At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre nouveau programme « Vivre la transition ensemble » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

Chartwell Harbours Retirement Residence

20 Country Village Cove NE, Calgary, Alberta T3K 5T9

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Strawberry to verify you are human. (Required)


Karine Reich
04/10/2021

When looking for a Retirement home for our step-mom Madeleine moving from Courtenay BC to Calgary, we decided to make a list of everything we were looking for in a place that is beautiful and feels like her home. With Covid-19, a lots of the research, virtual tours, reading reviews were done on-line and the drive around the different facilities to get a feel of the community environment.  Chartwell Harbours Retirement came high on our list. The Chartwell Harbours Retirement itself is beautiful, clean and well-maintained with lots of green space.  The facility overlook the walking trail around the lake with water fountain.  Close Amenities that are walking distance with strip malls shopping and everything is close by is an added bonus. The Chartwell's management team Laura, Andrea, Shavon & staff are always kind and professional!!!  The management team and staff team will go over and above to help assist and support both you and the family through the whole process. When you walk through the front doors at Chartwell Harbours Retirement, you feel like you are entering a 5 star hotel!  Madeleine was lucky to have one of the rooms with beautiful view over looking the lake.  The staff at the reception desk are always friendly and courteous; they treat residents and guests as family as you enter the front door. The reception staff know who the residents are by name and who the family is when visiting!  The weekly cleaning staff are so caring, and patient with the residents.  They take the time to build a relationship with each resident.  Last but not least, The Chef will schedule a meeting with each new residents to understand their diet, allergies, and preferences for planning and organizing the weekly meals.  We truly appreciate what they all do at Chartwell and can't thank them enough.  The management have done a great job. Chartwell Harbours Retirement met EVERY items on our list and exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend that if you and your family are contemplating assisted living for a loved one, do make a visit to Chartwell Harbours Retirement and enjoy a tour with Shavon of this excellent ‘home away from home’.  You and your family will love the place and feel like one of the family. You will love it.

Gay Staroszik
08/08/2021

I would like to thank all the staff, right from the front desk on through to cooking, cleaning, serving, and management, for doing their due diligence through COVID and throughout my parents 3 year (so far) stay at Chartwell. Through COVID they kept everyone safe and cared for. All the staff are friendly and helpful. I have always felt welcomed into the building. They have been great dealing with our questions and patient with my parents. I am so glad we chose Chartwell. They choose to put my parents best interests in the forefront. The property is beautiful and has a lovely walking path around the lake. I thank everyone there fir their caring attitudes. I would recommend Chartwell Harbours as a 1 st choice to live. Thank you so much.

Gay Staroszik
08/08/2021

I would like to thank all the staff, right from the front desk on through to cooking, cleaning, serving, and management, for doing their due diligence through COVID and throughout my parents 3 year (so far) stay at Chartwell. Through COVID they kept everyone safe and cared for. All the staff are friendly and helpful. I have always felt welcomed into the building. They have been great dealing with our questions and patient with my parents. I am so glad we chose Chartwell. They choose to put my parents best interests in the forefront. The property is beautiful and has a lovely walking path around the lake. I thank everyone there fir their caring attitudes. I would recommend Chartwell Harbours as a 1 st choice to live. Thank you so much.

Judy Anderson
02/03/2021

After my folks and myself had toured many Retirement Facilities, it was very clear that the Chartwell Harbours was to be their #1 choice. Right from the beginning Laura and her team welcomed all of us with open arms and an open heart. The staff are amazing at learning to know the residents individual needs and personalities, right down to "gravy on the side". During there was always an open dialogue between the Management, Laura and the residence families. They went above and beyond to ensure the safety, as well as the emotional and physical needs were met. Is it without hesitation that my Mother as well as our family would recommend moving into the Chartwell Harbours, and making this their new "Home".

Mary Anne & Arnie Ostapovitch
18/02/2021

In 2011 Mom lost her husband of 60 years and was living alone in their house in Montreal. When she came to visit that summer we toured several retirement homes encouraging her to consider moving West and living in a retirement community. We still recall the warm welcome we received at Harbours when we visited. The staff and residents were so welcoming and positive - that really impressed us! The food served at lunch was a hit with Mom as well. Mom moved to Harbours Retirement Residence several months later. We were concerned how she would transition but she settled right in and the staff and residents made her feel right at home. It was lovely that one of the residents on the "Welcome Committee" took Mom under her wing introducing her to many of the residents and inviting her to the many activities offered at Harbours. She really enjoyed the morning exercise classes and making lunch for school children participating in the Brown Bag Lunch Program. Her favourite activity over her 8 years at Harbours was the Friday afternoon Happy Hour which often featured live entertainment. She absolutely LOVED dancing to the music and looked forward to this time each week. Her view from her suite overlooked the lake and she so enjoyed watching the ducks on the water and the beautiful sunsets from her recliner chair. The staff have always been so caring and attentive especially during this pandemic. The efforts made by this amazing team to keep the everyone's spirits up during this difficult time was incredible. They dressed in weekly theme outfits and organized themed activities especially during times when residents were quarantined in their rooms. Communication was excellent with family members and we recall smiling as we read the weekly updates with fun photos of the staff in action. The positivity of the team was what has always been so important to Mom and to us. Since the moment we first stepped foot through the front door in 2012 to the present moment as we move mom to her new long-term care residence the positive, caring, upbeat staff have made Mom's life truly happy. We are truly grateful to all the wonderful staff and know Mom will miss being part of the Harbours Family as will we.

Jennifer Pecksen
14/01/2021

My Mom moved into Chartwell in October 2020, in the midst of the pandemic. We have been so grateful and pleased with how the management at The Harbours have managed her transition during this very difficult time. They have been very understanding and accommodating to Mom's needs and have worked hard to ensure her transition was comfortable. Although many of the group activities have been put on hold during this time (to keep residents safe), the staff at the residence have worked hard to ensure residents feel connected and cared for. Their mobile cocktail hour, door delivery crafts and floor activities have been great during the last couple of months. Mom enjoys the meals very much and has been able to walk around the lake on a daily basis which has been of great health and mental benefit. Having a parent transition from living on their own to living in an active senior residence can be a challenging and emotional time for everyone - I have to say that Laura and her team made it a happy, exciting and hopeful time. Once Mom made the decision that the Harbours was the place for her, she couldn't wait to move it. As a family member, I feel confident that Chartwell works in the very best interest of their residents and communication with residents and family is excellent. Any of my inquiries or comments and have replied to in a very timely manner. My sincere thanks and gratitude to the Chartwell Harbours team for providing a safe, comfortable and friendly new home for my Mom..

Peggy Christiansen
26/04/2020

The staff at Harbours are always helpful, caring and upbeat and this continues during the COVID 19 lockdown. During these challenging times the staff at Chartwell Harbours have done a great job ensuring all the residents are safe and at the same time trying to liven things up as much as they can. For example Friday afternoon is usually happy hour so instead of the residents going to the dining room the staff are going floor by floor singing, being their usual friendly and upbeat selves and offering a beverage. The residents sit in their doorway and enjoy the socializing. My brother and I are so grateful that mom lives in such a caring environment.💕

Arrigo and Mary. Chiste
31/07/2019

We have been residents of Chartwell Harbours for close to two years. The decision to a change of life style was challenging. After doing our homework by visiting a number of Independent Living facilities, we decided to move to Harbours. The main reason was location. We are within easy walking and/or short driving distance from commercial, medical, financial, entertainment and culinary businesses. Our “lake”, really a very large pond, attracts hundreds of gulls, ducks, geese, and the odd herring. The paved path around the lake makes for a very pleasant stroll where you meet many other walkers. Food is excellent. Menus provide provide variety . Dietary issues are accommodated. University graduate dieticians assure healthy meals. Our staff is bright, intelligent, well trained, friendly an compassionate. They provide pleasing service. We do not hesitate to recommend Harbours if you are contemplating a change of life style.

Moira Doerksen
16/04/2019

My parents moved to Chartwell Harbours 3 1/2 years ago. We have been very impressed with the staff and the facility. The views of the lake are lovely, and the walking path around the lake and easy access to near by amenities were and are a strong attraction. Sadly, Dad is no longer with us but my Mother loves living at The Harbours. She has made many special friends. There is a strong Christian community and church services are held each Sunday evening as well as Hymn Sing on Friday evenings. The staff is wonderful and they are friendly and cheerful. They take an interest in the residents and provide all sorts of activities for those who wish to join in We have joined Mum for several meals and find the food to be very tasty and nicely presented. The Executive Chef, and his team, create calendar themed meals, and the dining room staff are friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend Chartwell Harbours.

Merv Goodman
12/03/2019

I moved in October 2018 and am very happy here. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great, with access to a walking path around the lake and close to shopping. Management is very helpful and accommodating. Meals are very good, kitchen staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Housekeeping staff are very friendly.

Karen SCHNEIDER
09/03/2019

Mom has been living at the Harbours for two years. From day one it has felt like a home away from home. The staff and other residence have been very friendly and helpful since day one. Mom says the meals are great! She enjoys Wii bowling on Saturday morning.

Michele Barrett
29/03/2018

My parents moved into Chartwell Harbours in NE Calgary last year. They are very happy with their one bedroom two bathroom unit. Mom and dad prepare their own breakfast and enjoy the lunch and supper meals provided. We are pleased with the staff overall - my parents tell us how friendly and kind they treat mom and dad, and whenever we’ve been visiting, we see the staff smiling and interacting positively with the residents. The facility is clean, safe, nicely decorated, functional and welcoming. Recently, we reserved the basement family room to celebrate my dad’s 90th birthday. Our group of eleven fit comfortably in the space; we held a potluck luncheon. Huge thanks and appreciation to Lonny in the kitchen for baking a beautiful amd delicious Black Forest cake for my dad. What a wonderful gesture - this made dad’s day! We are so grateful that my parents choose Chartwell Harbours for their accommodation needs. Chartwell Harbours take great care of mom and dad, and my parents are happy with their lifestyle and the new friends they’ve found.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a virtual or on-site tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Eau Claire Care Residence
Chartwell Eau Claire Care Residence

301 7th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1Y6

Distance: 11.9 km

Chartwell Colonel Belcher Retirement Residence
Chartwell Colonel Belcher Retirement Residence

1945 Veteran's Way NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 5Y7

Distance: 11.9 km

Chartwell Fountains of Mission Retirement Residence
Chartwell Fountains of Mission Retirement Residence

222 25th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2S 3E9

Distance: 14.0 km

Chartwell Royal Park Retirement Residence
Chartwell Royal Park Retirement Residence

4315 Richardson Road SW, Calgary, Alberta T3E 7J7

Distance: 16.4 km