Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Avondale Retirement Residence

1238 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4L 1C3

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Strawberry to verify you are human. (Required)


S Hunt
30/05/2022

My husband moved into Avondale about two months ago. Moving during Covid was something I had been worried about, but Avondale provides the information for recommended movers, pre move checklists, as well as to do lists, which take a lot of stress out of the moving process. My husband is real foodie, who had cooked for most of his adult life until that was no longer possible. Whether or not the meals would live up to his high standards was a genuine concern. He loves it! He eats three hot meals a day, with a breakfast that he wakes up to get to. The beauty of the apartments is that every resident maintains their independence and dignity. The residents have control over their living environment; heating, cooling, lights and noise. We have also been able to get ongoing onsite PSW support from the local LIHN. So there is also continuity in the level of care from home to Avondale. For someone who finds routine to be a stabilizing force, the consistency of the schedule has been a big help. The staff are supportive and compassionate. The transition to Avondale has been a great success for our little family.

S Hunt
30/05/2022

My husband moved into Avondale about two months ago. Moving during Covid was something I had been worried about, but Avondale provides the information for recommended movers, pre move checklists, as well as to do lists, which take a lot of stress out of the moving process. My husband is real foodie, who had cooked for most of his adult life until that was no longer possible. Whether or not the meals would live up to his high standards was a genuine concern. He loves it! He eats three hot meals a day, with a breakfast that he wakes up to get to. The beauty of the apartments is that every resident maintains their independence and dignity. The residents have control over their living environment; heating, cooling, lights and noise. We have also been able to get ongoing onsite PSW support from the local LIHN. So there is also continuity in the level of care from home to Avondale. For someone who finds routine to be a stabilizing force, the consistency of the schedule has been a big help. The staff are supportive and compassionate. The transition to Avondale has been a great success for our little family.

Michal Calder
15/05/2021

Chartwell Avondale is attractive, well maintained and well located with convenient transit and businesses nearby. It is good value, and run with a positive environment for residents and staff. It has provided peace of mind and a safe haven at a challenging time for both our family members and society at large. We are reassured to know that there have been no COVID outbreaks there, and all residents were fully vaccinated before our mother moved in. Staff are professional, positive, cheerful and efficient, as well as knowledgeable, attentive, and understanding. The decision regarding a unit and the move in itself went very smoothly, thanks to the helpful staff not only making themselves available anytime for questions, but also anticipating many details. The whole transition process is well thought-out, with helpful documentation provided to the family. There is good communication and rapport among administrative staff, as well as between staff and residents and their circle of support. Our mother finds staff particularly friendly and helpful. They have a good attitude and will do extras for you and are fun to be with. The Kitchen is flexible and able to accommodate her special dietary needs, with wonderful serving staff and great food. She particularly loves the activity director and staff who clean her room. While living in her own suite, surrounded by her own furniture and things, she is happily gardening on a nearby deck. It is wonderful to know that she can continue to live as independently as possible in this supportive environment, and do so contentedly.

Laruie Thompson
11/02/2021

This past year has forced many of us to reevaluate what is best for our families. Prior to Covid our father was a busy 86 year old senior independently attending his church, participating in choir, attending the library for Wednesday afternoon movies and spending lots of time with family as friends. By the end of March 2020, all of his social circles were abruptly cut off and even family time was affected with masks and monitoring, and isolation. After months of trying to make his life fulfilling, engaging and stimulating we saw him sliding and we started to look at options to give him purpose and to bring more fulfillment again to his life. We learned about Avondale Chartwell Residence. Rebecca, Chrissy, Adriana and Mary were warm and inviting and provided a scenario for our father to be social and happy once again. He has been there for a month now and is so happy. They have strict protocols for safely but still find ways for the residents, including my father to enjoy interaction, activities, delicious meals and a community once again. Family is truly valued as well and two family members are able at this point to visit regularly. For now this ideal, however we do look forward to when the Covid situation allows us all to visit often. He definitely feels he made a great decision choosing to move to Avondale and enjoy each day fully.

N. C. Johnston
07/02/2021

My mother said yesterday, "I'm happy I moved here. She moved in late October 2020. The team at Chartwell made my mother's transition easier during the pandemic and the move has reduced her isolation. Living at Chartwell Avondale has made it easier for me to visit safely and given her daily contact with peers. She also now has the opportunity for health checks and regular doctor visits, exercise and activities meals adapted to her health needs, and interaction with a warm and attentive staff. Although activities have been more limited right now, I'm excited she's made a smooth transition and is thriving. My mother and I have high praise for everyone who works at Avondale, from cleaning staff to dining room servers and chefs and to health care workers, because they care.

Laura McConkey
24/07/2020

My mother moved into Chartwell Avondale in February 2020. She was reluctant to move out of her prior home of 40 years, but was in need of assisted living. Chrissy and the Avondale team were very welcoming, provided a tour and arranged a lunch for my Mom and some other residents. Out of the various options, Mom chose Avondale. Once the choice was made, Avondale continued to provide us with useful information, contacts and support to make the transition smooth. Not only was the transition surprisingly smooth, but my Mom was immediately happier and more energetic than she had been in some time. In March 2020 when Covid 19 came, Avondale took all reasonable safety precautions, kept family members well informed plus continued to find ways to keep residents stimulated and connected. I highly recommend Chartwell Avondale for safe and high-quality retirement living.

Caroline Piazza
26/05/2020

Chrissy, Rebeca, Mary and the team are amazing! If you are looking for a place that is the closest thing to home (with the added bonus of safety, care and love), this is it. I am so happy that my Dad went to Avondale in December 2019 and is there through the Covid-19 pandemic. I feel comfort in knowing that he is safe and cared for. And thank you Chrissy for arranging the Zoom calls with Dad!

Michael Chan
30/07/2019

My father recently moved into Chartwell Avondale, and our experience has extremely positive. The staff are friendly, warm, and accommodating. The residence is clean and comfortable. There is a very full activities program, as well as personal services, and a great menu. With a relatively small number of residents, I don't feel like my father has been lost in the crowd. It has been a very welcoming experience, which gives me and my family a lot of relief. It's also located in a great neighbourhood with lots of amenities. Highly recommended.

Michael Chan
30/07/2019

My father recently moved into Chartwell Avondale, and our experience has extremely positive. The staff are friendly, warm, and accommodating. The residence is clean and comfortable. There is a very full activities program, as well as personal services, and a great menu. With a relatively small number of residents, I don't feel like my father has been lost in the crowd. It has been a very welcoming experience, which gives me and my family a lot of relief. It's also located in a great neighbourhood with lots of amenities. Highly recommended.

Susan Vaughan
25/05/2019

Not just a place for mom, a great place for mom! I had a small crisis with mom at home and realized that her apartment had limited access if she needed care. Mom's health and safety has been my priority during her 30 years of retirement from teaching at Kew Beach School. I contacted Kim, with A Place For Mom, for support. I learned from Kim that it was important to find an assisted living residence for mom now, while we still had choices. Kim helped me to gain confidence in myself. Mom and I had some difficult talks, but she agreed to visit Avondale with my neice, Agnes. That's when mom met Chrissy, Avondale's retirement home director. My sister and I had visited the home earlier in the week and met Chrissy. They had lunch in the dining room, went on a tour, then viewed a suite that was available. Well, mom opened her heart to the idea and moved in a week later. That was our new beginning. We're all tired, but mom is thrilled with her new home with all it's services (and I mean services!). Mary has a brand new social life within the safety net of a very well managed and comfortable environment. To the staff, management and residents at Avondale, thank you. We've found a great place for mom! Susan Vaughan, Old Toronto

Erin Ferris
22/03/2019

We moved my parents into Chartwell Avondale in Leslieville a couple of weeks ago. My husband and I had a fantastic experience working with Chrissy Kelton, the Retirement Living Consultant. She never tired of all our visits and questions and put everything in place for my parents to have a truly positive living experience. We love the location and the brightness of the building. There room is great! Staff are excellent and accommodating. There are lots of daily activities and special events. This was to be a temporary move while my father recovers from a knee replacement operation but I believe they will miss everything they currently are experiencing. Within a few days my mom has started to eat three meals a day and they are both enjoying their dining hours with new friends. My parents have only wonderful things to say about the level of service and kind and friendly support. My mom is having her hair done weekly by an in-house hairdresser and my dad is excited about meeting all of the interesting residents. He is going to an art reception today put on by Chartwell to display his neighbor's paintings! Thank you Chrissy and all of the staff at Chartwell Avondale Leslieville!

JoAnn Bush
21/03/2019

My mother has just recently moved to Chartwell Avondale. When we were looking for a retirement residence, we were very drawn to Avondale. From the very first meeting, everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The facilities were plush in comparison to others in the neighbourhood and the activities were far more extensive. Both staff and other residents were welcoming and seemed genuinely interested in making my mother happy and comfortable. She is now living at Avondale and everyone continues to work to make her content. She is enjoying having her meals prepared for her, her suite cleaned and her laundry done!! Having people around to socialize with has also been a big bonus. Thanks to everyone at Avondale!

Chris Marcos
06/09/2017

After visiting my mother at the Chartwell Avondale Residence the other day I felt compelled to write this review. This spring my sisters and I had to make a very difficult decision about my elderly mother who will be turning 97 this March. She has been living in our family home for the past 61 years and she was having a hard time managing the stairs. She was feeling very much alone and lonely. I brought up the subject of a retirement residence to her and she cried for three days. She then said she would trust in my decision and said she would try it. After finally getting her moved in in June within the first week I noticed that her demeanour and sense of wellbeing was much happier. She has been there now for two and a half months and I am amazed at how well she had adjusted to her new home and how happy she is. I would like to thank Rebecca, the manager, and all the staff at Chartwell Avondale for being so kind and caring to my mother. Not only has it made my mother very happy, the relief that she is well looked after has taken a tremendous worry away from us.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

The Sumach by Chartwell

146 Sumach Street, Toronto, Ontario M5A 0P7

Distance: 2.5 km

Chartwell Grenadier Assisted Living

2100 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6S 1M7

Distance: 11.4 km

Chartwell Grenadier Retirement Residence

2100 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6S 1M7

Distance: 11.4 km

Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence

10 Senlac Road, Toronto, Ontario M2N 6P8

Distance: 13.1 km