Personal tours or virtual tours available. Click Here.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

Chartwell Whispering Pines Retirement Residence

140 Letitia Street, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1P5

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Banana to verify you are human. (Required)


Carrie Durant
09/12/2021

A big thank-you to Lynda Stanfield, Maintenance and Housekeeping Manager and all the residents, staff and family members of Chartwell Whispering Pines retirement residence in Barrie Ontario for your donations of used prescription glasses and individual bars of body soap for seniors in great need in Mazatlan, Mexico’s A Drop In the Ocean seniors home! We happily transported their donations as we arrived for the winter season in Mazatlan. Lynda organized a campaign to help “make people’s lives better”, not only in Barrie but Mexico. The need is great for many charities here, more than we can imagine……..basic daily needs like, glasses, soap, fresh fruit and diapers for the seniors are not a given. The expat community here appreciates Whispering Pines efforts and please know you have put smiles on many of the residents and staff! God Bless you all!

Jodi Barry
20/09/2021

It’s been a year since we moved our mom into whispering pines and we have been very pleased with the family feel of the home. So much so that about 2 months later we moved my in-laws into the residence as well. It’s nice to walk in the front door and be greeted by first name by so many of the residents and staff. We enjoy going to the home to help with and participate in events with our family. The staff always keeps you informed of upcoming events. I have recommended whispering pines retirement home to many friends with parents looking for a change. It’s a comfort to know your parents are in a safe and healthy environment. Wishing anyone reading this all the best in your move to retirement living.

Jodi Barry
20/09/2021

It’s been a year since we moved our mom into whispering pines and we have been very pleased with the family feel of the home. So much so that about 2 months later we moved my in-laws into the residence as well. It’s nice to walk in the front door and be greeted by first name by so many of the residents and staff. We enjoy going to the home to help with and participate in events with our family. The staff always keeps you informed of upcoming events. I have recommended whispering pines retirement home to many friends with parents looking for a change. It’s a comfort to know your parents are in a safe and healthy environment. Wishing anyone reading this all the best in your move to retirement living.

Jodi Barry
20/09/2021

It’s been a year since we moved our mom into whispering pines and we have been very pleased with the family feel of the home. So much so that about 2 months later we moved my in-laws into the residence as well. It’s nice to walk in the front door and be greeted by first name by so many of the residents and staff. We enjoy going to the home to help with and participate in events with our family. The staff always keeps you informed of upcoming events. I have recommended whispering pines retirement home to many friends with parents looking for a change. It’s a comfort to know your parents are in a safe and healthy environment. Wishing anyone reading this all the best in your move to retirement living.

Jodi Barry
20/09/2021

It’s been a year since we moved our mom into whispering pines and we have been very pleased with the family feel of the home. So much so that about 2 months later we moved my in-laws into the residence as well. It’s nice to walk in the front door and be greeted by first name by so many of the residents and staff. We enjoy going to the home to help with and participate in events with our family. The staff always keeps you informed of upcoming events. I have recommended whispering pines retirement home to many friends with parents looking for a change. It’s a comfort to know your parents are in a safe and healthy environment. Wishing anyone reading this all the best in your move to retirement living.

Stephen Cassar
28/09/2020

Lovely home, clean, bright and welcoming. Friendly staff, attentive and knowledgeable. Great menu and lots of activities for the residents. And large garden area to enjoy in the warmer months.

Nesta Newnham
28/09/2020

During this difficult time of Covid-19 the managers and staff at Whispering Pines have done their utmost to keep us safe and free from infection. It was really hard for the residents to keep their spirits up. We could not have large gatherings or big groups. So our activities were cut right back. Taura, our activities assistant, worked hard while helping Amee our stand in activities manager. Taura led the hallway bingo and various word games. Such as Wheel of fortune and words in word. When things got a little better Taura was able to run the horse racing in the lounge again. We are so glad to have Kelly and Taura to keep us mentally and Physically on track. Our dietary and Health departments at Whispering Pines are to be commended too. Good food and good nursing are a blessing that is given to us every day.

Jackie Hildreth
24/01/2020

I was at the Chartwell Whispering Pines in Barrie for a month and a half for convalescent care in late 2019. I was so pleased at the over all care, the friendly and supportive staff and the nutritious and delicious meals. The management are a positive, informative and kind team that responds to residents so well. There are many varied activities, errand trips out and attentive PSWs. The residence is clean, well maintained and pro safety for the residents. This retirement residence is a real community with caring, hopeful and interesting people. You were all wonderful to me; thank you!

Liz Suffern
02/11/2019

My Father stayed at Whispering Pines for a respite visit and I have to say I was very impressed by the care the staff showed. The personal care workers, nursing staff, food preparation went beyond to make him feel at home and were available for his needs. The management was wonderful and very warm with the residents and the family members. I have nothing but the best to say. The setting is warm and the dining room is comfortable. I highly recommend Whispering Pines for our wonder seniors who need that extra bit of care and compassion. The activities provided are wonderful as well. My father truly enjoyed and no doubt we will be back soon!!

Kern Scott
14/10/2019

Due to declining health, our Mother recently left Whispering Pines . She lived at the Pines for over 7 years and during that time my wife and I had occasion to visit Mom on an almost daily basis. The compassion shown to not only our Mother but our entire family, was genuine and truly appreciated. The care and support provided to Mom was second to none. On behalf of our family I would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to the entire staff of Whispering Pines. We consider ourselves fortunate to have gained good friends.

Janet Golden
27/03/2019

My respite stay in January 2019 was both healing and enjoyable. All of the staff, management, nurses, support workers, maintenance staff, servers and chefs made me feel welcome and well cared for. I would highly recommend Whispering Pines for anyone who can no longer stay in their home alone or who needs respite care.

Marie Gogo
17/01/2019

I've been entertaining at Whispering Pines with my piano player since 2013. Every since day one, I've been greeted warmly, treated with respect and friendliness. We've built a rapport with the residents and I look forward to spending time with them whenever we have an upcoming show. They must be enjoying living there because they are cheerful and ready to have a fun time.

Darlene Magill
26/11/2018

Whispering Pines is a very caring facility! The entire staff is so friendly. Their compassion and willingness to be of assistance is very reassuring and greatly appreciated.The facility is extremely clean and well maintained! We are thrilled that we chose Whispering Pines!

Lisa Harpell
12/11/2018

I have the great pleasure to inspire and encourage the residents when they attend art classes in the lovely Midhurst Suite. It is there that we laugh and grow as we play and learn with water colour and acrylic paints as well as other creative materials. To see the friendships build as they share their stories while creating more and more each week warms my heart . I truly am the fortunate one and can't say enough about the wonderful facility and staff that make this retirement community so welcoming to be in and encouraging to be a part of.

Nesta Newnham
06/11/2018

From the first time that I walked through the doors of Whispering Pines, looking through to the beautiful courtyard, I knew this was the place for me. t hasn't let me down. After losing my husband and knowing that i needed company, this is what i chose as an independent loving situation. What could be better. I have company, 3 meals a day, (no cooking. No washing dishes). Entertainment, and precious time alone if i need it. The management and staff are loving, caring and fun. Although I am lucky to be as independent as I am,I know the nursing staff here are kind and caring. I am glad that I chose Whispering Pines.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Allandale Station Retirement Residence

357 Yonge Street, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4K3

Distance: 4.8 km

Chartwell Tiffin Memory Care

105 Pillsbury Drive, Midland, Ontario L4R 0E7

Distance: 40.5 km

Chartwell Tiffin Assisted Living

105 Pillsbury Drive, Midland, Ontario L4R 0E7

Distance: 40.6 km

Chartwell Tiffin Retirement Residence

105 Pillsbury Drive, Midland, Ontario L4R 0E7

Distance: 40.6 km