Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Isabella Retirement Residence

1350 Isabella Street East, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 0A5

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Banana to verify you are human. (Required)


Jack Nelson
26/04/2022

I have been fortunate enough to be invited to entertain at Isabella on quite a regular basis. The positive attitude from all the staff is obvious from the moment a person enters the building. It seems that going out of their way, for each and every resident, is just their normal everyday approach. It's great to see such a positive atmosphere.

JIM CROOKS
24/01/2022

My mother resided at Chartwell Isabella (Isabella) for almost 8 years. I vividly recall her decision on which retirement home to live in, it was quick and unambiguous. She liked the building, the suite, the neighbourhood and most importantly the staff. The staff are the heartbeat of Chartwell Isabela. Their warmth, respect, compassion and good nature is deeply embedded. Whether it is a warm summer afternoon or a cold “Covid” winter morning, these folks go about their work as true professionals. The move to Chartwell Isabella was a positive experience for my mother. Our family highly recommends Chartwell Isabella for a person looking for retirement living in Thunder Bay.

Nora Harris
14/01/2022

My Dad has been living at Chartwell for about 2 months now and I have started to sleep better. I now know that he is safe. I don't have to worry about him cooking or forgetting to lock the door. He now has a lovely apartment with security and a walk in shower. The staff are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The chef' John has makes sure everyone has a wide variety of wonderful food. He takes the time to get to know what people like and make them comfortable. Amy took the time to show us a variety of apartments so that we could pick one that was perfect for Dad. Chartwell also provides entertainment and outings to keep residents active. They also have provided covid shots and flu shots. Overall our experience has been quite impressive.

Jim HAMPTON
08/11/2021

My Mother moved into Isabella approximately 1 month ago, and couldn't be happier! The staff is amazing! She instantly felt at home and her overall health and well being has greatly improved already! Isabella Chartwell is an extremely well run facility and highly recommended!

Marilyn Merkley
21/05/2021

My parents were both in Chartwell Isabella for 3 yrs. My mother passed away last summer and the staff went over and above to make sure both of their needs were met. They were very caring and supportive through very difficult times especially with Covid. The communication with our family has always been very positive. It’s comforting to know that my father continues to have caring staff around him. He has also formed friendships with fellow residents. He’s attending exercise class, playing pool and shuffleboard under covid restrictions off course! Special thanks to Kaisa for her nursing expertIse with both my parents! A great team there.

Brenda Kainula
29/03/2021

The feeling of home! Truly caring about the needs of each resident. Love the day to day vibe and team work ethic.

Paula Paleczny
25/03/2021

I’m very happy to say that Chartwell Isabella has been a super choice for my mother. I have found, during this journey thru dementia that it can be very hard to keep residents happy. The staff at Chartwell make it seem so easy!! Their empathy & understanding of the aging process show in their approach to residents —& their family as well! I feel very comfortable that my mother’s best interests are being watched out for by kind & caring people. I just found out today that Faith will be leaving Isabella due to a family move—her gentle approach will be greatly missed by residents & family alike. I wish her & her family all the Best!

Paula Paleczny
25/03/2021

I’m very happy to say that Chartwell Isabella has been a super choice for my mother. I have found, during this journey thru dementia that it can be very hard to keep residents happy. The staff at Chartwell make it seem so easy!! Their empathy & understanding of the aging process show in their approach to residents —& their family as well! I feel very comfortable that my mother’s best interests are being watched out for by kind & caring people. I just found out today that Faith will be leaving Isabella due to a family move—her gentle approach will be greatly missed by residents & family alike. I wish her & her family all the Best!

Dorothy Smith
17/02/2021

The staff are wonderful! I have never been waited on hand and foot like this before. All of my kids are happy I am here! Nothing for them to worry about, the staff take care of everything.

EDITH BLACK
15/11/2020

On behalf of our mother we would like to thank ALL THE STAFF at Chartwell Isabella for the 2 1/2 years that our mother lived there. From Administration to Front line staff we could not have asked for more incredible people. Her total care (as well as family) was treated with compassion, respect, patience and love. She experienced a very full and enjoyable life. All amenities are first class food, entertainment, health care and safety. Unfortunately her needs have increased and she needs to move on to LTC. We are thankful that she had this experience at 96 years of age. Chartwell Isabella is definitely a 5 STAR PLUS.

Marie Baldi
29/10/2020

Love this place My mom is so happy here and the staff take amazing care of her. They go way above and beyond to make the residence’s day eventful. If I have a question or concern they are quick to respond and answer. Best Retirement Home And the most amazing Staff EVER 😀

Gessie Dwight
20/07/2020

My mom was admitted from hospital 6 days ago into quarantine . She has had numerous adaptive challenges and staff have been nothing short of exemplary..Kc ensured a smooth transition & all I’ve met or talked to this week are very caring and sensitive to moms needs including Chef John, Faith, Charity , Michelle, Lori so far. All competent professionals🙏

Norma Everett
08/03/2020

I stayed here for respite care for 2 months. It was a very welcoming place. They dealt with all my concerns. The food was excellent. I have no complaints. Highly recommend.

Marie Baldi
04/03/2020

My mother has been in Chartwell for four years and her memory is starting to fade the compassion and assistance that Chartwell Isabella is giving is amazing. This is allowing my mom to stay longer independent living and if she was anywhere else the staff is always respectful and helpful and I couldn’t ask for better people to take care of my mom

Sandy Thomas
27/02/2020

My in laws moved into Isabella in June. They have had more falls and ambulance rides then they have ever had. The staff is amazing. It's always stressful dealing with these situations and they are always great on the phone and in person. You can tell this is not just a job for them they are working in peoples homes. They are always welcoming and when we get home from a hospital visit Cory has been waiting at the door with their walker. We talk to any staff member and you can tell they are passionate about their job. I would 100% recommend that if you thinking about moving there you will NOT be disappointed.

Janice McLean
20/01/2020

When we walk through the door at Chartwell facilities, we see smiles. Whether it is residents or staff, everyone is having fun. We see the staff as being helpful, attentive and friendly. There are several activities throughout each day as well as interesting outings that are posted for everyone to see. Always a warm and positive atmosphere.

Diane Salatino
10/01/2020

This facility has been home for my parents for over 5 years. We were a little bit apprehensive with how they would adapt to the move, but it has been the best decision for them. They were openly welcomed and have enjoyed the social setting immensely. As they are aging, and they require more attention, the staff have been absolutely amazing and caring, and responsive to any and all needs and questions. Kaisa and her staff are so wonderful, I never doubt that my parents are in great hands. I live quite far away from Thunder Bay, so most communication has to be over the phone, but the staff are always very responsive to me, which is very appreciated. I have so much peace of mind having them at Isabella.

Florence Timbres
01/12/2019

The staff here have been so wonderful to my mom. It is amazing that so many of the staff, almost ALL of them, are so caring and just plain wonderful. If I had any qualms about the move, although I didn’t, the staff have made my mom feel so welcomed and happy. Thank you!

Kenneth Johnson
02/07/2019

I am a resident of Chartwell Isabella and have lived here since Dec.2015. I do not hesitate to assure anyone who contemplates moving to Isabella that they will find a place with friendly,caring staff and a new group of friends in the residents. All your needs will be taken care of here. Please request a tour if you or your loved ones are potential residents.

Deryle Bond
24/06/2019

Our family can't say enough wonderful things about Chartwell Isabella. My mother Edith Black moved into Isabella a year ago and the employees and staff have gone above and beyond in every area . We could not have asked for more. Our mother's health has improved since she moved in and is very active in all their activities. Thank you so much for giving our mother a fulfilled and happy life and relieving the family of all the stress that we all were experiencing (including Mum).

Greg Holm
27/09/2017

My father, Carl Holm moved into Isabella five years ago. At the time, he moved in with my mom, but she passed away two and a half years ago. My dad is 95 years old and his care requirements have increased in recent years. He moved into long term care yesterday, and it was a sad day for him as well as the staff & residents of the Isabella facility when he left. The level of care that my dad received from the staff at Isabella was exemplary, and I know that he was a valued member of the community there. It was our hope that my dad could stay at Isabella until his passing, but the level of care that he now requires had gone beyond what would normally be expected from an independent living facility, so we were forced by these circumstances to make this move. I have expressed the appreciation of my dad and my family to the staff of Isabella for the excellent care that they have provided for the past five years and for the love that they openly showed for my father. I have recommended this facility to various friends over the years when they were contemplating moving their parents into this home. I am happy to give this facility and your staff the highest possible recommendation. I give you authorization to use my comments in your sales literature and will happily recommend Chartwell in the future. Best regards, Greg Holm Thunder Bay, ON

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Glacier Ridge Retirement Residence

1261 Jasper Drive, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 6Z4

Distance: 4.5 km

Chartwell Hilldale Retirement Residence

309 Hilldale Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7G 0A2

Distance: 9.4 km

Chartwell Thunder Bay Retirement Residence

770 Arundel Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 8C8

Distance: 10.3 km

Chartwell Thunder Bay Senior Townhomes

770 Arundel Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 8C8

Distance: 10.4 km