Personal tours or virtual tours available. Book a Tour.

Find the right retirement residence for you.

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Grapes to verify you are human. (Required)


Valencia WJ
20/05/2021

I have been working for the last several months with The Sumach by Chartwell on behalf of my mother. My mother's move-in date was a couple of weeks ago. Without the superb professionalism of Grant Hooper, the entire process could have been entirely different. Every aspect of this journey has been nothing short of extraordinary - Grant is kind, attentive and thoughtful. Grant elegantly supported every aspect of my mother's move. Among his many strengths is his attention to detail, patience and respect for the family, and the client is incredible - my mother and I are most grateful. Grant understands what is at the heart of the matter when moving a loved one. Grant's extraordinary hand was present, whether it was figuring out the cable, moving garden furniture, having a beautiful space for my mother to stay on moving day, or arriving with fresh local pastries when I had very little energy left. Having someone to lean into and trust on this emotional journey is a rarity, and I could not have got my mother to such a beautiful place without Grant and his team.  May Chartwell continue to redefine living in all stages of our shared experience - and may they continue to attract, hire and celebrate individuals like Grant Hooper and his colleagues at the Sumach.   Best regards, V and A

Christiane Montgiraud
05/05/2021

Very happy to have moved here. The staff is amazing and so helpful.

Maureen Smith
05/05/2021

In mid January .21, moved in. Very Happy with my choice even though it was made by virtual tour and on line research, due to the ongoing pandemic . Hoping to be able to enjoy more fully all the amenities at hand .as I continue to settle in. Love my view from the 12th floor, the amenities in the both the building and the surrounding neighbourhood.

SarahJane Growe
27/04/2021

I am my second year at The Sumach by Chartwell. I moved in just after it opened. I love the neighborhood. Although the building is not as accessible as I expected (I use a walker and am aging), I get excellent ongoing support from various staff to try to improve access to the balcony, the kitchen shelves, the thresholds, and bath and shower grab bars to make it easier for me to navigate. I do want to age in place. Active seniors over 55 is the market and I am in my 80s, but there are many walkers and such and a wellness centre with PSWs to offer medical support, with a nurse on site.. The amenities floor is spectacular, with a fitness room, an big outdoor terrace with a grill and fine view of the city from four different directions. There is a pool table and a Bistro, and a library and a reading room. I have my own kitchen which is important to me, but meals are available if needed. There is a fine outside garden on the main floor attached to a horticultural room. There are more and more stores moving close by. With the help I am getting, I will stay as long as I can.

anne smith
30/01/2020

I really love the location and the entire bldg

Anne Washington
16/01/2020

I love my unit and I understand there is some activity in the works, but the food is not very good. I am thinking of cancelling my meal plan. I moved from Davenhill where the food was excellent. It can be done! It would be great to have a small variety store on the block!

Nancy Graham RN
03/01/2020

I am very happy with my decision to move May 2019 into The Sumach . The suites are lovely and my furnishing and décor fit my suite perfectly. The Concierge staff are friendly and very helpful, and all of my requests including handyman tasks have been promptly completed. There are multiple communal spaces available for people to freely use during the day or evening such as the beautiful horticulture room, Bistro, Library, Fitness studio, Games Room with billiard table and several living room spaces. The outdoor terrace is spectacular with views and shared BBQ, The landscaping around the property is still a work in progress, but the property just opened recently. The best part of The Sumach is the outstanding responsive management team and their respective staff. The Sumach reflects the future of older adult living.

D Olson
02/12/2019

Update..The food has greatly improved! It is really good now and served piping hot! As well, Chartwell is making a great effort to engage all tenants in choosing activities they would enjoy and making every effort to make everyone happy! My family is so pleased. A definite 5/5 now! Highly recommend. Thank you!

D Olson
19/11/2019

The building is lovely as are the units. The staff are all extremely friendly and very helpful. Rooftop patio is stunning. Very new modern building with fabulous amenities. My family has been there since August 2019. I do have a few concerns however. The main one being the food offered in the dining room. It is not good and it is not getting any better. I know several people plan to stop their monthly meal plan as it is just not worth the cost. Food is terrible, luke warm. Promises of improvement by chef but nothing has changed for the better. It's really a shame. Could be a great restaurant. "Your food is only as good as your chef"! Chartwell needs to realize the age of tenants in this building has changed very much over the last few months and there are many very senior people who have moved in. They are aching for a meeting spot in the building where they can socialize and have a coffee - a tea room/drop in area. Many arent able to exercise and need a place to go every day for a few hours to get out of their units. I realize this building was created for the 50+ crowd but Chartwell needs to realize this building is now full of elderly people who have different social requirements and hopefully their activities coordinator will take this into consideration soon. it has such great potential if only the food and activities were a little more geared to the demographic of the people :)

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living here?

1-855-461-0685

Book a Tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Avondale Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Avondale Retirement Residence

1238 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4L 1C3

Distance: 2.5 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
647-547-1812 View Residence
Chartwell Grenadier Assisted Living

2100 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6S 1M7

Distance: 8.9 km

Chartwell Grenadier Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Grenadier Retirement Residence

2100 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6S 1M7

Distance: 9.0 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
647-429-7979 View Residence
Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence
Move-In offer available! *
Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence

10 Senlac Road, Toronto, Ontario M2N 6P8

Distance: 12.3 km

Move-In offer available! *
*Conditions apply.
647-547-1814 View Residence