Book a virtual or on-site tour. Move-Ins Now Accepted. New Infection Prevention Measures In Place for Enhanced Safety.
96% of residents felt their Chartwell Residence took important measures to keep them safe during COVID-19. "Listening to Serve You Better" 2020 survey results.

Find a residence

At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre programme « Bienvenue chez Chartwell » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

The Sumach by Chartwell

146 Sumach Street, Toronto, Ontario M5A 0P7

    Reviews for this Residence - Overall Ratings - 4.0   (4.0)




Please select the Pineapple to verify you are human. (Required)


anne smith
5
30/01/2020

I really love the location and the entire bldg

Anne Washington
3
16/01/2020

I love my unit and I understand there is some activity in the works, but the food is not very good. I am thinking of cancelling my meal plan. I moved from Davenhill where the food was excellent. It can be done! It would be great to have a small variety store on the block!

Nancy Graham RN
5
03/01/2020

I am very happy with my decision to move May 2019 into The Sumach . The suites are lovely and my furnishing and décor fit my suite perfectly. The Concierge staff are friendly and very helpful, and all of my requests including handyman tasks have been promptly completed. There are multiple communal spaces available for people to freely use during the day or evening such as the beautiful horticulture room, Bistro, Library, Fitness studio, Games Room with billiard table and several living room spaces. The outdoor terrace is spectacular with views and shared BBQ, The landscaping around the property is still a work in progress, but the property just opened recently. The best part of The Sumach is the outstanding responsive management team and their respective staff. The Sumach reflects the future of older adult living.

D Olson
5
02/12/2019

Update..The food has greatly improved! It is really good now and served piping hot! As well, Chartwell is making a great effort to engage all tenants in choosing activities they would enjoy and making every effort to make everyone happy! My family is so pleased. A definite 5/5 now! Highly recommend. Thank you!

D Olson
3
19/11/2019

The building is lovely as are the units. The staff are all extremely friendly and very helpful. Rooftop patio is stunning. Very new modern building with fabulous amenities. My family has been there since August 2019. I do have a few concerns however. The main one being the food offered in the dining room. It is not good and it is not getting any better. I know several people plan to stop their monthly meal plan as it is just not worth the cost. Food is terrible, luke warm. Promises of improvement by chef but nothing has changed for the better. It's really a shame. Could be a great restaurant. "Your food is only as good as your chef"! Chartwell needs to realize the age of tenants in this building has changed very much over the last few months and there are many very senior people who have moved in. They are aching for a meeting spot in the building where they can socialize and have a coffee - a tea room/drop in area. Many arent able to exercise and need a place to go every day for a few hours to get out of their units. I realize this building was created for the 50+ crowd but Chartwell needs to realize this building is now full of elderly people who have different social requirements and hopefully their activities coordinator will take this into consideration soon. it has such great potential if only the food and activities were a little more geared to the demographic of the people :)

Bonnie DeClara
2
16/08/2019

The residence is not fully operational and the amenities are not available. The staff are not looking after the residents appropriately. Hence no help re fan in bathroom not shutting off and parcels coming to the front desk are not being sent up. My sister lives there and is quite distraught of these things.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living at this residence?

416-644-8911

Not a valid phone number

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Avondale Retirement Residence
Chartwell Avondale Retirement Residence

1238 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4L 1C3

Distance: 2.50 km

Chartwell Grenadier Assisted Living
Chartwell Grenadier Assisted Living

2100 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6S 1M7

Distance: 8.89 km

Chartwell Grenadier Retirement Residence
Chartwell Grenadier Retirement Residence

2100 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6S 1M7

Distance: 8.95 km

Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence
Chartwell Lansing Retirement Residence

10 Senlac Road, Toronto, Ontario M2N 6P8

Distance: 12.30 km