We're Hiring! Click Here.

At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre nouveau programme « Vivre la transition ensemble » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

Chartwell Anne Hathaway Retirement Residence

480 Downie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 7Y5

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Orange to verify you are human. (Required)


Denise Winger
24/11/2021

I work in the community and hear only positive comments about the staff and life as a resident at Anne Hathaway. I also see the residents out and about in the city on outings in the provided transportation. Sounds like a perfect place for seniors.

Tony Nother
22/11/2021

My experience at Chartwell, Anne Hathaway has been totally positive. I have not entertained the residents a number of time before and after Covid19 and I have to say there are delightful and engaging. I have a positive impression of the Residence as a warm and welcoming place. The staff are all very nice and friendly and go out of their way to please the residents. I would have no hesitation in recommending Chartwell, Anne Hathaway Residence to anybody looking for a place in which to retire.

Sheila Hannon
18/05/2021

My Mom Elsie lived at Anne Hathaway for about three years. She loved it! The staff are so caring, treating all residents as if they were their own family, which was so important during the pandemic. When visitors weren't allowed, staff pitched in wherever they could. It was a team effort to make sure the residents were safe and happy. The residence has a warm, cozy welcoming atmosphere. Thank you to all staff for making Anne Hathaway a lovely home.

Stanley Dorrance
18/02/2019

I am very pleased that I choose to live at Chartwell Anne Hathaway Retirement Residence. The staff are friendly and the place is kept clean. There are lots of activities to keep the mind fit, as well as exercise to keep the limbs limber. There is plenty of musical entertainment. The food is good with a wide menu variety.

Bill Miller
10/02/2019

Our Dad, aged 85, moved into Anne Hathaway a month after our Mom died, the first time in his life he did not live with his mother or his wife. He quickly felt at home, enjoying the meals, the company, the activities, the walkways, and especially the staff. He teased many of them, and they reciprocated in kind. The thoughtfulness for his preferences and adjustments to his changing health made his eight plus years there a wonderful home for Dad. When he had medical needs, the staff were very attentive with him and quick to advise the family. After several hospitalizations, it was clear Dad was approaching the end of his life at age 93; he was thrilled when the staff at Anne Hathaway told him he could stay in his home there for the rest of his life. Their care during the palliative stages and the kindness of both staff and fellow residents meant so much to Dad. Our family can't thank Anne Hathaway enough for their support of Dad throughout his time there.

Darlene Zehr
09/02/2019

Both my parents have lived at this location for over ten years and the the staff have been excellent in making it feel like home for my parents

Rita Chandler
08/02/2019

I just want to say living here is like staying at a 5 star hotel with all the amenities. Where else could I go and be taken to see the Blue Jays game and Ripleys Aquarium. The food is good the staff is good, no complaints.

Mary and Frank Nyenhuis
07/02/2019

It was a difficult decision to leave our own home, but it was the right move. The staff are helpful and friendly. The building is small and a home like feeling.The meals are good, it is nice to have choices, but the menu is good. The activities are wonderful, we love the exercise classes everyday. Shannon the activity director is super. Its nice to get your nails done. The wellness clinic is helpful and it makes us feel good to have the care staff. The management is supportive and willing to help with anything.

Judy MacColl
06/02/2019

I find the staff at all levels to be helpful and pleasant. They keep the beautiful surroundings extremely clean. The menu is varied and I enjoy inviting friends or family to join me for meals. I've also enjoyed the varied events organized by the staff. I couldn't be happier with my decision to move into this retirement residence.

Joyce Teeuwen
06/02/2019

Chartwell Family, Its with pleasure to shout from the mountain top. We have the greatest family its all made by the staff. They are pleasant (I'm sure they don't always feel like it) dealing with seniors is a challenge. Always willing to help. They look after laundry so well, and clean rooms with a smile as there are rooms that are a challenge. My challenge is for your company to always take good care of your staff. It returns many times. Joyce Teeuwen

Audrey Durst
28/01/2019

5 Stars, because This is such a well run and managed facility. Staff are always ready to answer any concerns no matter how small.

Ed and Valerie Hastings
27/03/2018

This is our thank you letter to Anne Hathaway after our mother passed . To all the members of the Anne Hathaway team and to our mother's fellow residents and friends , I would like to express the thanks that the family feels for all of the care, compassion and love that Mother and the entire family experienced during her almost 4 years of making Anne Hathaway Residence her home. Everyone on the management and care team deserves our special praise and thanks . It wouldn’t be fair to name names as everyone went well beyond expectation in making sure that Mother felt safe , felt included, felt loved and most importantly felt at home. She loved her home and she loved all the support people that enabled her to stay in her home . They allowed her to maintain that bit of dignity that old age doesn’t completely steal away . They allowed her to enjoy her society with her new and old friends and she grew to love them all . We, as family, visited Mother on an almost daily basis and we were always made to feel welcome. We felt like we belonged . We often would grab a cup of coffee before our visit and sometimes a number of us would dine with Mother in the private dining room. We were never made to feel that in any way it was an imposition . Our entire experience was more positive than anyone could have possibly expected . If these few words of thanks have touched your hearts as much as your care and love for our Mother has touched ours , then these few words have not been wasted .

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Oxford Gardens Retirement Residence
Chartwell Oxford Gardens Retirement Residence

423 Devonshire Avenue, Woodstock, Ontario N4S 0B2

Distance: 30.0 km

Chartwell Clair Hills Assisted Living
Chartwell Clair Hills Assisted Living

530 Columbia Street West, Waterloo, Ontario N2T 0B1

Distance: 34.0 km

Chartwell Clair Hills Retirement Residence
Chartwell Clair Hills Retirement Residence

530 Columbia Street West, Waterloo, Ontario N2T 0B1

Distance: 34.0 km

Chartwell Bankside Retirement Residence
Chartwell Bankside Retirement Residence

71 Bankside Drive, Kitchener, Ontario N2N 3L1

Distance: 37.1 km