Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Colonel Belcher Retirement Residence

1945 Veteran's Way NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 5Y7

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Orange to verify you are human. (Required)


Nickolas Gass
11/02/2022

I commend the staff on how everything has been handled over this very trying time. In fact I have been here for five years now and I have yet to have a complaint. Everything seems to run like clockwork here. The food is good, the staff are cheerful and cooperative and management seem to have a finger on everything. I find it amazing how such a large operation can run so smoothly!

Patrica Praud
11/02/2022

I moved into Chartwell Colonel Belcher during the peak of the pandemic. The staff were excellent in helping me with my move and were very patient, even when it took longer than expected. The desk staff are always eager to help and my housekeeper is very polite and does a fantastic job. The staff will even dust the snow off my car and will pull it to the front door when I ask. The managers are always around and are wonderful people to talk too. I love living here at Chartwell Colonel Belcher.

Carol Ingram
11/02/2022

Entering Chartwell Colonel Belcher Retirement Residence from the first time, felt like coming home. The staff are wonderful, so friendly, caring and helpful. My suite feels just right, spacious bright and well appointed. Meeting other residents happens easily with the many activities available and the library is great. Meals are served in a beautiful spacious dining room and are so well prepared and appetizing. COVID precautions/protocols are enforced faithfully and fully. From Day One, I am convinced it was the right decision and I have not looked back.

Bob Hird
10/02/2022

The staff here have been so good and are always ready to help you. I have been treated so well since I moved in 8 years ago. They treat my family very well when they come to visit me. Everything in the building is excellent especially the food, so much alternatives to choose from. Entertainment and activities are good and everyone treats each other like family here. When I had a medical emergency I was so pleased with the quick response from the staff. I recently lost my daughter to a tragic accident and Christine and the staff were so kind and caring to me. The building is well managed and I can say that they truly make lives better here and give you the best experience.

Karen Skoretz
01/02/2022

When looking for senior housing options for a loved one, it's important to not only assess the services provided in a residence but also know what options you have for progressive care within a building or it's related properties, and get to know the the General Manager. Meet with them, get to know their management style which will reflect in the quality of the building the care for your loved one. Christine Taylor at Chartwell Colonel Belcher is experienced and her dedication and compassion is evident. for the residents, families and staff. I've know Christine for 15 years the entire time she has worked for Chartwell. With that experience, you know she is the best!

Rick V
26/01/2022

Chartwell has been very attentive to my mother's needs and have been very helpful with reminders and helping her with appointments making sure she is aware and ready. As a family, we have appreciated how much Chartwell understood and helped mom transition from her home to her new place. It wasn't easy for her but with their patience and understanding from the staff she is now eating her meals in the dining room, going for walks in the neighborhood and adjusting well.

Phil Carr
25/03/2019

I’m writing to express how I enjoyed my practicum experience at Chartwell Colonel Belcher Retirement Residence. I felt very welcome and comfortable with everyone and I could not have imagined working in a friendlier environment. I feel this experience will benefit me tremendously throughout my future career. My sincerest thanks, as well as much deserved recognition and grateful appreciation to the stellar employees; from the managers to the auxiliary staff. The entire staff of dedicated and hardworking employees was at all times respectful, kind, thoughtful, dependable, helpful, and compassionate. Although I found all the areas interesting in their own unique way, I was especially drawn to the exuberance of the ‘seniors’. I truly enjoy every moment interacting with them and listening to their stories. They are such precious jewels. Indeed, this is a remarkable place for the senior citizens! I love the ambiance, the cleanliness, the security, culture, food, the surrounding community among many other things. It’s wonderful that they provide exercise and wellness activities, shopping at the local malls, and to top it off, a day out to the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra. Thank you, to the management and staff for your outstanding leadership and stewardship that ensures that Chartwell Colonel Belcher Retirement Residence is an outstanding example of a home that values dignity, respect and compassion for all its senior residents.

Pat A Chartwell Resident
03/02/2017

Chartwell Colonel Belcher has a great location, close to walking paths and the Bow River. The residents and staff are friendly. It is close to public transit and has a private bus for grocery shoppin

Bob and Marion McPherson
03/02/2017

My wife and I moved in 15 months ago while we were in our mid-80s. It was a bit intimidating to find ourselves living among 180 people, and learning everyone's names. But we have come to appreciate th

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Eau Claire Care Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Eau Claire Care Residence

301 7th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1Y6

Distance: 4.8 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
587-287-3943 View Residence
Chartwell Royal Park Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Royal Park Retirement Residence

4315 Richardson Road SW, Calgary, Alberta T3E 7J7

Distance: 5.3 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
587-287-3939 View Residence
Chartwell Fountains of Mission Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Fountains of Mission Retirement Residence

222 25th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2S 3E9

Distance: 6.4 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
587-287-3945 View Residence
Chartwell Harbours Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Harbours Retirement Residence

20 Country Village Cove NE, Calgary, Alberta T3K 5T9

Distance: 11.9 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
587-287-3941 View Residence