Book a virtual or on-site tour. Move-Ins Now Accepted. New Infection Prevention Measures In Place for Enhanced Safety.
96% of residents felt their Chartwell Residence took important measures to keep them safe during COVID-19. "Listening to Serve You Better" 2020 survey results.

Find a residence

At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre programme « Bienvenue chez Chartwell » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

Chartwell Avondale Retirement Residence

1238 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4L 1C3

    Reviews for this Residence - Overall Ratings - 5.0   (5.0)




Please select the Grapes to verify you are human. (Required)


Laruie Thompson
5
11/02/2021

This past year has forced many of us to reevaluate what is best for our families. Prior to Covid our father was a busy 86 year old senior independently attending his church, participating in choir, attending the library for Wednesday afternoon movies and spending lots of time with family as friends. By the end of March 2020, all of his social circles were abruptly cut off and even family time was affected with masks and monitoring, and isolation. After months of trying to make his life fulfilling, engaging and stimulating we saw him sliding and we started to look at options to give him purpose and to bring more fulfillment again to his life. We learned about Avondale Chartwell Residence. Rebecca, Chrissy, Adriana and Mary were warm and inviting and provided a scenario for our father to be social and happy once again. He has been there for a month now and is so happy. They have strict protocols for safely but still find ways for the residents, including my father to enjoy interaction, activities, delicious meals and a community once again. Family is truly valued as well and two family members are able at this point to visit regularly. For now this ideal, however we do look forward to when the Covid situation allows us all to visit often. He definitely feels he made a great decision choosing to move to Avondale and enjoy each day fully.

N. C. Johnston
5
07/02/2021

My mother said yesterday, "I'm happy I moved here. She moved in late October 2020. The team at Chartwell made my mother's transition easier during the pandemic and the move has reduced her isolation. Living at Chartwell Avondale has made it easier for me to visit safely and given her daily contact with peers. She also now has the opportunity for health checks and regular doctor visits, exercise and activities meals adapted to her health needs, and interaction with a warm and attentive staff. Although activities have been more limited right now, I'm excited she's made a smooth transition and is thriving. My mother and I have high praise for everyone who works at Avondale, from cleaning staff to dining room servers and chefs and to health care workers, because they care.

Laura McConkey
5
24/07/2020

My mother moved into Chartwell Avondale in February 2020. She was reluctant to move out of her prior home of 40 years, but was in need of assisted living. Chrissy and the Avondale team were very welcoming, provided a tour and arranged a lunch for my Mom and some other residents. Out of the various options, Mom chose Avondale. Once the choice was made, Avondale continued to provide us with useful information, contacts and support to make the transition smooth. Not only was the transition surprisingly smooth, but my Mom was immediately happier and more energetic than she had been in some time. In March 2020 when Covid 19 came, Avondale took all reasonable safety precautions, kept family members well informed plus continued to find ways to keep residents stimulated and connected. I highly recommend Chartwell Avondale for safe and high-quality retirement living.

Caroline Piazza
5
26/05/2020

Chrissy, Rebeca, Mary and the team are amazing! If you are looking for a place that is the closest thing to home (with the added bonus of safety, care and love), this is it. I am so happy that my Dad went to Avondale in December 2019 and is there through the Covid-19 pandemic. I feel comfort in knowing that he is safe and cared for. And thank you Chrissy for arranging the Zoom calls with Dad!

Michael Chan
5
30/07/2019

My father recently moved into Chartwell Avondale, and our experience has extremely positive. The staff are friendly, warm, and accommodating. The residence is clean and comfortable. There is a very full activities program, as well as personal services, and a great menu. With a relatively small number of residents, I don't feel like my father has been lost in the crowd. It has been a very welcoming experience, which gives me and my family a lot of relief. It's also located in a great neighbourhood with lots of amenities. Highly recommended.

Michael Chan
5
30/07/2019

My father recently moved into Chartwell Avondale, and our experience has extremely positive. The staff are friendly, warm, and accommodating. The residence is clean and comfortable. There is a very full activities program, as well as personal services, and a great menu. With a relatively small number of residents, I don't feel like my father has been lost in the crowd. It has been a very welcoming experience, which gives me and my family a lot of relief. It's also located in a great neighbourhood with lots of amenities. Highly recommended.

Susan Vaughan
5
25/05/2019

Not just a place for mom, a great place for mom! I had a small crisis with mom at home and realized that her apartment had limited access if she needed care. Mom's health and safety has been my priority during her 30 years of retirement from teaching at Kew Beach School. I contacted Kim, with A Place For Mom, for support. I learned from Kim that it was important to find an assisted living residence for mom now, while we still had choices. Kim helped me to gain confidence in myself. Mom and I had some difficult talks, but she agreed to visit Avondale with my neice, Agnes. That's when mom met Chrissy, Avondale's retirement home director. My sister and I had visited the home earlier in the week and met Chrissy. They had lunch in the dining room, went on a tour, then viewed a suite that was available. Well, mom opened her heart to the idea and moved in a week later. That was our new beginning. We're all tired, but mom is thrilled with her new home with all it's services (and I mean services!). Mary has a brand new social life within the safety net of a very well managed and comfortable environment. To the staff, management and residents at Avondale, thank you. We've found a great place for mom! Susan Vaughan, Old Toronto

Erin Ferris
5
22/03/2019

We moved my parents into Chartwell Avondale in Leslieville a couple of weeks ago. My husband and I had a fantastic experience working with Chrissy Kelton, the Retirement Living Consultant. She never tired of all our visits and questions and put everything in place for my parents to have a truly positive living experience. We love the location and the brightness of the building. There room is great! Staff are excellent and accommodating. There are lots of daily activities and special events. This was to be a temporary move while my father recovers from a knee replacement operation but I believe they will miss everything they currently are experiencing. Within a few days my mom has started to eat three meals a day and they are both enjoying their dining hours with new friends. My parents have only wonderful things to say about the level of service and kind and friendly support. My mom is having her hair done weekly by an in-house hairdresser and my dad is excited about meeting all of the interesting residents. He is going to an art reception today put on by Chartwell to display his neighbor's paintings! Thank you Chrissy and all of the staff at Chartwell Avondale Leslieville!

JoAnn Bush
5
21/03/2019

My mother has just recently moved to Chartwell Avondale. When we were looking for a retirement residence, we were very drawn to Avondale. From the very first meeting, everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The facilities were plush in comparison to others in the neighbourhood and the activities were far more extensive. Both staff and other residents were welcoming and seemed genuinely interested in making my mother happy and comfortable. She is now living at Avondale and everyone continues to work to make her content. She is enjoying having her meals prepared for her, her suite cleaned and her laundry done!! Having people around to socialize with has also been a big bonus. Thanks to everyone at Avondale!

Chris Marcos
5
06/09/2017

After visiting my mother at the Chartwell Avondale Residence the other day I felt compelled to write this review. This spring my sisters and I had to make a very difficult decision about my elderly mother who will be turning 97 this March. She has been living in our family home for the past 61 years and she was having a hard time managing the stairs. She was feeling very much alone and lonely. I brought up the subject of a retirement residence to her and she cried for three days. She then said she would trust in my decision and said she would try it. After finally getting her moved in in June within the first week I noticed that her demeanour and sense of wellbeing was much happier. She has been there now for two and a half months and I am amazed at how well she had adjusted to her new home and how happy she is. I would like to thank Rebecca, the manager, and all the staff at Chartwell Avondale for being so kind and caring to my mother. Not only has it made my mother very happy, the relief that she is well looked after has taken a tremendous worry away from us.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living at this residence?

647-547-1812

Not a valid phone number

Nearby Residences

The Sumach by Chartwell
The Sumach by Chartwell

146 Sumach Street, Toronto, Ontario M5A 0P7

Distance: 2.50 km

Chartwell Grenadier Assisted Living
Chartwell Grenadier Assisted Living

2100 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6S 1M7

Distance: 11.37 km

Chartwell Grenadier Retirement Residence
Chartwell Grenadier Retirement Residence

2100 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6S 1M7

Distance: 11.43 km

Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence
Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence

10 Senlac Road, Toronto, Ontario M2N 6P8

Distance: 13.07 km