Personal tours or virtual tours available. Book a Tour.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Thunder Bay Retirement Residence

770 Arundel Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 8C8

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Apple to verify you are human. (Required)


Kevin Johnson
18/07/2022

I just wanted to write a quick note of thanks to the staff and management team at Chartwell Thunder Bay on Arundel. Everything went very well with the move and all individuals from the Chartwell team ensured the process was smooth and seamless. My Mother has been at Chartwell for almost three weeks and all Chartwell employees on site have been exceptional in the services they have provided and in making her and her family feel welcomed to the Chartwell home. There had been a couple setbacks from a health perspective over the last week with my Mother and the team at Chartwell was very supportive and assisted in many ways to ensure my Mother was taken care of with check ins, meal delivery and accepting of nursing supplies and medication which needed to be brought up to her suite. I am very appreciative of all the assistance and support provided. Please pass my thanks and my Mother’s thanks to the entire Chartwell team. It is evident the team at Chartwell enjoys what they do and have great leadership. Regards, The Johnson Family

Barry Brooks
11/05/2021

My in-laws moved in 7 1/2 years ago. My parents moved in 5 years ago. The service has been great and their needs been met or exceeded. Chartwell staff and mangement have worked hard to accommate the changing needs of my family memebers to ensure that they stay save and comfortable. The staff has remained professional, postive and cheerfull even when my dad has been a handfull.

Carol Pilley
19/04/2021

When selecting the perfect place for my parents Rudy and Nikki, no doubt Chartwell was the best choice for them in accomodating all their needs. Staff and Management have become family to them always willing and able to make their lives comfortable and much easier to help with the aging process. An open dialogue is a must for family members and the residents. We all are totally satisfied with our choice. Mom and Dad love it there.

Donalda Contardo
01/04/2021

WE are so happy to have our sister there ; the staff and management are wonderful . Susan answers all our questions and concerns , we feel this is the perfect place for our sister . The property is beautiful and the food is fantastic .

Donalda Contardo
01/04/2021

WE are so happy to have our sister there ; the staff and management are wonderful . Susan answers all our questions and concerns , we feel this is the perfect place for our sister . The property is beautiful and the food is fantastic .

Dave Funk
01/04/2021

The staff know my father's very well and always communicate back to me in a timely fashion about his condition. Staff are ALWAYS friendly, eager to help and above all, knowledgable about my father's medications, physical and personal care needs.

Dave Funk
01/04/2021

The staff know my father's very well and always communicate back to me in a timely fashion about his condition. Staff are ALWAYS friendly, eager to help and above all, knowledgable about my father's medications, physical and personal care needs.

Susan Rodgers
01/04/2021

A couple of years ago my Mother moved to Thunder Bay into Chartwell. She immediately felt welcomed and made many new friends. The staff have been so kind and caring. She enjoys many of the activities that Chartwell offered. From her window she can enjoy watching the deer, birds, and the snow laden everygreens. We appreciate the attention that Chartwell has given to making her home a safe one during this Covid pandemic.

Olga YOZIPOVIC
26/03/2021

TO WAKE UP TO THE SOUND OF SINGING BIRDS, THE RUSTLING OF THE LEAVES, THE BRIGHTNESS OF THE SUN GLISTING ON THE TREES AFTER A GENTLE RAIN, THE DAILY WALKS AROUND THE WELL KEPT WALKWAY, THE FAMILY OF DEER MUNCHING ON FRESH GRASS THE FRIENDLY STAFF WHO HAVE GUIDED AND SERVED US WELL THROUGHOUT COVID 19, THE NEW FRIENDSHIPS WE HAVE MADE ARE ALL THE REASONS I AM SO BLESSED TO HAVE CHOSEN CHARTWELL FOR MY NEW HOME.

Karlyn Ann Maguire-Stein
25/03/2021

My poppy moved in February 1st, 2021. I've seen such a nice change in him. He wasn't getting out much before but is now calling me everyday telling me how he plays pool, and shuffle board with his new friends. He love the food , and enjoys the wildlife that walks through the yard.

Dale Gaudry
25/03/2021

My father in law recently moved in and really enjoys the view from his room. He is eagerly awaiting warmer weather so he can tour the property. The food has been excellent and the staff very helpful and accommodating. Due to COVID there are very limited activities but surprising to use he seems to be excited to get involved. Thank you Chartwell Thunder Bay. Keep up the great work

Jean Engholm
25/03/2021

Chartwell has been my home for nearly six years. It was a good move at the right time. Though visually impaired it has enabled me to remain independent yet have support if I need it. The obvious existence of caring relationship both between residents and with the staff was what most impressed me.

Don Strey
24/03/2021

I have my best friend staying at Chartwell Thunder Bay., and he is so happy that he can remain independent with services if needed. The home is beautiful with excellent staff that that really care.

Caroline Mclean
24/03/2021

I am an outside worker that comes in here everyday they have awesome staff that care about their residents

Ron Contardo
23/03/2021

My sister in law has been at Thunder Bay Chartwell for two years and hasn’t regretted moving in. The care is exceptional and the services offered makes it a comfortable home. I would definitely would recommend this a place to live.

Thomas Parkin
23/03/2021

My grandmother stays at Chartwell Thunder Bay and receives the best care, we are very happy to know that she’s well taken care of. The workers at Chartwell are very friendly and approachable.

Barry Leochko
28/02/2020

We have been working in the Chartwell residences providing mechanical services for many years. The staff are always very pleasant and helpful, and you can see they have a great rapport with the residents. The level of care provided is impressive. The buildings are always well maintained and clean.

Adam Cianfagna
21/02/2020

From years of experience working with the staff of Chartwell in Thunder Bay, I continually become more impressed with the care given to every detail when it comes to their residents overall experience. From the social events, the cuisine, and the genuine caring staff, Chartwell locations in Thunder Bay set the bar when it comes to retirement living. Keep up the great work.

Erik Stefanowski
20/02/2020

Over many years of visiting the place in business I noticed special care and attention being paid to well being of clients. Especially taking care of cleanliness and comfort of residents. High level of professionalism and compassion make it very good place to be in safe and warm environment. Erik

Patricia Haverluck
25/10/2019

Highly recommended for senior retirement or assistant senior retirement. All staff is so helpful and friendly, always smiling, always know your name. Very appreciated and grateful for their dedication. Their kindness and compassion towards seniors needed assistance is shown on a daily basis. The gardens and lawns ha I bet a Chartwell on Arundel in an amazing place for seniors retirement and assistances senior retirement. The staff is amazing....showing kindness and compassion to seniors needing different levels of care. Love the gardens and the flowers that make the walking trail fun to walk. The front entrance and inside are always decorated beautifully making all feel welcome. Lots of activities to suit anyone... Lots of deer to look at while dining or out for a walk. It takes an amazing and dedicated staff to make a ‘home’. Thank you👏

Margaret Stewart
07/09/2017

A broken hip hastened my admission by 2 years and I was heartbroken. In 4 months it became home....I'm so happy here;so safe and SO well cared for....who ever does the hiring is gifted...long term and new this staff an't be surpassed ifeel liked and cared for. I love it here even though the chef dropped my favourite taco salad from the menu 😂Just joking as every staff member I know is kind and accommodating

Gail McCormack
30/08/2017

I had a wonderful time doing my final placement at Chartwell Thunder Bay. The staff at Chartwell Thunder Bay Retirement Residence are all very caring towards the residents. The staff always welcomes input from the residents themselves, their family members and visitors within the community regarding any concerns or suggestions that any of them may have in order to improve or solve problems. The staff are dedicated workers and deserve recognition. Keep up the wonderful work! You are all doing great.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Hilldale Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Hilldale Retirement Residence

309 Hilldale Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7G 0A2

Distance: 3.9 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
807-700-5773 View Residence
Chartwell Glacier Ridge Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Glacier Ridge Retirement Residence

1261 Jasper Drive, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 6Z4

Distance: 6.3 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
807-473-0526 View Residence
Chartwell Isabella Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Isabella Retirement Residence

1350 Isabella Street East, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 0A5

Distance: 10.3 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
807-333-0381 View Residence
Chartwell Collegiate Heights Retirement Residence

95 Fauquier Avenue, Sault Ste.Marie, Ontario P6B 0A2

Distance: 425.9 km