Book a virtual or on-site tour. Move-Ins Now Accepted. New Infection Prevention Measures In Place for Enhanced Safety.
96% of residents felt their Chartwell Residence took important measures to keep them safe during COVID-19. "Listening to Serve You Better" 2020 survey results.

Find a residence

Chartwell Barton Retirement Residence

17290 Leslie Street, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 3E1

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Grapes to verify you are human. (Required)


Anita Granger
12/10/2020

Barton has been a wonderful home for my Mom for the past two years. Staff are always friendly, helpful and caring. The meals are well planned and enjoyable. Management are always available to help when needed and respond to any concerns. In this particularly challenging time of Covid-19, I have applauded their efforts to protect the residents. It gives me peace of mind knowing Mom is safe.

Kim S.
13/08/2020

Mom had to leave her home of 32 years after her health declined. Our family had promised to keep her in her home but she knew she couldn’t live on her own anymore. The guilt was overwhelming for us but after entering the doors at Chartwell Barton in December 2019, we all felt at ease. Mom has adjusted slowly but feels like it’s one big family now. She loves getting her hair done weekly, has put on weight finally with the delicious meals, weekly happy hour in her room and has made several new friends. Imagine our fear when Covid 19 hit the retirement and nursing homes having only been there for three months, but thankfully with their diligence and strict protocol, they have been Covid free!! A big thank you to Catherine & Leslie for their professionalism and devotion to our loved ones!! We would highly recommend them.

Bonnie Baber
07/02/2020

My mother just moved in after 66 years in her own home. It is remarkable how quickly she has called the Barton Home. She loves the people and is so content. Recently we came back after an appointment. When I unlocked her door she walked in and said, “It’s so good to be home”. Thank you Barton for giving her family peace of mind

Jo Smith
18/11/2019

I would like to say my family , my mom and I had a wonderful experience at Barton Chartwell , this was second home to mom in her less than a year there, her decline in health took her too soon , but the staff, the nurses , PSW’s , the maintenance dept, administration always made sure mom was looked after , and all her friends , residents , housekeeping, ,she made friends with all , so thank Barton for everything!

Ron Anderson
06/05/2019

After more than 8 years as the "care giver" for a 92+ year old special friend at Barton I believe that I am qualified to comment on the quality of life afforded my friend and the other residents by the Chartwell organization. I have seen the inevitable staff changes over the years, the comfort upgrades and the attention to safety through regular, scheduled fire drills and healthy living. As a frequent visitor I have met and enjoy good rapport with many of the staff as well as other residents. Its location is ideal for walking on residential streets while having ready access to main thoroughfares, a nearby 400 series highway and good retail services including all major banks. The regional, 500-bed hospital is 5 minutes distant via those same residential streets. Bonus. No traffic lights! With intimate experience at other retirement living residences in Newmarket and elsewhere I have no hesitation in ranking Barton as a top-tier residence for a loved one.

Kala V
25/04/2019

I was on a short stay last May at Barton after my hip replacement. It was a very pleasant experience from the initial meeting with Leslie right up to the entire duration of my 2 week stay . The care and service of every individual I met was exemplary . Special mention should be made to NaQuille and the PSW's who helped me to get back on my feet. Thank you to all for a very warm and pleasant stay .

Joyce Spence
05/11/2018

I must add that I appreciate the Barton bus which allows me to bank, shop, get Med. help etc. The bus driver, takes care of the needs of those with walkers or wheelchair. Excellent!

Joyce Spence
05/11/2018

I must add that I appreciate the Barton bus which allows me to bank, shop, get Med. help etc. The bus driver, takes care of the needs of those with walkers or wheelchair. Excellent!

Joyce Spence
05/11/2018

I must add that I appreciate the Barton bus which allows me to bank, shop, get Med. help etc. The bus driver, takes care of the needs of those with walkers or wheelchair. Excellent!

Joyce Spence
05/11/2018

It took me 2 days to be able to say "This is my home". Staff are helpful. All services are excellent.There have been some problems with staffing, but I feel they all try to accommodate our needs. I try to connect with new residents who seem lonely.

Jennifer Jenkins-Scott
05/11/2018

Since mom has had a couple of falls resulting in fractures, I was reluctant to have her stay on her own anymore. So we found Chartwell and now both my mom and myself have piece of mind knowing there is help when she needs it. Mom enjoys the trips and events planned and raves about the food! I think she has gained a few pounds :)

stephanie Murack
05/11/2018

My Mother said she would never live in a retirement home. She ended up At Chartwell during convalescence after a broken ankle and liked it so much she stayed. The location is great as there is stores and resturants within walking distance. She is still able to go on Casino trips and out on shopping trips and luncheon trips. Staff is friendly and have been very accommodating. I am glad to know my mother is now safe and if she falls again there is someone there for her!

Anne Savage
13/10/2018

A perfect home for our Mom. We couldn't be happier with her living at the Barton. All the staff are so warm, welcoming and loving toward all the residents. There is a variety of fun activities and lots of entertainment. The meals are delicious and nutritious The wellness staff knows the residents and all their special requirements, and communicates exceptionally well with the family. And you can't beat the friendly smiling face of the receptionist as you walk in the door. Families are always welcome at the Barton, and it's wonderful to have that peace of mind knowing that Mom is safe, happy and healthy. Thanks to the exceptional management and staff for all that you do every day. ; )

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living at this residence?

289-366-3688

Not a valid phone number

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Alexander Muir Retirement Residence
Chartwell Alexander Muir Retirement Residence

197 Prospect Street, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 3T7

Distance: 1.97 km

Chartwell Hollandview Trail Retirement Residence
Chartwell Hollandview Trail Retirement Residence

200 John West Way, Aurora, Ontario L4G 0E4

Distance: 6.01 km

Chartwell Hollandview Trail Assisted Living
Chartwell Hollandview Trail Assisted Living

200 John West Way, Aurora, Ontario L4G 0E4

Distance: 6.10 km

Chartwell Park Place Retirement Residence
Chartwell Park Place Retirement Residence

15055 Yonge Street, Aurora, Ontario L4G 6T4

Distance: 7.80 km