Book a virtual or on-site tour. Move-Ins Now Accepted. New Infection Prevention Measures In Place for Enhanced Safety.
96% of residents felt their Chartwell Residence took important measures to keep them safe during COVID-19. "Listening to Serve You Better" 2020 survey results.

Find a residence

At Chartwell, we want you to experience the sense of safety, support and peace of mind you deserve from the first day you move in with us. Here’s why Chartwell residences are safe places to call home:

  1. We diligently follow all provincial and public health guidance and provide PPE to our employees.
  2. Our residences have enhanced infection prevention and control protocols.
  3. Staff are on-site 24-7 to support you, if and when you need assistance.
  4. Our new Transition Together Move-In Program helps you safely ease into life in your new home with peer support.
  5. Family visit protocols remain in place to ensure you stay connected with loved ones.
  6. Our residence staff have transparent and regular communication with residents and their families so you always know what’s going on. 

While safety remains our top priority, we also foster safe opportunities for socialization and engagement so you can enjoy the lifestyle at Chartwell to the fullest.

Chez Chartwell, nous tenons à ce que vous éprouviez le sentiment de sécurité, de soutien et de tranquillité d’esprit que vous méritez dès le premier jour de votre emménagement chez nous. Voici pourquoi les résidences Chartwell sont des milieux sécuritaires où il fait bon vivre :

  1. Nous suivons avec diligence toutes les directives provinciales et de la santé publique et fournissons l’ÉPI nécessaire à nos employés.
  2. Nos résidences appliquent des protocoles renforcés de prévention et de contrôle des infections.
  3. Le personnel est présent sur place en tout temps pour vous aider quand vous en avez besoin.
  4. Notre nouveau programme « Vivre la transition ensemble » vous aide à vous installer dans votre nouvelle résidence en toute sécurité, en bénéficiant du soutien de vos pairs et du personnel.
  5. Les protocoles de visites des familles demeurent en place pour vous permettre de maintenir des liens avec vos proches.
  6. Le personnel de notre résidence entretient une communication transparente et régulière avec les résidents et leurs familles afin de vous tenir au courant de tout ce qui se passe.

Bien que la sécurité demeure notre priorité absolue, nous favorisons également les occasions de socialisation et de participation en toute sécurité afin que vous puissiez profiter pleinement du mode de vie offert chez Chartwell.

Chartwell Barclay House Retirement Residence

600 Chippewa Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9E7

    Reviews for this Residence- Overall Ratings -   (5.0)




Please select the Grapes to verify you are human. (Required)


Peggy Plumstead
08/06/2021

With my mother’s health changed quickly last summer, it was essential that we find retirement accommodation for my parents. Barclay House had always been my mother’s first choice, based on the reviews she had read. When the move to Barclay House was underway, I awoke one morning to hear my father in the living room exclaiming to my mother: “Darling, we are going to Barclay House! Can you believe it? We are going to Barclay House!” He was joyful and excited for their new home. From that moment on, the excellence we experienced with all the staff at Barclay House was outstanding. Steve made us feel so valued and went above and beyond to welcome our family. When our mother passed on at the end of last summer, our parents had only been living there a short time. We brought out father back to our home in North Bay. The next morning he awoke and said “I am ready to go back. Take me home. Barclay House is my home now.” That was the finest thing our father could say, as it showed us just how well cared for he felt by all the staff at Barclay House. During her short time at Barclay House, our mother mentioned how kind and helpful Norm was in helping them with their room. My father loves his new home and the peace of mind this gives our family is priceless. Thank you to each of you; we honour the good work you are doing!

Nicki L
04/03/2021

Our father made the decision to move to a retirement home in 2020 and decided to return to North Bay. After visiting and reviewing our options, he chose Barclay House. We cannot say enough about the staff and caregivers at Barclay. As a family member who is 3 hours away, it is so reassuring to know that he is in a safe environment (especially diluting Covid). We are grateful for the team at Barclay who truly care about their residents!

Sherry Moore
25/11/2020

My husband and I spent the winter months at Barclay House last year. We aren’t ready to give up our home and went back there for the summer. As fall arrived we became anxious to return to Barclay House. Because of Covid we had to isolate for 2 weeks .. lovely meals were brought to our room each day and the nurses checked in with us frequently and the 2 weeks went by easily and is worth it to be here again. All the wonderful staff has made time to welcome us back, we have renewed friendships with many of the residents, and we feel like we are home again. If anyone is considering a retirement home we highly recommend Barclay House. Staff and management are caring, warm, helpful and diligent ...and through this scary time of Covid, we feel safe.... and so fortunate to be here.

GLENN HILL
01/11/2020

I am very grateful for the great experience that my father had there.All the staff were very caring & just wonderful. Treated my father with great respect & part of their family . His stay was fantastic . From myself & family a big Thank You.

Stephanye Noll
13/10/2020

I am so grateful for such a positive experience for my mother at Chartwell Barclay House. Every staff member is always so friendly and will go out of their way to help with anything a resident needs. This is a very special team of employees that puts a tremendous effort into making the residents feel at home, from management to the nurses, to maintenance, housekeeping, and dining room staff. A big and heartfelt thank you for all that you do!

Scott McMeekin
12/08/2020

I had a number of discussions with Steve Samson of Barclay House about the suitability of the residence for a family member. It was clear that Steve's mission was not simply to fill a bed, but to help us find a situation that was right for us. Even after we had agreed that Barclay House was not the right fit for my family member, he was very generous with his time in helping us to navigate toward the solution that is right for us. That speaks to a very caring culture, consistent with the high ratings I see on this website. I was very impressed.

Mark Toffolon
20/02/2020

Nice nursing home , staff are very friendly , very compassionate

Dave Saad
17/02/2020

My aunt was a resident over a period of 8 months where she was in and out of hospital. The last place she wanted to go was to a retirement home, but Barclay House changed her mind. Her first experience got her back in good health and she was able to return to her home. From that point, as her primary care giver, I can't say enough about the service she received, the accommodating attitude of the staff and every effort that was made to assist her and to keep her at the point where she could enjoy the amenities of the home as compared to returning to a hospital. The staff attitude of asking "why not" instead of "why" was tremendous, the ease with which she was able to move around and the meals she received were so appreciated by our family. Unfortunately her health deteriorated to the point where she passed away in the hospital, but right up to the end, her mindset was that Barclay House was her home and that was where she wanted to return to. Thank your to everyone including the residents for the friendship, care and compassion that my aunt received

Sandra Carlson
13/02/2020

My mother was a resident of Barclay House and is in transition to long term care. While at Barclay House she was more than happy being there. The food/meals are wonderful, portions are just right and you can get more if you so desire. You do have options to change the meal if you’re not into what is being offered. The staff and management are more than accommodating. I would recommend Barclay House in a heart beat . A great place if you’re looking at retirement living for yourself or a loved one.

Terry Leflar
16/10/2019

My mother has recently moved into the Barclay house which she fondly refers to her new home and "the lodge" and with only weeks of moving in is really enjoying her time in her new home. As family members looking in, we are amazed as the quality of experience she is having from making new friends, to the great menu in quality and variety, the activities offered to the residents and most importantly to the accessibility and helpfulness of the staff from management on down. We are truly great full that we choose "the lodge" for my mother residence as the care she is receiving is second to none. My wife and I often say that one day we may be so lucky as to live at the Barclay House. Thanks to all

Joan Ouellette
29/09/2019

My Mom was at Barclay House for 2 years. She moved there at 92 years old and was struggling with her aging and failing body. All the staff there treated her with so much care and tenderness and respect and worked hard to make her entire time there enjoyable and fulfilling. Staff are very busy but always took the time and patience to talk with her and never made her feel rushed. Staff were always so helpful and patient and kind. I would and have and will continue to highly recommend Barclay House!

Debbie King
07/08/2019

I am a PSW (from an outside agency) who has been assisting several residents over several years.. Most of my Clients over the years have confided in me how much they enjoy living at Barclay House. I know I can always count on the Staff to assist me with anything -Team Work.

Laurel Rocca
14/11/2017

When my mother passed away in the fall of 2015, we were looking to move my father to a retirement residence in North Bay as it was close to his children. Previously my parents had lived the past five years in a retirement residence which was 5+ hours away and it was not always easy to be there with them for family events etc. Barclay House was much smaller than their previous residence, and it turned out to be proof that smaller can be, and in our case, was better. From our first contact with management, all our experiences with them were positive. They went above and beyond to accommodate us. This included meeting with us out of normal working hours to get paperwork done for Dad's admittance. We also set up his room over a weekend in advance of his moving in and they made sure we had trolleys etc that we might need available to us. What struck me most was their staff. ALL STAFF know the residents by their first name and they are always addressed by name. They are all friendly, caring and patient and nothing is too much trouble. Residents health and care are their priority and they strive to maintain high standards, which is evident daily. There is a feeling of 'family' here. This was reinforced to me when my father was hospitalized for a couple of days last winter. Bringing him back, we were walking down the hall to his room and he told me he was glad to be HOME. He had never referred to his last retirement residence as home. It was then that I knew we had made the right choice for Dad.

Chartwell encourages our stakeholders to review and rate our properties and services in full accordance with our Website Terms of Use.

Questions about living at this residence?

1-855-461-0685

Book a virtual or on-site tour

Sign up for our newsletter to receive retirement living and lifestyle advice

Nearby Residences

Chartwell Muskoka Traditions Senior Townhomes
Chartwell Muskoka Traditions Senior Townhomes

16 Legacy Lane, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 0B1

Distance: 110.9 km

Chartwell Muskoka Traditions Retirement Residence
Chartwell Muskoka Traditions Retirement Residence

16 Legacy Lane, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 0B1

Distance: 110.9 km

Chartwell Rogers Cove Retirement Residence
Chartwell Rogers Cove Retirement Residence

4 Coveside Drive, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J9

Distance: 111.5 km

Chartwell Westmount on William Retirement Residence
Chartwell Westmount on William Retirement Residence

599 William Avenue, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 5W3

Distance: 116.6 km