Book a virtual or on-site tour. Move-Ins Now Accepted. New Infection Prevention Measures In Place for Enhanced Safety.
96% of residents felt their Chartwell Residence took important measures to keep them safe during COVID-19. "Listening to Serve You Better" 2020 survey results.

Find a residence

At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre programme « Bienvenue chez Chartwell » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

Chartwell Gibson Retirement Residence

1955 Steeles Avenue East, North York, Ontario M2H 3P1

    Reviews for this Residence - Overall Ratings - 5.0   (5.0)




Please select the Raspberries to verify you are human. (Required)


Pat DiBratto
5
17/01/2021

Our Mother has been a resident at Chartwell Gibson since August 2018. We were in a desperate situation, my Mother recovering from a hospital stay which required support and dealing with the loss of her husband of 60 years. My brother and I feel fortunate to have found this ideal residence. The team starting from our first point of contact Lisa, were understanding of our situation and offered options to accommodate our Mother's situation. The facility checked all the boxes for safety, cleanliness, support, independence, and a philosophy of respect and dignity for an aging resident population. Our Mother entered the residence on respite and the team worked with her and became her extended family. She made the independent decision to make Chartwell Gibson her home. The evidence of optimum care and positive environment is a testament to Lucy Capitao, General Manager whom not only executes the Chartwell corporate mandates with excellence, she takes a personal interest in the care of the residents and staff. This was most evident at the start of the pandemic. With her training as nurse she pre-empted government mandates and prepared for what was to unfold. As a family member we had many fears which were diminished daily by the safety protocols and care of our dear Mother during this challenging time. It was not the plan to have our Mother living in a retirement residence, but her health needs could no longer have her living in the family home and we exhausted all options. I can say that at 93 years old, our Mother is happy, healthy, enjoying her new home, is treated with respect, dignity and she feels loved. As a family we couldn't ask for more. Our gratitude to the Chartwell Gibson team.

Anne Lotz
5
10/01/2021

At this milestone of CoVid vaccines for residents, we want to express our deep appreciation to Lucy and her team for their early, decisive steps in protecting residents from CoVid infection and their months of continued diligence and discipline. Our parents moved into Chartwell Gibson Retirement Residence while still living an independent and active life. It was a decision their children came to value as our parents “aged in place,” and The Gibson Team provided insight, suggestions and support as we coped with the death of our father and the cognitive and physical decline of our mother. We are daily grateful for the high quality of care the Gibson gives its residents, especially the more vulnerable, and the peace of mind it gives us -- and never more so than during this pandemic.

Anne Lotz
5
21/05/2020

Our parents moved into Chartwell Gibson Retirement Residence while still independent and active. The Gibson team have been a real support during our father’s death and mother’s physical and mental decline. I have posted an earlier Google review in appreciation of the Gibson’s quality of care, but wanted to recognize its outstanding pandemic response now. The Gibson management team were way ahead of the curve in CoVid precautions -- in terms of early response and stringency (as compared to many other facilities, government etc): no visitors; no PSW staff that went to other locations; picking up staff to bring them to work if they didn’t have cars; strict decontamination procedures; etc. The General Manager and Health & Wellness Manager (both RNs) have taken on a great deal of extra nursing and personal care to ensure ongoing, safe services even including personal services like trimming nails. The whole team has pitched in to provide many ongoing activities, treats and activities to maintain resident morale. Communication to families has been frequent and detailed. Watching the daily news is a regular reminder that this level of resident care and family connection is not the norm. Thank goodness for Lucy, Donna and the entire team!

Paul & Barbara Epton
5
18/05/2020

Dad moved into Chartwell Gibson Retirement Home nearly four years ago after he encountered issues safely looking after himself in his condo apartment. Gibson Home is the perfect size…accommodating about 70 residents. Dad has a sizeable “bachelor” suite which includes a stand-up shower, bar fridge, sink and sunny alcove. The monthly rent includes three meals a day, afternoon tea, a 24- hour café, medication management, in-building weekly doctor visits, weekly bus trips to malls, drug stores & banks, and occasional countryside visits. All possible seasonal and personal holiday themes are celebrated in the spacious basement entertainment floor which has walkouts to the backyard complete with propane BBQs. During the night, nursing staff quietly visit each room to ensure that all is well. Christmas, Hallowe’en and summer BBQ celebrations are epic…while Remembrance Day is the time when Dad proudly gets to dress up in his uniform and participate in the morning ceremony. One of Dad’s greatest concerns as we evaluated different Retirement homes was the quality of meals. Dad loves his food! Gibson Home has not disappointed. In fact, we join him once a week for dinner. Excellent. Since the Covid-19 reached our country, Gibson Retirement Home has taken extraordinary steps to do their best to protect the residents. While we can no longer visit Dad, we can arrange a video connection. Gibson has opened a “tuck shop” to provide numerous incidentals. And theme gifts (flowers, food or snacks) are distributed on a weekly basis). Dad resisted the move to a Retirement home for years, but a series of accidents in his condo made him reluctantly agree to move out. Now his only complaint is that he should have moved sooner!

Agnes Sullivan
5
17/05/2020

It sometimes is hard to put into words your feelings, but I will try. The placement of my parents at Gibson was just pure luck in a time of desperation. One parent had been hospitalized for a serious condition which left my other parent needing home care. After a month of this I needed a more permanent residence in a hurry. We are never really ready to hand over our parents to another’s care, but sometimes there are no other choices. I started to go on the internet and look. I liked Gibson because it is in their home area and close to their outside connections. I phoned, talked with Lisa set up an appointment to meet her and a few members of staff . I noticed that the building inside was spotless and staff were smiling even though they were busy. Residents too were cheerful. After a meeting where they actually seemed concerned about my parents they moved in one at a time. My mother who needed more TLC because she was separated from her husband of 70 years was treated as a valued member of a family a worker always popping in to see how she was or just to talk to her. A few months later dad joined mom in a lovely, bright and spacious 1 bedroom apartment. A great deal of their own furniture was moved in and helped with the transition of a very independent 94 year old father. Finding it difficult to let go of some of his independence the staff realized that fact and helped when needed. Dad now knows he could not carry on as he did and thoroughly appreciates all that is there for him to make it a great place for both of them . From my position as an only child it took a huge. Burden off my shoulders enough that I felt confident leaving them for weeks to go on a much needed holiday. Nursing staff are particularly observant of their needs and about any physical ailments and contact you immediately. Now during the pandemic I feel the staff are like Guardian Angels taking my place and treating them with such respect, always trying to make their days more enjoyable during such horrific times.

Agnes Sullivan
5
17/05/2020

It sometimes is hard to put into words your feelings, but I will try. The placement of my parents at Gibson was just pure luck in a time of desperation. One parent had been hospitalized for a serious condition which left my other parent needing home care. After a month of this I needed a more permanent residence in a hurry. We are never really ready to hand over our parents to another’s care, but sometimes there are no other choices. I started to go on the internet and look. I liked Gibson because it is in their home area and close to their outside connections. I phoned, talked with Lisa set up an appointment to meet her and a few members of staff . I noticed that the building inside was spotless and staff were smiling even though they were busy. Residents too were cheerful. After a meeting where they actually seemed concerned about my parents they moved in one at a time. My mother who needed more TLC because she was separated from her husband of 70 years was treated as a valued member of a family a worker always popping in to see how she was or just to talk to her. A few months later dad joined mom in a lovely, bright and spacious 1 bedroom apartment. A great deal of their own furniture was moved in and helped with the transition of a very independent 94 year old father. Finding it difficult to let go of some of his independence the staff realized that fact and helped when needed. Dad now knows he could not carry on as he did and thoroughly appreciates all that is there for him to make it a great place for both of them . From my position as an only child it took a huge. Burden off my shoulders enough that I felt confident leaving them for weeks to go on a much needed holiday. Nursing staff are particularly observant of their needs and about any physical ailments and contact you immediately. Now during the pandemic I feel the staff are like Guardian Angels taking my place and treating them with such respect, always trying to make their days more enjoyable during such horrific times.

Agnes Sullivan
5
17/05/2020

It sometimes is hard to put into words your feelings, but I will try. The placement of my parents at Gibson was just pure luck in a time of desperation. One parent had been hospitalized for a serious condition which left my other parent needing home care. After a month of this I needed a more permanent residence in a hurry. We are never really ready to hand over our parents to another’s care, but sometimes there are no other choices. I started to go on the internet and look. I liked Gibson because it is in their home area and close to their outside connections. I phoned, talked with Lisa set up an appointment to meet her and a few members of staff . I noticed that the building inside was spotless and staff were smiling even though they were busy. Residents too were cheerful. After a meeting where they actually seemed concerned about my parents they moved in one at a time. My mother who needed more TLC because she was separated from her husband of 70 years was treated as a valued member of a family a worker always popping in to see how she was or just to talk to her. A few months later dad joined mom in a lovely, bright and spacious 1 bedroom apartment. A great deal of their own furniture was moved in and helped with the transition of a very independent 94 year old father. Finding it difficult to let go of some of his independence the staff realized that fact and helped when needed. Dad now knows he could not carry on as he did and thoroughly appreciates all that is there for him to make it a great place for both of them . From my position as an only child it took a huge. Burden off my shoulders enough that I felt confident leaving them for weeks to go on a much needed holiday. Nursing staff are particularly observant of their needs and about any physical ailments and contact you immediately. Now during the pandemic I feel the staff are like Guardian Angels taking my place and treating them with such respect, always trying to make their days more enjoyable during such horrific times.

Agnes Sullivan
5
17/05/2020

It sometimes is hard to put into words your feelings, but I will try. The placement of my parents at Gibson was just pure luck in a time of desperation. One parent had been hospitalized for a serious condition which left my other parent needing home care. After a month of this I needed a more permanent residence in a hurry. We are never really ready to hand over our parents to another’s care, but sometimes there are no other choices. I started to go on the internet and look. I liked Gibson because it is in their home area and close to their outside connections. I phoned, talked with Lisa set up an appointment to meet her and a few members of staff . I noticed that the building inside was spotless and staff were smiling even though they were busy. Residents too were cheerful. After a meeting where they actually seemed concerned about my parents they moved in one at a time. My mother who needed more TLC because she was separated from her husband of 70 years was treated as a valued member of a family a worker always popping in to see how she was or just to talk to her. A few months later dad joined mom in a lovely, bright and spacious 1 bedroom apartment. A great deal of their own furniture was moved in and helped with the transition of a very independent 94 year old father. Finding it difficult to let go of some of his independence the staff realized that fact and helped when needed. Dad now knows he could not carry on as he did and thoroughly appreciates all that is there for him to make it a great place for both of them . From my position as an only child it took a huge. Burden off my shoulders enough that I felt confident leaving them for weeks to go on a much needed holiday. Nursing staff are particularly observant of their needs and about any physical ailments and contact you immediately. Now during the pandemic I feel the staff are like Guardian Angels taking my place and treating them with such respect, always trying to make their days more enjoyable during such horrific times.

Agnes Sullivan
5
17/05/2020

It sometimes is hard to put into words your feelings, but I will try. The placement of my parents at Gibson was just pure luck in a time of desperation. One parent had been hospitalized for a serious condition which left my other parent needing home care. After a month of this I needed a more permanent residence in a hurry. We are never really ready to hand over our parents to another’s care, but sometimes there are no other choices. I started to go on the internet and look. I liked Gibson because it is in their home area and close to their outside connections. I phoned, talked with Lisa set up an appointment to meet her and a few members of staff . I noticed that the building inside was spotless and staff were smiling even though they were busy. Residents too were cheerful. After a meeting where they actually seemed concerned about my parents they moved in one at a time. My mother who needed more TLC because she was separated from her husband of 70 years was treated as a valued member of a family a worker always popping in to see how she was or just to talk to her. A few months later dad joined mom in a lovely, bright and spacious 1 bedroom apartment. A great deal of their own furniture was moved in and helped with the transition of a very independent 94 year old father. Finding it difficult to let go of some of his independence the staff realized that fact and helped when needed. Dad now knows he could not carry on as he did and thoroughly appreciates all that is there for him to make it a great place for both of them . From my position as an only child it took a huge. Burden off my shoulders enough that I felt confident leaving them for weeks to go on a much needed holiday. Nursing staff are particularly observant of their needs and about any physical ailments and contact you immediately. Now during the pandemic I feel the staff are like Guardian Angels taking my place and treating them with such respect, always trying to make their days more enjoyable during such horrific times.

Chrysler Felipe
5
26/02/2020

This retirement residence has been my home for almost 2-year stay in Canada. As an international student, it really feels comforting every time I am working here. Staff are very accommodating, genuine and they are making sure all the needs of the Residents are fully met. Seeing the smiles and laughters of our residents and their family made us more driven to go above and beyond in providing the best possible care and truly deserve the best quality of life. Personally, they’ve been seeing my professional growth and they keep pushing me to achieve what is best in me. Thank you so much! All the best!

Farah Talebi-Tadi
5
04/07/2019

Chartwell Gibson Retirement Residence is a excellent home for your loved one.I really liked their community and environment. All the managers and staff are so warm, welcoming and loving toward all residents and their family. I am very thrilled to work in Chartwell Gibson Retirement Residence.

Claudia Villa
5
26/06/2019

The management and the staff is amazing. And so proud to belong to this family. Gibson is a very good place for work. I really recommended.

Jane M
5
06/11/2018

My mother has been living at Gibson Retirement Residence for 7 years. The staff are wonderful! They always show kindness and compassion toward the residents. I feel confident that our mother is well cared for. The nursing staff are very competent and they have helped us through many "situations" over the last 7 years. It's a great residence and our family highly recommends it.

Sharon Samson
5
03/09/2018

We had visited from Winnipeg to see my 100 year old aunt. We just want to say that the care the staff give to the patients/people on the 3rd floor is unbelievable. They show they care and are doing a great job. Living so far away it is good to know my aunt is in good care. Thank you again to the staff on the 3rd floor and especially to Maria who helps my aunt and also to Katya.

Anthony G
5
14/08/2018

Donna and Lucy take pride in their management of their nursing and care staff, and it shows in the highest quality of care and attention they pay to every resident! Rest assured that your family or loved one will be surrounded by a team of dedicated nurses, and nurses assistants at all times!

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living at this residence?

647-547-1810

Not a valid phone number

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Constantia Retirement Residence
Chartwell Constantia Retirement Residence

784 Centre Street, Thornhill, Ontario L4J 9G7

Distance: 6.72 km

Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence
Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence

10 Senlac Road, Toronto, Ontario M2N 6P8

Distance: 6.75 km

Chartwell Valley Vista Retirement Residence
Chartwell Valley Vista Retirement Residence

600 Valley Vista Drive, Vaughan, Ontario L6A 4H2

Distance: 10.45 km

Chartwell Rouge Valley Retirement Residence
Chartwell Rouge Valley Retirement Residence

5958 16th Avenue, Markham, Ontario L3P 8N1

Distance: 12.49 km