks, Dad's very grateful daughter.

Gordon Snee
14/11/2018

It is almost a year since i moved here and i am very satisfied with my rooms ,the staff is very nice and helpful.many things to do i am glad that i came here!!

Mary Wowk
09/09/2017

Beautifully designed retirement building which offers spacious suites. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My mother enjoys the wide variety of activities and events which Chartwell offers its Seniors. Mom attests to the quality of the meals.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Pickering City Centre Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Pickering City Centre Retirement Residence

1801 Valley Farm Road, Pickering, Ontario L1V 0A5

Distance: 5.2 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
289-631-1943 View Residence
Chartwell Colonial Retirement Residence

101 Manning Road, Whitby, Ontario L1N 9M2

Distance: 7.2 km

Chartwell Wynfield Assisted Living

431 Woodmount Drive, Oshawa, Ontario L1K 0P7

Distance: 15.3 km

Chartwell Wynfield Retirement Residence

431 Woodmount Drive, Oshawa, Ontario L1K 0P7

Distance: 15.3 km