Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Hilldale Retirement Residence

309 Hilldale Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7G 0A2

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Raspberries to verify you are human. (Required)


Dawn Thurier
24/05/2022

We were so thankful that Hilldale had an apartment available for my sister when needed. She spent 8 months in a beautiful large apartment and was so well taken care of! The staff really went out of their way to be sure everyone is safe and well looked after! We have nothing but great things to say about her living at Chartwell, thank you for taking care of.our sister !

Tuulikki Tennant
15/05/2021

My mother has recently made a move to long term care and I wanted to commend the staff at Chartwell-Hilldale for the care they have provided to her while she lived there for 2 1/2 years. It will always be appreciated. I do want to mention Rena Maxwell in particular. Rena’s is the kind and friendly face, warm and compassionate manner and strength of support and character that I will always associate with Chartwell-Hilldale. Rena went above and beyond to ensure that my mother was welcomed with warmth, genuine friendliness and kindness when she moved into Chartwell-Hilldale in October 2018. She ensured that as family members we were included in my mother’s transition to her new living situation. Additionally Rena's kindness and compassion were very much appreciated during my mother's medical crisis. Thank you so very much.

Tuulikki Tennant
28/03/2021

As an out-of-province family member I am very grateful for the regular and excellent communication and up-dates regarding covid and special activities. I am also particularly grateful for Rena's kindness and warmth and for the introduction of video chats. I have been able to have regular face-to-face contact with my mother which is so reassuring in these challenging times.

Jane Stoneypoint
11/11/2020

I work with several clients of Chartwell Hilldale as a PSW with an outside health care agency. Over my time in this building I can say that the staff are an amazing bunch of people. My clients always tell me how friendly and caring the staff are towards them. Chartwell Hilldale is a small facility but has a warm family feeling to it. I've also witnessed some good friendships formed between residents which makes this a very special place to live.

George Saarinen
13/08/2020

I have nothing but praise for the awesome staff at Chartwell Hilldale My Uncle moved in to the residence in January of this year. I hear from my Uncle at least once a week how happy he is to be in this place It was the right move at the right time Being of Finnish decent my Uncle talks Finnish each and every day and when he came in he knew some co-workers from his laborers union My Uncle likes it so much he has no convinced my Dad to move in from Geraldton to Chartwell Hilldale here in Thunder Bay. I will have two family members residing at Hilldale shortly and I can say all the staff have gone over and above the call of duty in making my Uncle feel at home With the COVIS-19 Management has kept the families updated on a daily basis. I know that my Uncle and soon to be my Dad are in a loving caring assisted living centre where they feel welcome and appreciated. Once again all of the staff do make a difference and I would highly recommend this facility to anyone I know. I feel great in knowing my Uncle and Dad will be cared for each and every day

Lee B
27/04/2020

I would like to express my appreciation to the hard working staff at Hilldale -Chartwell. My mom lives there and I feel she is very safe and the staff does their best to keep the residents entertained under these most difficult times. A big thank you to all the staff.

Anne Roisin
11/02/2020

Everyone is so caring that I'm inspired to work here as well. The respect is evident in the way that the residents all praise the staff. The staff are so kind and considerate to the residents, as well. It is just such a positive living space. After a two week trial, both my family member who was signing up and I were very comfortable with the level of care that was being and will be provided in the future.

Lorna Simpson
27/11/2019

Mom and Dad have been in Chartwell Hilldale for 2 years now and we are all very happy with the experience. As others have said, the staff are absolutely wonderful. They are all so caring and helpful to my parents. I live about 40 km away and can be confident that they are well taken care of at this residence. Mom's geriatrician told us that seniors do much better in these residences because of proper nutrition and social interaction. I have found this to be true. My father has found some Bridge partners and is enjoying playing again after many years. Also he never misses the exercise classes! The residence itself is very clean, well maintained and bright and cheerful.

Sandra Lanoix
29/10/2019

My mother and father moved in together in 2012 and absolutely loved their new home. They even wondered why they hadn’t moved there sooner! After the passing of my father my mother left to live with me but within the same year she asked to move back. With all the great activities and events and friends all around she found she missed everyone there. She had gotten so comfortable with staff and residents. Our family also grew very close to the staff and residents and Hilldale just felt like home. Mom enjoyed her stay at Hilldale and I can highly recommend Hilldale to you and your loved ones. They will be in a great home away from home! ☀️

Erin Webb
08/10/2019

Hilldale is a fantastic choice for you or your loved ones. They offer nutritious meals, Daily activities, Excercise programs and so much more. The staff are friendly and knowledgable and will always go the extra mile to make sure your needs are met. I highly recommend you come and take a tour :-)

Annikki Suokko
26/08/2019

Mom is very happy at her new home at Chartwell Hilldale. She said it is like a family here. The staff are all very friendly and the food is good. She is very blessed to have her Lutheran Church nearby so she can just walk over on Sunday morning. Mom has always been very sociable and active so she enjoys participating in the activities that Chartwell provides. Mom is very independant as she has lived in her own condo for many years. The transition to Chartwell to her new home has not been too difficult as she has found new friends.

Dorothy D.
22/08/2019

Chartwell Hilldale is a wonderful place for my Mom to reside. She chose it for it's comfort and the location that brings the country into the city. The friendly and caring staff have helped her to transition from her home in the country to her new home at Hilldale. She always says she has nothing to complain about. The food is always good and varied which is an important component for my Mom. There is a variety of things to do and services that come in that Mom can choose from if she wishes. Thank you HIlldale staff for bringing comfort and laughter back to my Mom's life. No more worries!

Larry Koss
15/08/2019

It is never easy for someone to leave their home. Chartwell Hilldale has made this transition a lot easier for our Mom. The staff is fantastic. They pride themselves in ensuring that this is not only a good place to live but a "Great Place to Live". As a family member we feel this every time we visit and it is reassuring to know that Mom is safe and happy with her decision.

Doug Heath
08/08/2019

My mom's quality of life has improved significantly since residing here. She has reconnected to activities and entertainment she used to enjoy, benefiting from the social aspect, nutritious meals and regular medications, and the safe and secure environment. Staff and LHIN services have also been most helpful in my mom's highly successful transition from home.

Micheala Peru
05/08/2019

Fantastic location. Very clean building and friendly staff. A variety of activities for seniors. Close to bus routes. Overall 5/5 stars very impressed!

Carol Makila
05/08/2019

Very beautiful building, friendly staff and great service. The food is fabulous and would recommended living here to family and friends

Jenna Collins
05/08/2019

Beautiful Home. Wonderful staff & great food. We feel very welcome here and would highly recommend!

PERRY STACKHOUSE
10/07/2019

So happy for mom that she has been able to find a new home and make many new friends. I’m glad she chose Chartwell HILLDALE. The staff are amazing and treat mom just like family. The building is clean and well maintained. Thumbs up !

Trudy Silver
26/06/2019

Very happy with the Hilldale residence, beautiful inside and out, staff feel like family to residents. Wonderful choice for retirement living!

Mary lee mehagan
26/06/2019

I would promote Hillsdale as it is the most friendliest place and has great looking meals. staff are quite efficient kind and always willing to go that extra mile to make everyone comfortable at feeling like home. I do frequent many others established assisted living homes and by far...hilldale is my favorite.

Lyndsay Desimone
21/06/2019

The staff at this home are very friendly and always go above and beyond for the residents and their families. The home is warm and inviting. This is a beautiful place for retirement living.

K Prairie
13/06/2019

It's been wonderful to see our mom flourish at Hilldale over the past three years. The staff treat her like family, and their care and kindness are comforting to all of us. The suites and common areas have been designed to make residents feel at home, and special touches, like the private family dining area and the social room with full kitchen, are great for family get-togethers. We're grateful to have found such an ideal home for our mom.

Susan E Veltri
10/06/2019

We are so happy to have our mother/mother in law and Nanna Albina living at Hilldale. The staff are absolutely the best. They do anything to make us feel comfortable. It is so comforting to us to know they are there for her when we cannot be. Thank you everyone past and present who go above and beyond.

William Grossberndt
10/06/2019

My mother has resided at Hilldale for a number of years now. It has been of great comfort to myself and to my siblings to have her in a place that offers the care, comfort, and dependable support that she so deserves in these late years. The warm and friendly dynamic displayed by both staff and management make Chartwell Hilldale feel like a home and a family. This is very important to us, as we all live outside the province.

Arja Hiiback
02/05/2019

We are extremely pleased to have our mother/mother-in-law living at Chartwell-Hilldale. The staff is wonderful. They are always cheerful and helpful. They always have her best interests in mind and are very approachable. When our mother returned to Hilldale after spending the summer at her house she was welcomed as a returning member of the family . She was surprised and overwhelmed by everyone's pleasure at seeing her return. They made her feel like she was coming home. The residence is always immaculately clean and the seasonal decor is lovely. There are lots of activities scheduled for her to take part in if she chooses. The dining room is well lit with natural light and the meals are tasty and varied. We are thrilled that our Mother is happy with her residence and the new friends that she has made there.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Thunder Bay Retirement Residence

770 Arundel Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 8C8

Distance: 3.9 km

Chartwell Thunder Bay Senior Townhomes

770 Arundel Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 8C8

Distance: 3.9 km

Chartwell Glacier Ridge Retirement Residence

1261 Jasper Drive, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 6Z4

Distance: 5.0 km

Chartwell Isabella Retirement Residence

1350 Isabella Street East, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 0A5

Distance: 9.4 km