Personal tours or virtual tours available. Book a Tour.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Alexander Muir Retirement Residence

197 Prospect Street, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 3T7

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Raspberries to verify you are human. (Required)


Tonia C
20/05/2022

During our visit to the home, Azaria provided such exemplary service. He made us feel very at ease and did a great job with helping our family member settle in! Our experience with the home and its staff was very pleasant and we always look forward to visiting.

Cara Chisholm
14/02/2022

I have been an entertainer at Alexander Muir for a number of years and it is definitely one of the coziest and homey retirement homes I visit! The staff are friendly and helpful and the residents are a delight! Thank you to everyone at Alexander Muir!!

Frank Smith
21/11/2021

This is a friendly, sociable place with great residents and staff. I recently entertained there and was welcomed warmly.

Fern Dworkin
05/11/2021

I am a professional musician and teacher. I have entertained at A.M. for many years. The staff are warm and dedicated and there is a family feeling because of the accessible, homelike environment. Wifi is needed to enhance communication and programming...a necessity for residents/ entertainment/ communication with families.

David Pilkey
03/11/2021

I just wanted to say what a wonderful experience it was dealing with Victoria at Chartwell Alexander Muir Retirement Residence in Newmarket last week. She obviously has an amazing facility and caring for the residents and it is always a joy to see everyone so helpful to each other. True affection for everyone. The staff are all very welcoming and it was a pleasure to be engaged with all this positive energy. Well Done!!!

Nelson Liao
16/03/2021

Very good and friendly staff. Place is kept well maintained and pleasant. Residence look happy which is always a good sign.

Dana Pearson
02/08/2020

My brother Mike moved into Alexander Muir in August 2018. The staff have been consistently respectful, friendly, supportive and caring in their relationship with Mike and his everyday needs. MIke enjoys coming together with the other residents for the activities and has told my wife, Jennifer and me, that the meals are "top-notch." Mike especially appreciates that Nancy, the kitchen manager, responds to his special requests and enjoys his chats with her. We have been extremely impressed with how the staff and management of Alexander Muir have handled the complex situation with COVID-19. They have demonstrated a professional, pro-active and creative approach to keep all the residents as safe and comfortable as possible. We are grateful for the care and support that Mike receives and whole-heartedly recommend the Alexander Muir. Dana and Jennifer Pearson

Susanne Grant
02/06/2019

My mother has lived at Alexander Muir since December, 2017. It has been a great fit for her, from the beginning. The staff have been cheerful, patient, caring and considerate at all times. We know that they have her best interests at heart. Her dietary restrictions are addressed and adhered to consistently. We feel quite confident that our Mom is safe and well looked after. In her words, "You never hear a wrong word. Everyone is so kind."

John & Elaine Dickson
18/05/2019

Our mother has been a resident since December 2018 and we are quite pleased with the high level of care. The staff are very friendly and upbeat and take a personal interest in her. Right from the start she was welcomed with open arms. The meals are excellent and her medication requirements are well looked after. This was definitely the best choice for our Mum.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Barton Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Barton Retirement Residence

17290 Leslie Street, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 3E1

Distance: 2.0 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
289-366-3688 View Residence
Chartwell Hollandview Trail Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Hollandview Trail Retirement Residence

200 John West Way, Aurora, Ontario L4G 0E4

Distance: 5.0 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
289-648-4098 View Residence
Chartwell Hollandview Trail Assisted Living

200 John West Way, Aurora, Ontario L4G 0E4

Distance: 5.1 km

Chartwell Park Place Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Park Place Retirement Residence

15055 Yonge Street, Aurora, Ontario L4G 6T4

Distance: 6.5 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
289-648-4112 View Residence