Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Glacier Ridge Retirement Residence

1261 Jasper Drive, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 6Z4

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Apple to verify you are human. (Required)


Jack Nelson
26/04/2022

I have been entertaining quite regularly at Glacier Ridge for several years now (except for covid time) and can't help but notice the exceptional interaction that the staff and management have with all the residents. It's clear that they are content and proud of their home at Chartwell. It's no wonder that there are so many positive reviews for your residence!

Patrick Dickey
19/12/2021

Thumbs up to the entire staff at Glacier Ridge. They are friendly, compassionate, and skilled at providing excellent care to my mom. This fall mom has faced some health challenges and the experienced staff have been very helpful in noticing the symptoms which helped greatly in getting timely health care. Even the other residents have been a tremendous help with moms recovery. Thanks to everyone at Glacier Ridge. They are a wonderful team.

Sheila Gillson
19/06/2021

I want to thank Lisa, Nicole and all the staff at Chartwell Glacier Ridge for making my mother's 100th birthday wonderful and memorable. My sister and I could not be with her in person because of pandemic restrictions, but the staff here filled the void and went above and beyond to make this day special for her. The Skype call, the picture collage, and the special dinner were very much appreciated. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Sheila Gillson

Robert Bagdon
10/03/2021

Let me begin by congratulating Chartwell Glacier Ridge on reaching the one year milestone of the pandemic without incidence in your staff or residents. My parents and I first visited Glacier Ridge in the latter part of 2019. Corinne enthusiastically gave us a complete tour of the facility and addressed all of our concerns. My father was quickly convinced that this was the right place for them. Sadly, he became ill and passed soon thereafter. Before passing he insisted we move mom here, as he was confident she would be well cared for in a healthy, friendly and safe environment while continuing to live independently. Mom's transition has been difficult having lost her partner of 68 years coupled with the complications of moving during the pandemic and its restrictions. All of the staff at Glacier Ridge have been very understanding and helpful during her adjustment to this new environment. It is very comforting to know that all of the staff are attentive to Mom's needs. I visit regularly and have always been impressed with the level of professionalism, cleanliness, friendliness and concern for all of your residents. I would be remiss not to mention Chris and the foodservice which always looks and smells so good. Mom especially loves the desserts. Thank you for caring and keeping our mother safe. Bob and Billie Bagdon

Adrian Tessier
05/02/2021

Today is my parents 70th Anniversary. They have lived at Glacier Ridge for about 4 years. With the civic 19 pandemic going on, taking them out for a nice dinner was out of the question. A quick call to the manager, Lisa, a fantastic plan was made. I went out and got mom and dads favourite steaks and shrimp, and Chef Chris did his magic. I told mom and dad to dress up for a nice surprise for dinner. They came down to the dining room and were greeted by a table with personalized congratulatory place mats and menu. Flowers and balloons sent by family decorated the table. Chef Chris brought out an exquisite dinner for mom and dad. Steak cooked to absolute perfection, mouth watering Chimichurri grilled Argentina shrimp, Garlic Parmesan Duchess potato, with golden & red beet fan. The presentation would rival any top restaurant in Thunder Bay, or anywhere. The special treatment mom and dad received was just outstanding. They were truly surprised and delighted. I want to thank Lisa, Chef Chris and all the staff at Chartwell Glacier Ridge for going above and beyond. Your care of your residents at this level at this time of a pandemic is greatly appreciated by our family. It gives us a warm comfortable assurance that they are well looked after. Thank you....the whole Tessier family

Linda Babic
03/01/2021

I live in Australia, and on a visit home to Thunder Bay I was concerned that mum was now living alone, in less than ideal lodgings, and on a busy road. She was no longer driving, and hence was getting little social engagement. She was lonely, but was too proud to admit it. She needed to be somewhere like Chartwell, but resisted. As a retired United Church minister, she used to visit parishioners in Chartwell residences, and I think she just couldn’t accept that she was now ready to be a resident herself. But on that visit in October 2019, I managed to get mum to a tour of the Glacier Ridge residence, where we were shown around by Corinne. In the time between October and March 2020, Corinne continued to work with me, from Australia, to make mum’s move into Chartwell a reality. Being so far away, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Corinne was wonderful and her assistance was beyond my expectations. I now feel confident that mum is surrounded by new friends and staff that will all look out for her. She’s eating better, and she’s socially engaged. It’s been a huge relief to me, even more so now with Covid’s impact on international travel meaning I am unable to leave Australia to come and visit her. So thank you, for being so marvellous at your job!

Andrea Buck
14/10/2020

My mom has lived at Chartwell Glacier Ridge for a couple of years and my family and I have heartfelt gratitude for the amazing care provided to her. The assistance and support is appreciated more than we can say. Thank You so very much for all of the help with a multitude of issues; especially during these challenging times of COVID-19. From keeping us apprised of developments and concerns and ensuring she is well cared for means so much to us. The open lines of communication are invaluable. Our experience with the Staff at Glacier Ridge has been fantastic !! Although we cannot name everyone, we wish to express our sincere appreciation to Lisa and of her Team including but certainly not limited to Courtney, Kaitlyn, Corinne, Janet and Mark to name a few. We know there are many others. The atmosphere at Glacier Ridge exudes kindness and respect and it feels like we have a whole team of partners supporting us. No words can say how much your care of our much loved Mom means to us. I have recommend Glacier Ridge, as it is an amazing retirement residence, and I will continue to so other families can enjoy the piece of mind that comes with knowing their loved one is cared for.

Alexis ALBRECHT
12/10/2020

Dad is very happy to be in his new place. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Barbara Luft
09/05/2020

Chartwell Glacier Ridge has been an excellent choice for our mom in this season of her life. The facility is lovely, and the excellent staff has become like family to her, especially since the Covid-19 crisis. Everyone there pitches in to do what needs to be done, all with a smile . Communication about ongoing procedural changes during the past several months has been so helpful for family who can’t physically be with our loved ones. Great job by GM Lisa Crupi and all of the Glacier Ridge crew! On behalf of our family I’d like to say a heartfelt thank you for your care of our mom over the past year and a half, and particularly at this unsettling time. It hardly seems like enough, be we truly appreciate it.

Anne Marie Fitzgerald
03/05/2020

Glacier Ridge is a top quality residence and one that deserves a very high rating in every department. It is a clean well maintained facility which of course is important. What really makes this residence outstanding in my estimation is the wonderful, caring and dedicated staff. My mother was a resident at Glacier Ridge for her last year and she was always treated with tender loving care. The staff is really more like extended family in the way they interact with residents. It is more a vocation than just a job with the lovely staff at Glacier Ridge. When my mother was entering her final days everyone without exception did all they could to accommodate our family’s wishes. Every member of the staff cared for all of us as we took that final journey with my mom. It was so obvious to all of us that every resident means a great deal to each member of the staff. I would not hesitate to recommend this facility for a loved one.

Cindy Miller
24/04/2020

We cannot say enough good things about Glacier Ridge & ALL their staff. The care & compassion for the residents is two-fold. ALL staff go above & beyond the call of duty to make the residence a true "Family" home for our loved ones. My mom enjoyed all the delicious meals provided, the variety of activities offered & the great entertainment that was brought in for them. Mom had only good things to say about how hard working ALL the staff were, how kind they were to her & how they did "extra special" things for her when needed (Corinne). The residence itself is beautiful inside & out & very well maintained. Unfortunately, my mom's health deteriorated & she has to leave her beautiful suite. Due to Covid-19 the staff had to pack up her things for us & they did so willingly (Corinne & Mark). We want to take this opportunity to thank ALL the staff for taking such good care of mom. Lisa your team is awesome keep up the GREAT work. In these difficult times STAY STRONG, SAFE & WELL. With our sincere appreciation, Cindy, Pat, Ken, Susan & Mom Anna J❤️

Sharon Jaspers
23/04/2020

Glacier Ridge staff have been fantastic throughout the Covid pandemic. We have so appreciated the due diligence required of a facility caring for the elderly... they have gone above and beyond under difficult circumstances. Our mother has continued to feel safe and cares for by exceptional staff. Thank you

Peter Dusolt
23/04/2020

I rate the Chartwell Glacier Ridge facility as the top Assisted Living facility in Thunder Bay. My sister moved to this facility early October 2019 and she unfortunately deals with moderate dementia. The total staff at this facility is committed to making all residents part of their family and treat them with skill and compassion. The current Covid19 outbreak has once again demonstrated to me that I made the right choice in selecting Glacier Ridge - the efforts put forth by that team during these difficult times, led by a very competent General Manager, has kept my sister safe. If I have any issues whatsoever, they are promptly attended to and resolved. Thank you Lisa nd thank you to your team - Excellent job!

Burns Sally
23/04/2020

My Mom has lived at Glacier Ridge for a couple of years and is happy there. Now, during the Covid-19 pandemic I am very impressed by how Lisa Crupi, the manager, is making sure every measure has been, and is being taken, to keep all the residents of Glacier Ridge safe. Being on top of the proper procedures right from the very early days of this pandemic has kept our loved ones safe. We appreciate your leadership. Keep up the good work! When I can’t visit personally it certainly is a comfort to know my Mom is in a place where the health of all residents is being given first priority. Thank you too, for keeping us informed.

Nina Carruthers
18/11/2019

From the accommodations, to the food, to the activities, to the friendships made and to the excellent care and spirit of the entire Glacier Ridge Staff my mom's experience here was remarkable. At this time of her life, Glacier Ridge became her extended family when her actual family was not able to be around. The care of the staff gave us peace of mind, knowing that mom was not alone. A big Thank You to a wonderfully awesome place. Mary, Nina and Dennis

Kevin Enstrom
08/11/2019

An awesome Home and experience for my mother Marje and our family. The staff goes above and beyond in regard to providing a safe and enjoyable experience for all of the those who make Glacier Ridge their home A social thanks to Lisa, Corinne, Courtney, Kate, Sherri, Pat, who took a special interest in mom To all of the staff, thank you for your part in looking after our mother. Thank you Kevin, Jennifer, Rick and Jeff

Kevin Enstrom
08/11/2019

An awesome Home and experience for my mother Marje and our family. The staff goes above and beyond in regard to providing a safe and enjoyable experience for all of the those who make Glacier Ridge their home A social thanks to Lisa, Corinne, Courtney, Kate, Sherri, Pat, who took a special interest in mom To all of the staff, thank you for your part in looking after our mother. Thank you Kevin, Jennifer, Rick and Jeff

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Isabella Retirement Residence

1350 Isabella Street East, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 0A5

Distance: 4.5 km

Chartwell Hilldale Retirement Residence

309 Hilldale Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7G 0A2

Distance: 5.0 km

Chartwell Thunder Bay Retirement Residence

770 Arundel Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 8C8

Distance: 6.3 km

Chartwell Thunder Bay Senior Townhomes

770 Arundel Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7A 8C8

Distance: 6.3 km