Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Birchwood Retirement Residence

45650 Patten Avenue, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 1S4

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Watermelon to verify you are human. (Required)


Judi Klein
17/12/2021

Our parents moved into the Birchwood in 2012. After touring many places, my mom thought the Birchwood “felt like home”. That feeling has not changed. As my dad’s health declined, the staff were very compassionate and caring as we navigated the next step for him. They provided support to my mom as well, and continue to do so. Marci was very helpful and understanding throughout the process. In these difficult times of Covid, the staff has been instrumental in focusing on the residents to provide for their social and emotional needs, through group activities and entertainment when possible and individual special moments when group activities were not possible. I was visiting when the floods happened in November and had to delay my flight home until I could figure out how to get to Abbotsford. Knowing my plight, Katie found out (after her workday was done) about a commuter flight being offered, so she passed the information on to Brenda who called me. I was able to rebook within a couple of days. The staff made sure the residents did not want for anything despite difficulties with getting supplies during this time. I can’t say enough about the love and care from the staff at Birchwood and how happy and safe my mom feels being there

Judi Klein
17/12/2021

Our parents moved into the Birchwood in 2012. After touring many places, my mom thought the Birchwood “felt like home”. That feeling has not changed. As my dad’s health declined, the staff were very compassionate and caring as we navigated the next step for him. They provided support to my mom as well, and continue to do so. Marci was very helpful and understanding throughout the process. In these difficult times of Covid, the staff has been instrumental in focusing on the residents to provide for their social and emotional needs, through group activities and entertainment when possible and individual special moments when group activities were not possible. I was visiting when the floods happened in November and had to delay my flight home until I could figure out how to get to Abbotsford. Knowing my plight, Katie found out (after her workday was done) about a commuter flight being offered, so she passed the information on to Brenda who called me. I was able to rebook within a couple of days. The staff made sure the residents did not want for anything despite difficulties with getting supplies during this time. I can’t say enough about the love and care from the staff at Birchwood and how happy and safe my mom feels being there

Laura Dean
26/11/2021

Our mom has been at Birchwood for 6 years now. Moving there opened up a social life that just didn’t exist for her while she was in her own home. She has made many friends there, and they enjoy activities that help to nurture their friendships, and make them feel as though they are all part of a family. The staff contributes to that by celebrating large and small occasions with the residents, and they care for each of them as though they are indeed family. Mom could probably be a poster girl for the benefits of living at a residence like Birchwood :) Most importantly, particularly through the difficulties of the past 20 months, Mom has expressed many times that she feels safe and cared for at Birchwood, which gives all of our family peace of mind. Thank you to everyone there for taking such good care of all of our loved ones.

Taryn Dixon
25/11/2021

My parents have been at Birchwood for about 2.5 years. I have found the staff to be cheerful, friendly and upbeat. Even with some of the challenges that have come with COVID the Birchwood staff have continued to provide great programs, good meals and so many opportunities to stay connected with others. I am thankful for the genuine care my parents receive and really appreciate the positive attitude and creative ideas of staff. Way to go Chartwell Birchwood. You’re number 1 in my books,

Lisa Friesen
24/11/2021

Thanks to all the wonderful staff at Birchwood for working so hard to keep everyone safe during these difficult times! We greatly appreciate all of the care and support our Mom receives.

Mary Anne Miller
24/11/2021

During these unprecedented times in the lower mainland of B.C. Chartwell Birchwood has gone above and beyond to keep all of their residents safe and well provided for. With the supply chain interruptions to Chilliwack they have managed to keep their services as smooth as possible while managing to keep the residents and families updated on their procedures for handling the problems they’ve encountered. While we cannot get to Chilliwack to visit my brother we know he and all the residents are being well looked after. Thanks to all the staff at Birchwood!

Larry McClure
30/10/2020

My mom has been at the Birchwood for about 10 months now now and I couldn't be happier with the type of care she is receiving. The staff are super friendly and always smiling and up beat when ever I go there. I get a weekly update on what is happening during the week as they try to have activities for the residents to keep busy. I enjoy seeing the pictures they supply of happy hours or birthdays or other holidays celebrations. I hear they have a Halloween surprise for everyone so I can hardly wait to see the pictures from that one. Mom says the meals are terrific and she loves not having to do her own cooking.. Hat's off to all the employees doing such a great job and during one of the most difficult times I have ever seen in my life time. Making the best of this situation is very comforting for our family knowing that mom is getting great care.

Ann Raisbeck
23/12/2019

Our Mom has been a resident at Birchwood since May 2019. The building is clean and well-kept and the decor is always tasteful. The food is plentiful and top notch. It’s the staff though that make Birchwood - their genuine care for and respect for their residents shines. As a family, we were impressed with them right from the start and knew we’d found a safe, nurturing home for Mom. Thank you for all you do Birchwood!

Linda Jones
24/10/2019

My Mother has been a resident here for almost three years, and lives in one of the lovely little cottages adjacent to the Lodge. This move enabled her to make the transition from living in her own home, to assisted living while maintaining that feeling of independence. We have found the staff to be very friendly, and willing to assist with any questions or concerns she may have. It is reassuring to our family, to know that someone is watching out for her , and that she can call on the staff to help out when needed. It is a welcoming space, and offers plenty of social opportunities for the residents to join in and not be alone.

Cheri McGowan
13/10/2019

I have been into this facility several times, each time I have found the staff very friendly and helpful. they talk to the residents like they are respected and cared for. the dining room is so clean and always full, it's like they are going out to a fancy restaurant. I always see the residents playing pool or some kind of game. I would for my parents to live here.

G.L. Darney
04/04/2019

I found the staff to be totally helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and so kind! My partner is in care elsewhere in the province, but I wish he was here. The tour I took was informative and I enjoyed seeing how empathetic the staff were with residents.

N Kzanoski
16/03/2019

Administration was super friendly and answered all of our questions thoroughly. I appreciate the time they took to introduce our family to the Chartwell Birchwood Retirement Residence community.

Julie Sweet
16/03/2019

I found the front desk staff very helpful when explaining options and addressing my concerns. Thank you for your kind words and welcoming approach.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Birchwood Senior Cottages

45650 Patten Avenue, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 1S4

Distance: 0.0 km

Chartwell Birchwood Assisted Living

45650 Patten Avenue, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 1S4

Distance: 0.0 km

Chartwell Lynnwood Retirement Residence

9168 Corbould Street, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 8A1

Distance: 0.2 km

Chartwell Hampton House Retirement Residence

45555 Hodgins Avenue, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 1P3

Distance: 0.3 km